Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food



small_fish_formula.jpg









  • Pin It

Poster Info

Planted FW Junkie
Posts: 3,566
Registered: January 2008
Location: Mackenzie, BC

 

New Life Spectrum Small Fish Formula
Reviews Views Date of last review
14 10624 Mon March 18, 2013
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $70.00 9.0

 

Description:
New Life Spectrum food is made with high-quality easily digestible South Antarctic Krill, Herring, Squid, and New Zealand Mussel protein, and several all-natural color-enhancing ingredients for a balanced diet that boosts immune system function and enhances the full spectrum of your fish’s color. With the belief that all fish require a complete and fully balanced varied diet, New Life also contains Algae Meal, that consists of Seaweed, Kelp, and Haematococcus pluvialis (a micro algae), a premium grade of natural Spirulina, as well as a fruit & vegetable extract that consists of Spinach, Red & Green Cabbage, Peas, Broccoli, Red Pepper, Zucchini, Tomato, Kiwi, Apricot, Pear, Mango, Apple, Papaya, and Peach.
Keywords: Small Fish Formula

<<
bettabitscolor3765053t400.jpg shirmpelletS-5263065t400.jpg small_fish_formula.jpg h2o_sinking_wafers.jpg trop_sinking_wafer.jpg
>>

 

Author
doug z

Planted FW Junkie

Registered: January 2008
Location: Mackenzie, BC
Posts: 3566
Review Date: Wed December 3, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): My tetras and bottom feeders alike love it! Just the right size..
Cons: 50-80% of pellets will sink like stones.. Not so good if you're feeding them to surface feeders..

 
Good thing my pandas, etc like this stuff, because ALOT of it sinks as soon as it hits the water..

Not so good for danios, etc, which are surface feeders (though they will make dives for it till the pellets gets to about halfway down)..

------------------------------
75g - 20 cardinals : 7 panda cory : 5 Julii cory : 9 zebra danios : 1 CAE : 2 SAE : 2 yo-yos : 1 BN
25g: 5 long-finned zebra danios
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
leggomypleco

Flowerhorn Guru

Registered: December 2008
Location: Indy
Posts: 1682
Review Date: Sun December 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

 
CHEAP

------------------------------
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
gm72

Honored

Registered: March 2007
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 10933
Review Date: Fri December 26, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nutrition, fish readily accept it
Cons: Price

 
Great stuff, but more expensive than the competition. You do get what you pay for. Ingredients list is outstanding and all fish that I have ever kept love it. It sinks rapidly, therefore do not use for surface feeders. For mid feeders just feed a small amount so that they can consume it before it reaches the substrate. Does not cloud the water even with overfeeding. Highly recommended food.

------------------------------
8 tanks running now:
1x 220 gallon, 2x55 gallon, 1x40 gallon long, 1x29 gallon, 1x20 gallon long, 1x5.5 gallon, 1x2 gallon
Gouramis, barbs, rasboras, plecos, corys, tetras, fancy guppies, swordtails, ottos, rainbow shark, upside-down catfish, snails, and Max and Sparkles the bettas.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
sandy_n

sandy

Registered: March 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 3161
Review Date: Wed January 28, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nutritional value
Cons: Price, not readibly available

 
The fish do like this food and the ingredients are top quality. It is a little expensive and it is not as easy to find as some other brands of food.

------------------------------
You can't play nice with people who don't play by the rules!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Cameron

Saltwater Wanna-be

Registered: July 2007
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 623
Review Date: Wed April 1, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cool container, fish seem to like it
Cons: Little Expensive, had to buy online

 
This is great food and worth the price, i use it with my tetras and they really like it. Its a bit expensive and hard to find but it is quality.

------------------------------
In my 29 gal:
4 serpae tetras
1 Flame tetras
1 Zebra Danio
1 German Blue Ram

In my 55 gal:
Trigun's 55g Tropical Community!
6 Glo-lite Tetras
4 Emerald Corys
1 Dwarf Gourami
4 Peppered Corys
25 Neon Tetras
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Lab_Rat

Got fry?

Registered: June 2008
Location: Deep, deep South
Posts: 6882
Review Date: Mon October 26, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food
Cons: none that I've seen

 
Fish love it and look great. It's one of the pellets in my feeding rotation.

------------------------------
Quote Originally Posted by i_am_511
Lighten up its just the internet its not like someone came in your house and punched a baby in the face.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
bkh99
Junior Member

Registered: January 2010
Posts: 11
Review Date: Sun May 23, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $70.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quality food
Cons: sinks

 
Bought in bulk, 2.2 kilograms (about 5 pounds for 70.00) so the price was right

I use several feeding rings and several clear crystal bowls below. The food sinks and then is gathered in the bowls. After years of doing this way my fish have fallen into a routine. They eat out of bowls, and when bottom feeders stir up the food in the bowls, other fish like to eat the small pellets as they get stirred up.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
bkh99
Junior Member

Registered: January 2010
Posts: 11
Review Date: Sun May 23, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $70.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): good food
Cons: none really

 
Thought I would mention that because I bought this food in such a large bulk size I keep it in the freezer. I also like the fact that it is a pellet food, since apparently flakes can leach water soluble nutrients.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Trillianne

*insert witty title*

Registered: April 2010
Location: Seattle Side of the Mountains
Posts: 2531
Review Date: Tue June 22, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): My fish love it!
Cons:

 
I use the .5mm size which is small! The fish will swarm up at feeding time eager to chow down!

------------------------------
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Cliff

Moderator

Registered: January 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 18192
Review Date: Thu July 29, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Size and color
Cons: most $$$ food I have bought

 
My corys just love these food. I also have one rubber lip pleco that really likes it too. and with any NLS product, its great quality

------------------------------
If you take your time to do the research FIRST, you can successfully set-up and keep ANY type of aquarium with ease.
"Not using a quarantine tank is like playing Russian roulette. Nobody wins the game, some people just get to play longer than others." - Anthony Calfo
Fishless Cycle Cycling with Fish http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aquariumforum/showthread.php?t=76398”] Marine Aquarium Info [/URL] [URL="http://saltwater.aquaticcommunity.com/"]
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
CassieLEO

Sweet Peas Mommy

Registered: November 2010
Location: MA
Posts: 1861
Review Date: Wed January 19, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great ingredient list including garlic
Cons: Sometimes it takes a while for the fish to learn how to eat it

 
My Cories also love it. Ive trained my fish to eat these pellets. It did take a little bit, now they go beserck eating them...

------------------------------

Google is your friend. Use it!!!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
jeffs99dime

More Cowbell!

Registered: October 2006
Location: NEW JERSEY
Posts: 16937
Review Date: Sat November 24, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything
Cons: Nothing

 
My Multifasciatus and White Calvus "Chatika" love this stuff and since it sinks it is perfect for them because they inhabit the lower portions of the tank. I have the 1mm pellets.

------------------------------
> > > >
NEW MEMBERS LOOK HERE:
http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/Trop...ners_Guide.pdf
http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aqua...ead.php?t=5640
http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aqua...ead.php?t=3441
My Tank Channel:
https://www.youtube.com/user/jeffs99...ew=0&flow=grid
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit jeffs99dime's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Goes to 11!

Guitarmageddon!

Registered: September 2010
Location: Lasalle-Peru
Posts: 6195
Review Date: Mon December 31, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quality ingredients, No cloudiness Affordable in bulk
Cons: When I buy it in too small a quantity ;-)

 
I use the Therim A formula but I haven't run across that review yet.

My tetras & Barbs love it and the angels do too. I feed several sizes of NLS pellets and have no complaints.

------------------------------
Gas mileage isn't everything OIIIIIIIO
Lack of planning on your part does not constitute an emergency on my part.
Why pretend there are no stupid questions? Actually, There are many stupid questions: "Should I drink this bleach?" Is just one example.
Having said that, Just because it's a stupid question doesn't mean that it shouldn't be asked. It's better to know.

A warm beer is better than a cold beer. Because nothing is better than a cold beer, and a warm beer is better than nothing.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Tiari

Senior Member

Registered: December 2011
Location: Bridgeport Connecticut
Posts: 782
Review Date: Mon March 18, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Made with exceptional ingredients
Cons: most of it sinks

 
For some unknown reason, the only fish in my menagerie who will eat this food is my Betta's, and, only the ones that float. Most sink and get into the gravel/rocks below, and end up "fuzzy" and are hard to remove with gravel vacuuming. Though the ingredients are very good, and it seems a quality product, the immediate sink action makes this a bad choice for tanks with a lot of flow and larger gravel bottoms.

------------------------------
2 10 gallon tanks, 1 20 gallon tank, 1 Fluval Edge, 1 29 gallon tank, and one backyard pond.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.