Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food












  • Pin It

Poster Info

Senior Member
Posts: 12,427
Registered: March 2008

 

Lustar Sponge Filter
Reviews Views Date of last review
8 4351 Thu October 1, 2009
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.0

 

Description:
All sizes....
Keywords: sponge filter internal

<<
ugg.jpg insidewhisperETS-3761376dt.jpg sponge.jpg fluval.jpg

 

Author
Red

Senior Member

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 12427
Review Date: Sun November 16, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): great filter
Cons: sometimes a pain to clean

 
Great filters for the price, great for baby fish..
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
doug z

Planted FW Junkie

Registered: January 2008
Location: Mackenzie, BC
Posts: 3566
Review Date: Wed December 3, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): work like a charm
Cons:

 
Cheap and effective filter for my QT tank

------------------------------
75g - 20 cardinals : 7 panda cory : 5 Julii cory : 9 zebra danios : 1 CAE : 2 SAE : 2 yo-yos : 1 BN
25g: 5 long-finned zebra danios
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
gm72

Honored

Registered: March 2007
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 10933
Review Date: Fri December 26, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Durability, price
Cons: None

 
I use the version III on all of my filters as a prefilter. Such use has literally eliminated my need to ever open my canisters and I never have to clean the media in my HOB filters. Just great sponges and not a single one has ever failed. I have used some of the same sponges, rinsing when clogged, for years without issue. I could not issue a more hardy recommendation to use, in particular, the III prefilter!

------------------------------
8 tanks running now:
1x 220 gallon, 2x55 gallon, 1x40 gallon long, 1x29 gallon, 1x20 gallon long, 1x5.5 gallon, 1x2 gallon
Gouramis, barbs, rasboras, plecos, corys, tetras, fancy guppies, swordtails, ottos, rainbow shark, upside-down catfish, snails, and Max and Sparkles the bettas.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
AABatteries

AC Editor

Registered: December 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3029
Review Date: Sat December 27, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great for fry tanks or QT
Cons: No chemical filtration

 
These work great for fry tanks, shrimp tanks, or QT tanks since they have almost no flow.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
leggomypleco

Flowerhorn Guru

Registered: December 2008
Location: Indy
Posts: 1682
Review Date: Sat December 27, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

 
VERY CHEAP

------------------------------
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Wild Turkey

Forum Flunkie

Registered: March 2008
Location: Annapolis Maryland
Posts: 11464
Review Date: Fri January 23, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good for biological filtration, fry tanks, shrimp tanks
Cons: does not collect debris

 
Cheap effect biological filtration. Good for fry tanks and shrimp tanks since they cant get sucked in. Also great for Maintaining Q tanks

------------------------------

This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
soundarrm

Member

Registered: February 2009
Location: india
Posts: 30
Review Date: Thu February 12, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cheap And Good For Small tank
Cons: Cleaning is Not easy

 
It Can Be Used As A Additional Filer And Small Tanks.
Cleaning is painful.

------------------------------
Soundar A
30 G Freshwater 2 Black Moor & 1 VeilTail
10 G 5 Male and 1 Female Fancy Guppy Breeder
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Toomany Tanks

Junior Member

Registered: September 2009
Location: Lost Wages, NV
Posts: 26
Review Date: Thu October 1, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Simple tech
Cons: Takes forever to get them fully clean for reuse

 
Since I don't trust them yet, I use them as a pre-filter to auxillery wet-dry filtration along with other filtration forms. I don't know where others got thiers but I don't see them as cheap. The only fish stores I've found that use them exclusively have disease problems.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.