PDA

View Full Version : Amazon Sword leaves melting

Law Dog
09-09-2017, 06:38 PM
By melting, I mean they became very thin and transparent. Now they look like someone took a mini-gun to them and blew a thousand holes through the leaves. I have a very low tech setup (i.e. small gravel and a Beamswork 48" LED 6500k light that is on 8hrs/day). I've read some things on the net that suggest it could be an iron deficiency but I'm not sure. I'm still fairly new to live plants.

I also have Crypts and Vals in the tank that are doing OK. Both of those plants have seem to hit a wall if you will with their growth though, but neither are showing signs of dying.

Is there anything I can do (fertilizer or substrate wise) to boost the growth/chances for the plants in my tank? I'm willing to buy ferts but I just don't have the time and money to invest in more lighting or CO2 at this time, nor do I really want to, lol. By substrate, I meant could I add Seachem or Flora Max to what I have now?

***Note *** I have trimmed all of the dying leaves from the plants, leaving only 1 leaf on a plant and 2 on the other.

Rocksor
09-09-2017, 07:00 PM
how long have you had the swords? It could be an adjustment period

Law Dog
09-09-2017, 07:05 PM
how long have you had the swords? It could be an adjustment period

I've had the swords for at least 2 months and the Vals/Crypts since about early May (so 4 months for them).

Rocksor
09-09-2017, 07:26 PM
You shouldnt have to upgrade your lights or add CO2 for the swors. I used a single 48" aqua glo flourescent bulb, no CO2 and fertilization in a 24" deep tank for about 4 amazon swords with no issues growing. I did have melt off initially to about a few stalks, and all I had were swords.

Law Dog
09-09-2017, 08:50 PM