Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food












  • Pin It

Poster Info

Master of Nothing
Posts: 815
Registered: July 2008
Location: Missouri, USA

 

Plen Plax cascade 1500
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 2778 Sun January 31, 2010
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 7.4

 

Description:
This is a relitively cheap canister filter. It allows for customizeable media. It has 3 baskets for whatever media you want. Great product especially for the price.
Keywords: canister, cheap

<<
pro75.gif emperor280_268.jpg Eheim_Classics.jpg Biowheel.jpg
>>

 

Author
Red

Senior Member

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 12426
Review Date: Sun November 16, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): cheap
Cons: well its a cheaper filter

 
Its pretty good and worth it, it might not last 5 years but still pretty good for a canister filter :)
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
The Shield

Member

Registered: January 2009
Location: Woodhaven, MI
Posts: 178
Review Date: Fri February 13, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Large amount of room for media
Cons: None yet

 
I have the Cascade 1000 (smaller than the one listed) on my 100g, and for the money it's a great filter. With the 1000 I have 6 trays to pack alot of whatever media I wish to put in it. I've had mine for about 5 years now without any problems. If you're on a budget and can't afford a higher end canister, then these Penn-Plax Cascades are the way to go.

------------------------------
100g: 1 Oscar, 1 Dempsey, 1 Pleco, 13 Convicts.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Cristoff

Senior Member

Registered: July 2009
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 929
Review Date: Sat August 15, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet, Good cost for the output
Cons: Durability questions

 
So far this filter is working like a champ! I chose it over the Fluval and others simply because of the bang for the buck. Lots of space for customizing media.

------------------------------
All forms of humor have been removed from my signature for your safety.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
kip
Junior Member

Registered: October 2009
Posts: 4
Review Date: Tue October 27, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

 
good filter....
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
The Shield

Member

Registered: January 2009
Location: Woodhaven, MI
Posts: 178
Review Date: Sun January 31, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): low cost, lots of media room
Cons: suction cup spray bar holders, pump overheats, noisy

 
I wish I could edit my previous review, but I'll just add another. Not long after I posted the 1st review I received a phone call from my wife stating the aquarium electrical circuit was not working and the basement was filled with light smoke. I rushed home and discovered the top of the filter where the pump is was melted, thus luckily the breaker tripped.

Although Penn Plax replaced it with what appeared to be a re-manned pump, I will be replacing it with either an Eheim, Fluval, or Rena when the funds allow. So spend the extra money and buy one of the three I'm looking at.

FYI, the pump was NEVER ran dry and showed no signs of air in the canister.

------------------------------
100g: 1 Oscar, 1 Dempsey, 1 Pleco, 13 Convicts.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.