PDA

View Full Version : Orange Shrimp Turning Black?

EddyC
02-03-2009, 09:56 PM
Hi everybody,

I'm new to keeping shrimp, but I've looked around online and couldn't find a satisfactory answer to a phenomenon I've observed in my tank.

About two weeks ago I bought 2 shrimp to add to my planted community tank. They were labeled "orange shrimp", and I'm pretty sure the one in the first picture is Neocaridina sp. "mandarine". The one in the second picture, however has dark body patterns that the other lacks, so I'm not sure if they're the same species. That, however, is not my main concern since they both seem to get along with each other and with the red cherries in the tank.

What is troubling (and a little frightening) is that I looked in the tank this morning to find that the shrimp with the darker patterns had completely changed colors! It's now clear with black spots instead of orange. Any ideas about what could be causing this? My water chemistry is fine, and the other shrimp is/are showing no signs of changing color. Should I be worried?

Wild Turkey
02-03-2009, 11:06 PM
The first pic is for sure a yellow cherry shrimp or Neocaridina they have a zillion names, banana shrimp is a popular one it just a color morph.
the other one may be a different type, or it may be that they guy did a poor job breeding out the yellow in the shrimps.

Naturally, i believe all Neocaridina are a nice poop colored brown. :D
Similar to mystery snails in comparisson

Wild Turkey
02-04-2009, 07:12 AM
Hey eddy is the black one smaller by chance?

EddyC
02-04-2009, 01:26 PM
Hi, Wild Turkey, thanks for getting back to me so soon.

The two shrimp seem to be about the same size -- if anything, I'd say the black one is a bit bigger. Both are also the same size as the red cherries.

The black one has always been the most timid shrimp in the tank, and I do have dark substrate, is it possible that the shrimp changed color to blend in? Are they capable of doing that?

Wild Turkey