Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food












  • Pin It

Poster Info

Forum Flunkie
Posts: 11,464
Registered: March 2008
Location: Annapolis Maryland

 

Top Fin Floating Glass Thermometer
Reviews Views Date of last review
12 2293 Tue February 14, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $2.83 7.9

 

Description:
Float glass thermometer in aquarium water or secure with included suction cup.
Keywords: thermometer top fin floating

<<
Marina_Easy_Clean_Gravel_Vac.jpg Marina_Alge_Scrubber.jpg

 

Author
Wild Turkey

Forum Flunkie

Registered: March 2008
Location: Annapolis Maryland
Posts: 11464
Review Date: Sun December 7, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2.50 | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Accurate, durable and affordable.
Cons: Cant think of any

 
Quite affordable and accurate. Much more reliable than stick on thermometers and are around 150% of the price. I use them in all of my tanks
They are quite durable and I have yet to break even one.
This product stands out from Top Fins line of products as a good buy and quality product.

------------------------------

This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Red

Senior Member

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 12427
Review Date: Mon December 8, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): works
Cons: could break and a pain

 
Its good, but i find electronic ones better and safe. But its cheap.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
AABatteries

AC Editor

Registered: December 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3029
Review Date: Sat December 27, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2.39 | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cheap
Cons: Not as accurate as digital

 
I have these in all of our tanks. Work good, and none have broke, yet. And a few have taken some hits.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
cer

no longer keeping fish

Registered: October 2008
Posts: 1770
Review Date: Tue January 6, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cheap and it works.
Cons:

 
It is cheap and it is 99% acurate.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
wolf_eyes

Unoffical Queen of Cories

Registered: October 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1361
Review Date: Sun March 8, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): accurate, cheap, strong
Cons: sometimes the suction is hard to get to stick

 
As already said these are much more accurate than the stick on ones. One of my friends has a lot of difficulty getting her thermometer to stick on her acrylic tank. Other than that these are a nice buy.

------------------------------
30gL heavily planted: south american community tank
15g mod. planted: nano fish community tank
6g long(custom tank) mod planted: 6 bettas w/ dividers
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit wolf_eyes's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
VoidParadigm

Senior Member

Registered: June 2009
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2371
Review Date: Mon August 31, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $3.59 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cheap, accurate
Cons: None to date

 
It reads the temperature, and I've yet to have one shatter. Can't ask for more than that.

------------------------------
A severe lack of trichogaster.

Just because your Gourami is sick does not mean it is always Iridovirus, DGIV, Gourami Disease, et cetera.
Look at all the other factors in your tank before coming to this conclusion.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Toomany Tanks

Junior Member

Registered: September 2009
Location: Lost Wages, NV
Posts: 26
Review Date: Thu October 1, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cheap and mostly trouble free, needs no batteries
Cons: I've gone through about twenty of them from over heating and breakage. Not accurate enough for me

 
I used to love these and kept one in each tank. Unlike others, the fish and I brake them periodically (usually during cleaning, moving and fighting). When I got an electronic one and compared them I became horrified. I still have a dozen of these glass ones but I tend to rely on my bevy of electronic ones. This changed happend when I systematically tested the glass alcohol thermometers against four lined up electronic ones; The paper inside appears to be misplaced at times. I live in the desert and once overheated the red alcohol thermometers become useless and unsalvageable.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Scrup

Memento vivere...

Registered: October 2009
Location: Longmont, Co
Posts: 3202
Review Date: Mon January 25, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): non-toxic when broken
Cons: Sharp when broken

 
Have actually broken 3 of them so far, dropped one in the tank too hard and it hit a rock, sucked one up in a python, and one was stuck to the side of the tank I was emptying and fell when the water was gone. Regular use they work great, are accurate, don't break very easy, and when they do break, well, I have had no deaths so far. The tiny balls are really hard to remove from gravel however.

------------------------------
Who is "General Failure" and why is he reading my hard drive?
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Cliff

Moderator

Registered: January 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 18472
Review Date: Sun May 2, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): price
Cons: accuracy

 
These are just OK. they will let you know the temp range of your water but I did not find it that accurate. That was on one of Top Fin's product from a few years ago

I use nothing but degital now

------------------------------
If you take your time to do the research FIRST, you can successfully set-up and keep ANY type of aquarium with ease.
"Not using a quarantine tank is like playing Russian roulette. Nobody wins the game, some people just get to play longer than others." - Anthony Calfo
Fishless Cycle Cycling with Fish http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aquariumforum/showthread.php?t=76398] Marine Aquarium Info [/URL] [URL="http://saltwater.aquaticcommunity.com/"]
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
rothenb1

Member

Registered: February 2010
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 699
Review Date: Thu August 12, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Accurate
Cons: None

 
Very inexpensive and in my experience quite accurate, moreso than the expensive digital ones I wasted my money on. Also smaller and easier on the eyes than the digital ones.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Cassandra

Member

Registered: November 2008
Location: Twentynine Palms, California
Posts: 433
Review Date: Wed February 23, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): cheap
Cons: none so far

 
I have this in my 60 gallon while I am saving up for a digital thermometer. These are way better than the stick on kind.

------------------------------
You can never have too many wheelbarrows.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Old Marine

Senior Member

Registered: January 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1868
Review Date: Tue February 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very Cheap and Accurate
Cons: none

 
Never have had a problem with them. Accurate readings.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.