Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food












  • Pin It

Poster Info

sandy
Posts: 3,161
Registered: March 2008
Location: Missouri

 

Seachem Stability
Reviews Views Date of last review
12 5531 Wed August 20, 2014
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $11.50 8.8

 

Description:
Stability™ is formulated specifically for the aquarium and contains a synergistic blend of aerobic, anaerobic, and facultative bacteria which facilitate the breakdown of waste organics, ammonia, nitrite and nitrate. Unlike competing products, the bacteria employed by Stability™ are non-sulfur fixing and will not produce toxic hydrogen sulfide. Stability™ is completely harmless to all aquatic organisms as well as aquatic plants, thus there is no danger of over use.
Keywords: Stability™ will rapidly safely establish aquarium biofilter in freshwater marine systems, thereby preventing #1 cause of fish death: &

cycle.jpg stability.jpg bio-spira.jpg

 

Author
sandy_n

sandy

Registered: March 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 3161
Review Date: Thu May 1, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $7.99 | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): It does what it claims to do.
Cons: It takes longer than Bio-Spira

 
I used Stability in my 12 gallon with my betta. It has definitely taken longer to cycle but it did keep the ammonia and nitrites down on the low end. It did seem to take quite a while for nitrites to start to appear, however, but that could possibly be because there was just the one fish in there and he wasn't producing enough bio-load. However, I now have nitrites and nitrates showing., so I can say I'm nearing the end of the cycle. All levels were kept low and my fish did not appear stressed at all.
Stability is also nice to have on hand to add once a month for optimum biofilter performance or you can use it with each wc, when you are adding new fish and also whenever you may be medicating an aquarium.

------------------------------
You can't play nice with people who don't play by the rules!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
NickFish

Saltwater Mafia

Registered: December 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3905
Review Date: Thu May 1, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): keeps ammonia down, easy to find
Cons: doesn't cycle as fast as bio-spira

 
I like this stuff, doesn't cycle as fast as bio-spira I find, but it keeps the ammonia levels down enough. And it's much easier to find than bio-spira.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
MeganL3985

#1 Steelers Fan!

Registered: June 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4404
Review Date: Wed May 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Helps The Cycle Along
Cons: None

 
I had a horrible time cycling my 20 gallon, nothing seemed to be happening until I heard about and started using Seachem Stability. My tank was cycled within 2 weeks of using it, as opposed to the 6-8 weeks of me not seeing any changes without it. I would recommend it to anyone having trouble with their cycle.

------------------------------
*Keep Smiling, It Makes People Wonder What Your Up To*

Tanks-
55 Gallon--On Hold, In Storage...
20 Gallon High--Tetra and Cory's
5 Gallon Hex--Guppies (3 Female, 2 Male)
2.5 Gallon Mini Bow--Future ADF Habitat
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Red

Senior Member

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 12427
Review Date: Sun November 16, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): its cheap and works
Cons: may take some times

 
yeah its ok pretty good.. did it on one of my tanks spend up the process like 3 days then normal
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Lab_Rat

Got fry?

Registered: June 2008
Location: Deep, deep South
Posts: 6882
Review Date: Mon October 26, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Seachem has good stuff
Cons: Not sure if it does anything

 
I use Stability when adding new fish/increasing bioload. I'm not sure if it actually does anything but it can't hurt to add it.

------------------------------
Quote Originally Posted by i_am_511
Lighten up its just the internet its not like someone came in your house and punched a baby in the face.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
bkh99
Junior Member

Registered: January 2010
Posts: 11
Review Date: Mon May 24, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $15.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): not live germs, just spores
Cons: ?

 
I have used this product to condition planting soil for aquarium tanks. Potting soil becomes noxious when put in the bottom of an aquarium as I discovered with my 55 gallon, which stunk and burped for six months before I could even think about putting fish in there. On my ten gallon tank, I baked the potting soil to raise the temperature to germ killing levels (like you would do with a turkey) to get rid of the hydrogen sulphide fixing bacteria that are naturally occuring and then soaked the potting soil with this product, and sealed it down with sand. Not once did this tank burp or stink. this really does work.
I then tried the same bake the soil stunt on my 75 gallon, and I was to frugal and only used 250 ml out of a 500 ml bottle, and the 75 gallon tank began burping and stinking, and then settled down after about two weeks, with a big improvement over six months. If I had to do it again I would not be so cheap, but even so the tank settled down quite quickly. I have cycled a tank with this product and I find that the same principle holds. If you are real generous, you get quick results, and if you are being cheap it takes longer, but eventually this product does work. I used it together with Seachem's prime which detoxies ammonia and apparently nitrite as well, which provides food for growing the filter colony, without harming the fish. I also like that this is not a live bacteria product but instead contains spores, which are similar to plant seeds (they hatch in water).
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Cliff

Moderator

Registered: January 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17857
Review Date: Fri July 30, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): It works
Cons:

 
I use this after trating a tank with meds. Works really well

------------------------------
If you take your time to do the research FIRST, you can successfully set-up and keep ANY type of aquarium with ease.
"Not using a quarantine tank is like playing Russian roulette. Nobody wins the game, some people just get to play longer than others." - Anthony Calfo
Fishless Cycle Cycling with Fish http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aquariumforum/showthread.php?t=76398”] Marine Aquarium Info [/URL] [URL="http://saltwater.aquaticcommunity.com/"]
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
rothenb1

Member

Registered: February 2010
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 699
Review Date: Thu August 12, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Seachem makes good products
Cons: None as of now

 
Haven't used it to cycle a tank, but use it when adding new fish or after medication is used. Like previously stated, I'm not 100% sure if it works but it never hurts.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
junkers12

Member

Registered: January 2012
Location: Lethbridge
Posts: 215
Review Date: Thu February 9, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): It really works
Cons: none

 
I was very shy to buy this because of the Cycle I bought two years ago when I went to star up my first tank. I completely cycled my 90 gallon in a month. I was impressed.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
ridgenesss

Member

Registered: March 2012
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL
Posts: 338
Review Date: Tue March 27, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): works, affordable
Cons: none

 
I use this product every time i do a water change and to jump start the cycle on new tanks. I couldn't be more happy with it.

------------------------------
40 Gallon Breeder Planted: harlequin rasbora rummynose tetra corydoras cherry barbs

40 Gallon Breeder Reef: In progress!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
daimen123

Member

Registered: June 2012
Location: Sydney australia
Posts: 334
Review Date: Sun June 24, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): perfect for fish health
Cons: price

 
Stability is a must have for all fish keepers. It allows you to make some little mistakes

------------------------------
4ft mbuna mangaino and yellows
4ft rainbow tank
4ft planted community
16g nano planted shrimp and neon tetras
10g nano reef
This user is online
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Boundava
Member

Registered: August 2014
Posts: 31
Review Date: Wed August 20, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Really works
Cons:

 
I use this when I clean out my filters, when I do a water change or after I medicate. It helps to keep my tank sable by helping with bacterial fluctuations. I love Seachem and use their line of products for my plants as well as Prime, which is AWESOME and efficient as all heck!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.