Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food












  • Pin It

Poster Info

Marine Tank Addict
Posts: 10,336
Registered: February 2008

 

Eheim Classic Line Canister Filters
Reviews Views Date of last review
18 9179 Thu November 20, 2014
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $224.00 9.2

 

Description:
The Eheim classic line of canister filters is a line that has been around for many years. Originally denoted by 20xx numbers, as the new models came out they were designated 22xx. Currently available in the US are the 2213, 2215, 2217, 2250, and 2260. The design of these filters is very efficient, the water enters the canister through the bottom of the filter and is returned to the tank through the top. The pump is not extremely powerful on these filters and thus they do not have a high flowrate, however this lower flowrate is more than made up for by the surface area of the media. The Eheim Classic Line canister filter remains a great choice for hobbyists. If low flow is not what you like then these filters are not for you, however if you are not obsessed with high flow in your tank then these are a wonderful option.
Keywords: Eheim Canister

<<
emperor280_268.jpg Eheim_Classics.jpg Biowheel.jpg
>>

 

Author
ILuvMyGoldBarb

Marine Tank Addict

Registered: February 2008
Posts: 10336
Review Date: Mon June 16, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lots of biomedia, gentle flow for planted tanks, price, quite, quality
Cons: no media baskets

 
I love my Eheim 2215 canister filter. It is quiet and provides excellent bio-filtration and physical filtration. The Eheim canister filters often get a bad reputation for being expensive, but as far as canister filters go, they are one of the least expensive filters available. Many people in the US do not like them because of their low flow but that is a matter of preference. The lack of media baskets is a possitive in one respect but a negative in another. The absence of media baskets allow the user to control the amount of each kind of media that is placed in the canister, however on the flip side, this does make cleaning a longer process that takes more work. Overall this is a great canister filter that I would recommend for planted tank and high bioload fish keepers alike.

------------------------------
Considering a Marine Aquarium? A Breakdown of the Components, Live Rock, Cycling a Marine Tank

"The capacity to learn is a gift; The ability to learn is a skill; The WILLINGNESS to learn is a choice." - Unknown
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Red

Senior Member

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 12427
Review Date: Sun November 16, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great canister
Cons: pricey

 
Top three canisters (no order)
1.FX5
2. Ehiem
3. Rena
All very good and worth the money!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
AABatteries

AC Editor

Registered: December 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3029
Review Date: Thu November 20, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons: Expensive

 
From what I've heard these are some great canister filters.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
doug z

Planted FW Junkie

Registered: January 2008
Location: Mackenzie, BC
Posts: 3566
Review Date: Wed December 3, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quiet operation, build quality, ease of cleaning, choice of amount/type of media you can use.
Cons: Expensive replacement parts. Green rather than clear or at least black suction/dicharge assemblies. Spraybar over an adjustable/directional nozzle ala Fluval

 
I find my Eheim very easy to clean.. Just dump the different media into a spagetti strainer, rinse with tank water, replace..

Quiet operation, decent flow rate.

See above for minor cons..

------------------------------
75g - 20 cardinals : 7 panda cory : 5 Julii cory : 9 zebra danios : 1 CAE : 2 SAE : 2 yo-yos : 1 BN
25g: 5 long-finned zebra danios
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
gm72

Honored

Registered: March 2007
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 10933
Review Date: Fri December 26, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $299.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Media capacity, build quality, loudness
Cons: Price

 
I am here reviewing the mighty Eheim 2260, a huge filter that I have running on a 220 gallon freshwater tank. The 2260 competes directly with the Fluval FX5, and although I have not used the FX5 there are 2 points to consider when looking at these 2 huge filters. 1. The FX5 has a greater flow rate. 2. The 2260 has a greater media capacity. The 2260 has more than adequate flow for my use and the large media capacity ensures that it has great flexibility. There are no media trays but rather one large "bucket" in which to place the media. Although that could be considered to be a negative, I do not view it as such because I achieve mechanical filtration via the use of a sponge prefilter and therefore have the canister set up as a biofiltration device. There is literally no noise associated with the large pump that is atop the device. The pump is easily replaceable, thereby negating the need to tear down the entire unit should the pump fail, which it won't. Eheim makes outstanding filters and I have not experienced failure with any of their other canisters. I also make use of the Professional II line, which I will review separately. The 2260 is strongly recommended for use in large aquariums or in aquariums where media capacity is the key.

------------------------------
8 tanks running now:
1x 220 gallon, 2x55 gallon, 1x40 gallon long, 1x29 gallon, 1x20 gallon long, 1x5.5 gallon, 1x2 gallon
Gouramis, barbs, rasboras, plecos, corys, tetras, fancy guppies, swordtails, ottos, rainbow shark, upside-down catfish, snails, and Max and Sparkles the bettas.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
musket3
Junior Member

Registered: January 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 2
Review Date: Fri January 2, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lots of water flow, very quiet, great filtration, they last a long time, very well made. No need to keep buying filter material, just rinse and replace.
Cons: Expensive, but worth it since you save on not buying filter replacement media.

 
I have two 2217's on my 125 gallon tank. The water is super clean and clear. Cleaning is very easy, I do the same as Doug Z, wash the pads in old tank water and dump old tank water over the filter material in a plastic colander. Restarting is very easy if you follow the instructions. Just open the inlet valves and let the siphon fill the EMPTY filter. Watch the return hose for water coming out and plug it in. No need to clean it very often.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
tim k
Member

Registered: January 2009
Location: Stoney Creek On Canada
Posts: 363
Review Date: Sat January 17, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very Quiet , excellent choice of media , quality
Cons: Hose could be a little softer.

 
There is a good reason why this filter has stood the test of time.

Great Filter from a company that does not compromise quality for the sake of price.

Tim K
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
kennedpa

Member

Registered: May 2009
Location: Sydney - Australia
Posts: 438
Review Date: Tue May 5, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Had my previous for 30 years neva missed a beat
Cons: None

 
Eventhough I replaced my 30yro filter, it still works just fine. The only reason I replaced was to get a larger one...more flow rate

------------------------------
Paul
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
DrNic

Scientist

Registered: September 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3100
Review Date: Tue July 27, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): VERY Quiet, Great biological filtration setup
Cons: Uses green plastic for inputs/outputs

 
Overall a GREAT filter. I wish I had switched over years ago. I only have 2 complains, first they use green plastic for the input and output lines which is hard to hide. Glass and clear plastic parts are available but expensive. It would also be nice if the units came with about twice as much tubing. Be prepared to use every inch you get if you plan to run the filter end-to-end in a big tank.

The basic setup doesn't use media baskets like some other filters. However, large media bags or even large cheesecloth bags can easily be used to contain media without a problem.

------------------------------
75G Coldwater Setup (May 2011)
Angelfish Fry Development Project

This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Isaac

Member

Registered: August 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 66
Review Date: Thu August 19, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Super Quiet, Simple Design, strong build,
Cons: None

 
I love my Eheim Filter. It is so quiet, so simple to use and has a very strong, classic case. The open cannister allows you to use whatever media you want, in whatever optimum quantities you desire, I use mechanical, substrate, carbon, phoslock and a sponge filter in mine and the performance is great. Very Reliable.

------------------------------
75Gallon Freshwater 2 Angelfish, 4 Platys, 4 Flame Tetras 2 Anubias Nana, 2 Crinum Thaianum
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Amonroe
Junior Member

Registered: November 2010
Posts: 5
Review Date: Fri November 5, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet, esy setup, holds lots of media
Cons: Expensive unless on sale

 
I have had a couple of these and I am currently using the Eheim 2217. These things are very quiet and can hold a lot of media. I only clean mine about every 3 or 4 months. Some people I know go longer than that. It takes a while to figure out how to get it back together, with all the air out, after you are done cleaning it but once you get that mastered I think it is a very easy canister filter to use. And you should definitely get some kind of mesh media bags to use inside it. It makes cleaning it out much faster and easier and keeps things where they go. I use mine with an Eheim Pro on a 90 gallon corner bowfront tank.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
jessfish

Member

Registered: May 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 719
Review Date: Thu December 2, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great quality - I don't worry about it!
Cons: Gallon recommendation could be better

 
I love the eheim i have the 2213 right now on a 46gal tank & i found when my tank was a community tank it worked great...on the down side when i changed my tank over to a goldfish tank i found this size filter to be to small to handle the load!
The best advice i have heard if you keep messy eaters or messy fish in general is to take the recommended tank size on the lable (the 2213 is rated for tanks up to 65gal) & divide that number in half & you have, what i think is a better idea of the ideal tank size for that filter.
so 65/2=32...so the 2213 would be great on a smaller tank!

my plan is to upgrade to the 2217 which is listed for a tank up to 160gal! I am sure this will keep my water crystal clear!!!

------------------------------
How To Do Fish Surgery
http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aquariumforum/showthread.php?t=74480

When 'How to do Fish Surgery' gets 1000 views do I get a prize?!!!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Skalare O'Hara
Junior Member

Registered: March 2011
Posts: 1
Review Date: Mon March 14, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): these are reliable working filters - very quiet
Cons:

 
I own 6 tanks of varying sizes. 5 of the tanks are filtered thru Eheim filters, and yes, I love them.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Stratoc

Member

Registered: June 2010
Posts: 52
Review Date: Mon August 1, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): no by pass, plain and simple
Cons: possibly not as well made as they used to be

 
I bought my 2217 simply because all the water goes through the media, it has no choice. All other filters I have owned, seem to by pass loads and try to make up for this with higher flow rates. The slower flow of eheim classics suit my sensitive fish. The media on my other filter used to collect loads of junk very quickly the eheim media just seems to go golden brown, I assume this is due to biological filtration working much better. I have also had leak issues with square filters, I trust this tried and trusted filter.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Knightia

Evidence-based

Registered: May 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3137
Review Date: Sun May 13, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Reliable!
Cons: Doesn't really have proper flow control

 
I've had an Eheim Classic 2213 for years and it works as well as it did the day I bought it. I can't really speak more highly of Eheim products. They are expensive but worth their price. I don't think I would buy anything else. There is a reason they are professional standard. The build quality is superb.

------------------------------
"Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known." Carl Sagan

~ 350 Litre Tank Journal ~ ~ 30 Litre Tank Journal ~
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.