Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food












  • Pin It

Poster Info

Senior Member
Posts: 1,769
Registered: April 2008
Location: Brisbane Australia

 

Hikari Sinking Wafers - 0.88oz-2.2.lb
Reviews Views Date of last review
21 8145 Mon April 30, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $18.99 9.5

 

Description:
Specifically designed for corydoras catfish, loaches and other bottom feeders. High levels of vegetable matter that bottom feeders prefer and love.
High in stabilized vitamin C to reduce stress and build immunity to disease. A well balanced combination of nutritious ingredients supplemented with vitamins and minerals bottom feeders need
Unique Wafer Shape Allows Bottom Feeders To Easily Swallow. Will Not Dissolve Nor Cloud The Water

Ingredients: Fish meal, wheat-germ meal, wheat flour, alpha starch, soybean meal, fish oil, dried seaweed meal, krill meal, dried bakery product, brewer's dried yeast, spirulina, enzyme, astaxanthin, garlic, DL-methionine, monosodium glutamate, vitamins and minerals including stabilized vitamin C.

Added Vitamins: Vit A 8,700 IU/kg; Vit C 45 mg/kg; Vit D3 1,700 IU/kg; Vit E 900mg/kg.

Guaranteed Analysis:
Crude Protein 32%min; Crude Fat 4%min; Crude Fiber 5% max; Moisture 10%max; Ash 12% max
Keywords: Hikari sinking wafer loach catfish

<<
small_fish_formula.jpg h2o_sinking_wafers.jpg trop_sinking_wafer.jpg tropical_granuels.jpg hikacarn.jpg
>>

 

Author
Gemini

Senior Member

Registered: April 2008
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 1769
Review Date: Mon November 24, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Sinks quickly, easy to break up for smaller fish, all my fish LOVE them, my corys breed off these alone mostly
Cons: Not many - tiny bit more expensive than others, can be harder to find

 
Excellent food. All my fish - cichlids, loaches, corys, RTS everyone loves them. My corys have bred numerous times and they rarely get anything other than these to eat. I break the food up for my baby corys and they are growing very fast. I would recommend the product to anybody with bottom feeding fish.

------------------------------
Fish are friends, not an expendable entertainment device!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Lady Hobbs

Ambassador

Registered: September 2006
Location: Cadillac, MI
Posts: 43001
Review Date: Tue November 25, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

 
Good product as all Hikari products are.

------------------------------
Cycling With Fish? The Fishless Cycle
Goldfish Growth Expectancy



This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
AABatteries

AC Editor

Registered: December 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3014
Review Date: Sun November 30, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great nutrition like all Hikari
Cons: A little pricey

 
Great like all other Hikari foods, but some times they don't break up.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
doug z

Planted FW Junkie

Registered: January 2008
Location: Mackenzie, BC
Posts: 3566
Review Date: Wed December 3, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): well-recieved by the fish! :-)
Cons:

 
They are gone within a couple hours (eaten).

Hold together well.

------------------------------
75g - 20 cardinals : 7 panda cory : 5 Julii cory : 9 zebra danios : 1 CAE : 2 SAE : 2 yo-yos : 1 BN
25g: 5 long-finned zebra danios
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Wild Turkey

Forum Flunkie

Registered: March 2008
Location: Annapolis Maryland
Posts: 11464
Review Date: Fri December 5, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Well recieved, stays together well and does not cloud water.
Cons: Pricey,

 
I couldn't get this wafer to cloud my water. For anyone who is looking to avoid a wafer that's going to expand 5X and cloud the water, this product is for you.

It is on the pricey side however.

------------------------------

This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
travie

Senior Member

Registered: November 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2294
Review Date: Tue December 9, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Small, doesn't cloud water, good formula
Cons: None

 
My corydoras and all the fish in my tank love to nibble on these wafers. One of the best wafers to feed bottom dwellers.

------------------------------
Stock the tank you have, not the tank you plan to have. Always have and use patience.
- 29g FW - Community
- 55g SW - Blue Watchman Goby, Royal Gramma, 6-Line Wrasse, 2 Ocellaris Clownfish, and various corals and inverts
For those of you who want a SW tank and never have had one before or just starting out, read this blog entry from my blog on AC, it will give you a place to start.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
saurjusa

Member

Registered: September 2008
Location: Somewere South of the North Pole
Posts: 73
Review Date: Mon December 15, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Consistent Medium Size, doesn't swell
Cons: None that I can think

 
I just started feeding all my fish Hikary foods, micropellest for neons, betta pellets for the betta and this for my corys. No matter were in the tank I drop them they will find them. Don't know why, but, even after feeding my betta it's betta pellets. It will go and find this and colaborate in the eating, it looks so funny as he needs to be almos tail up, head down to be able to eat from the substrate....
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
leggomypleco

Flowerhorn Guru

Registered: December 2008
Location: Indy
Posts: 1682
Review Date: Sun December 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

 
GREAT FOOD

------------------------------
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
gm72

Honored

Registered: March 2007
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 10933
Review Date: Sat December 27, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $34.99 | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good nutrition, good price
Cons: None

 
I buy these bulk in 2.2 pound packages and feed them to all of my tanks in which there are bottom feeders. I also use them a lot in the 220 gallon tank, all of the fish love them there and it is actually the only food that the leoporinus readily accepts. Good price and good nutrition means I'll be using these for a very long time.

------------------------------
8 tanks running now:
1x 220 gallon, 2x55 gallon, 1x40 gallon long, 1x29 gallon, 1x20 gallon long, 1x5.5 gallon, 1x2 gallon
Gouramis, barbs, rasboras, plecos, corys, tetras, fancy guppies, swordtails, ottos, rainbow shark, upside-down catfish, snails, and Max and Sparkles the bettas.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
cer

no longer keeping fish

Registered: October 2008
Posts: 1770
Review Date: Wed December 31, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good For The Fish
Cons:

 
Great for corycats. It brought the color out in mine.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
sandy_n

sandy

Registered: March 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 3161
Review Date: Wed January 28, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good nutrition, easy to get, fish like
Cons:

 
Everybody loves these. The wafers sink quickly and you can break off small pieces easily. Readily available at lfs.

------------------------------
You can't play nice with people who don't play by the rules!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
wolf_eyes

Unoffical Queen of Cories

Registered: October 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1361
Review Date: Mon March 9, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nutritious, fish enjoy them, doesn't cloud water.
Cons:

 
I bought the 110g bag and my fish love them. My corys all gather around it to feed and even my ghost shrimp will try to steal some. I've only gone through half the bag in 4 months and I actually spilt some. They last a long time if you don't have too many tanks/smaller tanks.

------------------------------
30gL heavily planted: south american community tank
15g mod. planted: nano fish community tank
6g long(custom tank) mod planted: 6 bettas w/ dividers
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit wolf_eyes's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
smaug

Banned

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 11861
Review Date: Sat October 3, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): dissolves slowly
Cons:

 
Awesome food.My raph only eats this stuff.He is spoiled.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Lab_Rat

Got fry?

Registered: June 2008
Location: Deep, deep South
Posts: 6882
Review Date: Mon October 26, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Doesn't get all funky in the tank
Cons:

 
All of my fish love them, even though they're meant for the cories. My pleco especially likes to eat them. There is never any left over in the tank when they're through.

------------------------------
Quote Originally Posted by i_am_511
Lighten up its just the internet its not like someone came in your house and punched a baby in the face.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
annageckos

Animal Obsessed

Registered: January 2009
Location: Langhorne PA, USA
Posts: 2884
Review Date: Mon December 28, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2.99 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good ingredients, fish like it, does not cloud the water
Cons:

 
All my fish like this food. The disk stays together fairly well and doesn't cloud the water.

------------------------------
55 gallon planted community
30 gallon planted community
10 gallon planted wild type guppies and cherry shrimp
2X5.5
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.