Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food



85C.jpg









  • Pin It

Poster Info

Forum Flunkie
Posts: 11,464
Registered: March 2008
Location: Annapolis Maryland

 

API Stress Coat+
Reviews Views Date of last review
7 3737 Thu September 13, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 7.4

 

Description:
Instantly removes chlorine and chloramines, making tap water safe for fish. Neutralizes heavy metals. Also, replaces the natural slime coating fish need in times of stress, such as handling, shipping or fighting. Contains Aloe Vera, nature's liquid bandage, to prevent the loss of essential electrolytes and protect damaged tissue against disease-causing organisms. Helps heal torn fins and skin wounds. Use when setting up aquarium, changing water, or adding fish.
Keywords: API stresscoat stress coat conditioner

<<
Aquarium_Pharm_095.jpg Aquarium_Pharm_091.jpg 85C.jpg petty.jpg saqaaq.jpg
>>

 

Author
Wild Turkey

Forum Flunkie

Registered: March 2008
Location: Annapolis Maryland
Posts: 11464
Review Date: Sat December 6, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Works as advertised.
Cons: Cheaper options are available.

 
This product works as advertised, as most API products usually do.
There are several cheaper options in this category.

------------------------------

This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
gm72

Honored

Registered: March 2007
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 10933
Review Date: Sat December 27, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to find, works wonderfully
Cons: None

 
This review is NOT for the "plus" version but the standard stress coat. I keep it on hand always to assist newcomers to their new homes. I find it works very well and although not absolutely necessary, using the product does make me feel better and more comfortable. It allows me to know that I am doing everything I can to ease the transition of new fish and assist to heal injuries in other fish.

------------------------------
8 tanks running now:
1x 220 gallon, 2x55 gallon, 1x40 gallon long, 1x29 gallon, 1x20 gallon long, 1x5.5 gallon, 1x2 gallon
Gouramis, barbs, rasboras, plecos, corys, tetras, fancy guppies, swordtails, ottos, rainbow shark, upside-down catfish, snails, and Max and Sparkles the bettas.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Cameron

Saltwater Wanna-be

Registered: July 2007
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 623
Review Date: Wed April 1, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Seems to work, gives you a sense of security
Cons: Pretty pricy compared to Seachems Prime or some others

 
It seemed to work fine for my fresh tanks, didn't run into any problems with it, other than it ran out fairly quick and is pricey.

------------------------------
In my 29 gal:
4 serpae tetras
1 Flame tetras
1 Zebra Danio
1 German Blue Ram

In my 55 gal:
Trigun's 55g Tropical Community!
6 Glo-lite Tetras
4 Emerald Corys
1 Dwarf Gourami
4 Peppered Corys
25 Neon Tetras
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
DrNic

Scientist

Registered: September 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3100
Review Date: Sun May 31, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Works great
Cons: A little pricy

 
Works great to reduce stress and purify water after water changes. It's a little pricey but still my personal favorite.

------------------------------
75G Coldwater Setup (May 2011)
Angelfish Fry Development Project

This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Fisharefriends27

Senior Member

Registered: January 2011
Posts: 1019
Review Date: Wed August 24, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Better for smaller tanks
Cons: A little pricy compared to prime

 
I never had a problem. It's best to use for small tanks for more exact measures and on big tanks to use prime

------------------------------
120 gallon29 gallon
5.5 and 2.5 gallon
The harley man......no not the motorcycle, harlequin rasboras
Angie R.I.P. 10/29/11
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
pjoo1120

Member

Registered: February 2012
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 206
Review Date: Mon April 30, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to use, works as advertised
Cons: Can't think of any

 
I always use this for every water change. Easy to use, only requires one cap full for my 20 gallons. I used to use a standalone dechlorinator but figured the additional stuff in this can't hurt.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
MandyK

Senior Member

Registered: May 2012
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1703
Review Date: Thu September 13, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons: Less bang for your buck.

 
I used this for a while, and it ended up giving me false positive ammonia readings. I also observed a thin slime coat start covering my equipment after I used it. I no longer use this product, and threw away 75% of the bottle I had.

------------------------------
130g: 7 Angelfish, 1 Bolivian, 12 Neon Tetras, 14 Serpae Tetras, 9 Kuhli Loaches, 1 Otocinslus, 1 Corydora ? Ghost Shrimp
I've noticed that people HATE it when you point out how stupid they are, so now I try to do it politely.
This user is online
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit MandyK's homepage! Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.