Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food












  • Pin It

Poster Info

Senior Member
Posts: 782
Registered: December 2011
Location: Bridgeport Connecticut

 

ZooMed Nano 501
Reviews Views Date of last review
3 1251 Thu November 20, 2014
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 4.0

 

Description:
ZooMed Nano External Canister Filters for Aquariums & Nano Tanks are great for filtering nano tanks and aquariums.

Comes complete with spray bar system, mechanical filter sponge, and bio ceramic and carbon media
Easy priming feature
for Freshwater or Marine aquariums
High quality: Made in Europe

Keep your Nano tanks clean and clear with these Zoo Med Nano Canister Filters

501 Nano - for Aquariums & Nano Tanks 2-10 gallons (80 GPH)
Keywords: Nano small compact silent canister

>>

 

Author
Tiari

Senior Member

Registered: December 2011
Location: Bridgeport Connecticut
Posts: 782
Review Date: Wed March 27, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Silent, well made
Cons: A little pricey

 
After troubles with filtration for my Fluval Edge particularly for Betta, I came across the ZooMed Nano 501 and decided to give it a try. I have not regretted this decision. A small exterior canister, that was easily adapted with tubing purchased at Home Depot, it sits well under the cabinet out of sight. The spraybar and intake tube were a little long for the Edge, but was easily cut down to size. For even more gently filtration the spraybar I have mounted longways under the water, which suits the tank well.

The canister itself for its size can hold a lot of media, although the carbon packet it comes with is a bit overkill in size and barely fit into it with the bio rings. This canister can also be modified with all manner of filter media to meet the users desires, and the compartments are roomy enough to fit a host of media options.

This canister is for certain for small tanks, but works well on the edge and would likely also do well for up to a ten gallon. It is remarkably silent, no noise at all, and has very solid construction.

------------------------------
2 10 gallon tanks, 1 20 gallon tank, 1 Fluval Edge, 1 29 gallon tank, and one backyard pond.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Boundava

Member

Registered: August 2014
Location: Gurnee, IL
Posts: 445
Review Date: Thu November 20, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Small
Cons: Too much media, short hoses, lots of air intake, dificult to take top off

 
I had purchased this for my 3-toed box turtles wading pool that I had built out of Styrofoam and Drylok. It was specified for up to 10 gallons so for a 3 gallon wading pool I thought it would work wonderfully.
Right off the bat I had a very hard time getting the lid off. There are 2 slider tabs on either side of the lid that you are supposed to move opposite of each other to open and then close, but no matter what combo I tried I couldn't get it open for a good 5 minutes.
The media it comes with is too much for the filter, there are some loose ceramic rings and a bag of carbon that sit on one end, and a large foam cylinder on the other end, I had to push really hard and shake it to get the ceramic rigs to nestle enough so the carbon bag would sit on top and I could actually get the lid on it.
They do not give you enough tubing, now the motor is not strong so it tells you to place this filter level with the tank or water you are filtering (which I did) but the tubes would just barely make it into my turtle’s terrarium and into the wading pool. I had to adjust the spray bar as well and siliconed the holes shut to get more of a flow out of it. Once I filled it with water and started it all I ever got was a trickle, never got a good flow out of it-ever. The intake was well covered, but air would keep getting into the system and I would walk up to my turtle and hear grinding as the little canister was 1/4 filled with air. After a week of this I just gave up on it and pulled it out.
It may work better for a nano tank, but I didn't like the poor design so I wouldn't recommend this unless you are going to custom everything on it. Straight out of the box it doesn't work.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Boundava

Member

Registered: August 2014
Location: Gurnee, IL
Posts: 445
Review Date: Thu November 20, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Small
Cons: Too much media, short hoses, lots of air intake, dificult to take top off

 
I had purchased this for my 3-toed box turtles wading pool that I had built out of Styrofoam and Drylok. It was specified for up to 10 gallons so for a 3 gallon wading pool I thought it would work wonderfully.
Right off the bat I had a very hard time getting the lid off. There are 2 slider tabs on either side of the lid that you are supposed to move opposite of each other to open and then close, but no matter what combo I tried I couldn't get it open for a good 5 minutes.
The media it comes with is too much for the filter, there are some loose ceramic rings and a bag of carbon that sit on one end, and a large foam cylinder on the other end, I had to push really hard and shake it to get the ceramic rings to nestle enough so the carbon bag would sit on top and I could actually get the lid on it.
They do not give you enough tubing, now the motor is not strong so it tells you to place this filter level with the tank or water you are filtering (which I did) but the tubes would just barely make it into my turtle’s terrarium and into the wading pool. I had to adjust the spray bar as well and siliconed the holes shut to get more of a flow out of it. Once I filled it with water and started it all I ever got was a trickle, never got a good flow out of it-ever. The intake was well covered, but air would keep getting into the system and I would walk up to my turtle and hear grinding as the little canister was 1/4 filled with air. After a week of this I just gave up on it and pulled it out.
It may work better for a nano tank, but I didn't like the poor design so I wouldn't recommend this unless you are going to custom everything on it. Straight out of the box it doesn't work.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.