Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food












  • Pin It

Poster Info

Saltwater Mafia
Posts: 3,905
Registered: December 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada

 

Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel (all models)
Reviews Views Date of last review
17 8536 Fri March 29, 2013
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $26.00 7.2

 

Description:
Eliminate toxic ammonia and nitrite on contact. Extra large BIO-Wheels provide superior biological filtration - 10 times more than other power filters. Adjustable intake system draws water from bottom AND mid-level for total water circulation and filtration. Innovative vented-hood reduces noise for quiet operation. Clear two-piece design means unobstructed view and convenient access to easy-change, longer-lasting, Rite-Size mechanical/chemical filter cartridges. Traps more debris and removes more odors, discoloration, and impurities. Models 200 and 350 feature an additional media slot for optional Media Basket(s), to customize your filtration needs.
Keywords: BIO Wheel Penguin HOB filter

<<
Eheim_Classics.jpg Biowheel.jpg pPETS-3756646t400.jpg
>>

 

Author
MeganL3985

#1 Steelers Fan!

Registered: June 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4404
Review Date: Wed May 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cleans Well
Cons: Larger Models Are Noisy & No Way To Adjust Flow

 
If your buying the smaller models, I find them to work very well. I wasn't however fond of the larger models. I had the 150 and mine was very noisy and stirred up the sand too much. If the flow were able to be adjusted I could've dealt with the noise and it probably would've cut down on the noise as well. All in all a good filter, if you dont mind some noise with it.

------------------------------
*Keep Smiling, It Makes People Wonder What Your Up To*

Tanks-
55 Gallon--On Hold, In Storage...
20 Gallon High--Tetra and Cory's
5 Gallon Hex--Guppies (3 Female, 2 Male)
2.5 Gallon Mini Bow--Future ADF Habitat
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Evil Slimy

Fish Feeder

Registered: May 2008
Location: Northern California
Posts: 563
Review Date: Tue June 17, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to maintain, works well, relatively cheap.
Cons: Noisy with less than topped off water level, no flow control

 
I have the penguin 350 with dual biowheels. It seems to be working really well and it definitely starts more easily than my emperor 40. However I really dislike the fact that there is no way to control the water flow. The other drawback is that the output lips are very short and to avoid splashing it requires a very high water level. Regardless, for the price it works really well.

------------------------------
A Quarter Fathom Journal
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Evil Slimy's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Red

Senior Member

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 12427
Review Date: Sun November 16, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Biowheel
Cons: sometimes clogs

 
This is my fav. HOB filter... pretty cheap sometimes clogs.. i would advise not to use on SW
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
ILuvMyGoldBarb

Marine Tank Addict

Registered: February 2008
Posts: 10336
Review Date: Mon November 17, 2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Effective Biological filtration
Cons: low quality, breakes down quickly

 
This is Marineland's economy version of it's Emperor filters. You get what you pay for with these filters. I had my Penguin for maybe 3 months when it started to make a loud noise. A careful inspection revealed a bad impeller. I replaced the impeller and within 3 months that one was bad as well. I will personally never buy a Penguin filter again. I want a filter that I don't have to replace the impeller every 3 months. I got 6 months use out of my Penguin, it has been collecting cobwebs and dust ever since.

------------------------------
Considering a Marine Aquarium? A Breakdown of the Components, Live Rock, Cycling a Marine Tank

"The capacity to learn is a gift; The ability to learn is a skill; The WILLINGNESS to learn is a choice." - Unknown
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Becikeja

Member

Registered: October 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 105
Review Date: Sun November 30, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Bio-Wheel - great biological filtration
Cons: Adding carbon or other chemical filtration is difficult

 
I think the bio-wheel feature out weighs all negatives. I bought a 350 for $10 used. It needed a good cleaning so obviously was used for a long time. I have had it running now for well over a year, and it still works as if it were brand new. The only draw back is replacement cartiridges are expensive. So I bought one cartirdge and ripped off the pad. Now I just cut a filter pad and place it on the cartridge. Expense problem solved. Only drawback is you have to buy a cartirdge for Chemical filtration. I never do, the biological and mechanical work fine.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed January 21, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy maintenance and great filtration
Cons: a little noisy

 
i have a 100 gallon tank w/ 2 penguin 350's the filter cartridges were to expensive so i customized the filtering system with a few different items that i found in Drs. Foster and Smith. my filters are way more effiecent now and also filter out heavy metals, ammonia, clorine ,waste products from the fish and their food and particulates and keep my tank crystal clear. the cichlids love it and they create great circulation in my tank. all in all a great filter with easy maintenance
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed January 28, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): provides aeration for nitrifying bacteria
Cons: filter pad replacement / sand will jam impeller

 
This is a great HOB...the ability to supply aeration to nitrifying bacteria bia the biowheel is a great feature. The bad aspects of this filter is the need to replace filter media often, which can be pricey. Also, if a small amount of sand gets stuck in the impeller, this causes complications...you may have to take the whole filter apart to clear the debris.
This user is offline
 
Kyle

Senior Member

Registered: May 2008
Location: Ontario, OH
Posts: 834
Review Date: Wed April 1, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Bio-Wheel, Afordable
Cons: Noisy, Filters

 
I had one of these on my tank for a day and that was it. It was just way too noisy, it could be heard over my TV. I even went as far as to buy a new impeller for it and it was just as noisy. I had the 100 series and if it wasnt for the noise it would of been a great filter.

------------------------------
55 Gallon Freshwater
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
DrNic

Scientist

Registered: September 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3100
Review Date: Sun May 31, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good flow, Biowheel, Replacable/Reusable cartridges
Cons: No easy flow adjustment.

 
I like these filters a lot. The newer models have great water flow and a biowheel. Unlike some of the other reviews, I've never had mine clog (I wonder what they were clogging with). They are prone to a bit of waterfall noise. They have a sweet spot where they are very quiet, above or below that you can get some water noise. There is however no easy flow control. You can raise and lower the intake bar to change the flow but it doesn't always work.

------------------------------
75G Coldwater Setup (May 2011)
Angelfish Fry Development Project

This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
AdrienDeLaChicago

Member

Registered: August 2009
Posts: 289
Review Date: Thu September 24, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Can't say. I'm really inrritated with all the noise.
Cons: Annoyingly noisy.

 
I specifically asked the woman at the pet shop which of her brand filters were the quietest. She sold me this brand. I have the one for 20 gallon tanks but I have a 10 gallon tank.

I live in a studio and I can hear the impeller everywhere in my small space. One of the things I like about my apartment is how quiet it is. Or now I should say "was." I'm hoping I can return this worse than worthless annoyance. I rode my bike over 6 miles to buy this and now I have to go back.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
smaug

Banned

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 11861
Review Date: Sat October 3, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

 
Ive had one for yrs.Although a bit noisy it works great.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Lab_Rat

Got fry?

Registered: June 2008
Location: Deep, deep South
Posts: 6882
Review Date: Mon October 26, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good filtration
Cons: Noisy, a bit difficult to prime

 
A bit better than the Emperor (odd, I know) but still noisy and not much room for media in this filter. There are better HOBs on the market.

------------------------------
Quote Originally Posted by i_am_511
Lighten up its just the internet its not like someone came in your house and punched a baby in the face.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Shaunjr_89

Member

Registered: May 2010
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 93
Review Date: Fri May 14, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Filter, Cheap, and Well built.
Cons: Can get loud with low water.

 
I have had the Penguin 200 for about 3.5 years now and have never had a problem whats so ever. Great filter overall keeps my tank spotless. Does get loud when water get low. I am very satisfied with this product.

------------------------------
Shaunjr_89
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
rothenb1

Member

Registered: February 2010
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 699
Review Date: Thu August 12, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Biowheel
Cons: Noisy, hard to prime

 
I like the biowheel a lot, but I've noticed after just a few months that all (one 350 on the 55, had 2 on the 90, one 200 on the 30) the biowheels now turn very, very slowly and sometimes cease completely for a few seconds, even though the cartridges are new or recently cleaned.

They can be very loud unless the water level is flush with the output.

When restarting the filter after a water change, it takes a while to prime. Often I have to pour a couple specimen cups worth of water into it to get the biowheels moving.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
guppies55
Member

Registered: May 2011
Location: Georgia
Posts: 56
Review Date: Sun May 29, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): does its job
Cons: expensive filters

 
Works really well was the biggest and best lfs had. 6 pack of filters around here where $20 but i've found them on line for $10 so now its just costing me $3.33 a month in filters as for the waterfall sound its fine with me it helps me sleep

------------------------------
55 gal. freshwater
4 guppies, 3 painted glassfish(bought before i realized what they do to them), 3 glofish, 1 female betta, 1 red velvet swordtail, 1 redtail shark, and 2 banana plants
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.