PDA

View Full Version : do u think i should get it when i have the setup or wait

freestyle-king/C.A.T
02-20-2008, 07:06 AM
i have been working twords getting an arrowana for 2 years now and have been doing all the reserch i can. i currently have one 15 gallon tank but im getting another one soon. i only have 500$ to work with so cant get to fancy. our local pet store has a 3 inch silver arowana for sale a 24$. should i get the fish after the tank has goen through its nitrogen cycle?

AquaBANG
02-20-2008, 07:14 AM
arowanas get really huge, it will out grow the 15G tank in a matter of months.

karbomb
02-20-2008, 07:41 AM
^^^^^ word

Lady Hobbs
02-20-2008, 08:05 AM
If you have been wanting and studying about this fish for 2 years, why would you even consider getting it much less putting it in a 15 gallon.

karbomb
02-20-2008, 08:08 AM
If you have been wanting and studying about this fish for 2 years, why would you even consider getting it much less putting it in a 15 gallon.
i was thinking the same thing. i had barely herd of arrowana's till 2 months ago and i know they get HUGE and need a lot of space.
where have you been doing your research? i would recommend doing it here over a LFS.

Lady Hobbs
02-20-2008, 08:22 AM
They are not for most fish tanks for sure. Maybe a 500 gallon.

NickFish
02-20-2008, 12:30 PM
I'd wait it out.
$500 is not enough to work with maybe you could buy the stand for that much.

At no point in an arowanas life should they be kept in a 15 gallon. For the first few months a 55 gallon would suffice but in a year or so they will need to be moved to at least a 350 gallon. 400 or 500G would be better though.

They are not beginner fish. Maybe once you have experience taking care of larger tanks, like a 75G community or 100G cichlid tank, you could try working with one of these monsters.

Save up and wait patiently, that's what I'm doing! Don't buy one until you have everything it will need, and a tank it can live in long term.

jbeining75