PDA

View Full Version : Nitrite Woes



NoelFae
01-03-2018, 12:01 AM
So I致e had Hermes for well over a month now and had a cycle going fine, but now every week when I test I have a super high amount of Nitrites

So I値l do a water change, have less Nitrites the next day, and then 0 the next.

Or have a huge spike before I do the change, and then 0 the next day.

What is going on? I知 so confused because Ammonia is at 0 and Nitrites are just confused.

Nitrates sit at about .5-10

Rocksor
01-03-2018, 01:42 PM
Test your tap water. If 0 nitrites, then remove all the substrate and rinse off the decorations thoroughly. Put the decorations back in except for the substrate. See if you continue to have nitrite problems.

NoelFae
01-03-2018, 06:28 PM
Test your tap water. If 0 nitrites, then remove all the substrate and rinse off the decorations thoroughly. Put the decorations back in except for the substrate. See if you continue to have nitrite problems.

Are the fish okay without substrate? I値l try that when I get home

Rocksor
01-03-2018, 08:42 PM
Are the fish okay without substrate? I’ll try that when I get home

I run substrate free tanks in QT, and I quarantine for months and the fish have no issues. Take it out 25% at a time with a minimum 25% water change.