PDA

View Full Version : Sexing and Breeding Hypancistrus sp. L066 King Tiger Pleco

MrDankYT
10-24-2019, 08:54 PM
I've had a couple Hypancistrus sp. L066 King Tiger Plecos for quite some time now and I'm trying to sex and possibly breed two of them. I bought them in the beginning of the year 2018 and they were probably hatched in December of 2017 so two years almost.

This one I suspect is a male, the darker color, the thinner body all leads me to believe it's a male, it's about 77mm

And this one I suspect is a female, hence it's more thicker body and more vibrant colors, this one's about 78mm

Here's both of them together, with suspected female on the left and suspected male on the right.

Am I right with these assumptions? And when should I start trying to breed them if my thoughts are correct?
I still think they're a bit young but I'm not an expert.

Boundava
10-25-2019, 03:30 PM
Males usually have odontodes, hairy projections around the sides of the head and on the pectoral fins. Not sure what the maturity rate is for them, but at 2 years I would think one or the other would have some development already if a male.

This site has a lot of great info on catfish;
https://www.planetcatfish.com/common/species.php?species_id=174

toddnbecka
10-26-2019, 12:45 AM
They're slow to mature, may actually be a couple more years before they'll breed.

MrDankYT
10-26-2019, 04:17 PM
Thanks for your replies, and I do know about odontodes and I couldn't tell anything from them, and about when they mature I also wasn't sure, some sites said they grow to 9cm but others 12, I'm really not sure.

MrDankYT
10-26-2019, 04:22 PM
What would be the best way to make them grow faster? To speed up their motabolism? My thoughts are warmer water and more and better food, to have them together by themselves in a barebottom 30 gallon tank so i can feed them often and still have the tank real clean

toddnbecka
10-28-2019, 04:17 AM