Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food












  • Pin It

Poster Info

sandy
Posts: 3,161
Registered: March 2008
Location: Missouri

 

Marineland Eclipse 12
Reviews Views Date of last review
7 7748 Wed January 6, 2010
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $47.99 7.4

 

Description:
Three types of filtration are necessary for a healthy successful aquarium.
1.Mechanical Filtration traps solid debris like fish waste and uneaten food. The polyfiber filter pad traps dirt and debris.
2.Chemical Filtration uses activated carbon to attract and hold dissolved pollutants, which can cause discoloration and odor. The filter cartridge supplies both mechanical and chemical filtration. Each cartridge is packed with Diamond™ Premium Activated Carbon.
3.Biological Filtration depends on a culture bacteria to get rid of ammonia and nitrite that build up in the aquarium water. Harmful ammonia and nitrite are changed into harmless nitrate by the bacteria, which is removed with a partial water change. The patented Eclipse BIO-Wheel rotates, providing bacteria with the oxygen they need to grow, flourish and remove ammonia. The BIO-Wheel never clogs, never needs replacing, and requires virtually no maintenance.
Keywords: Three types of filtration necessary for healthy, successful aquarium.

<<
p-73758-55545-fish-supply.jpg p-12016-42146-fish-food1.jpg

 

Author
sandy_n

sandy

Registered: March 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 3161
Review Date: Wed April 30, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $47.99 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): It's self contained, it can be used in small areas,very easy to set up.
Cons: You have to lift the entire lid off to get into the tank. Can scratch easily if you'fe not careful.

 
This small, easy-to-maintain aquarium is perfect for your home, office, classroom - anywhere! The Eclipse System 12 provides superior three-stage filtration in a 12-gallon, injection-molded acrylic aquarium. And its panoramic 360° view with full-spectrum fluorescent lighting lets you easily see all your aquarium pets and plants in natural daylight illumination. I currently have an Eclipse 12 but I have alos had an Eclipse 6 and 3 previously.They're quiet, don't take up much room and I' ve never had one leak yet. I love the fact that they are self contained. With the light on, the claim is that you won't need a heater because the light helps maintain the heat. I don't leave my light on a lot because of the location of the tank and I just felt better adding a heater. Depending on the fish you keep you can also add an airstone.
My only complaint is that you must lift the whole lid off to get to the inside of the tank. Otherwise, I would still recommend this acrylic tank.

------------------------------
You can't play nice with people who don't play by the rules!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
NickFish

Saltwater Mafia

Registered: December 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3905
Review Date: Sat May 3, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to place and set-up
Cons: kinda small for more dedicated fish keepers

 
While too small for most fish species, these are great for your office at work, and are very easy to set-up and maintain.

It can go pretty much anywhere. Great for counter tops or end tables. Very convientent and easy to set-up.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Red

Senior Member

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 12427
Review Date: Mon December 1, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons: small

 
Great for a planted betta tank .. Thats pretty much it though.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
SkyBaby
Member

Registered: September 2009
Posts: 95
Review Date: Sun September 27, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to maintain, self contained
Cons: no stronger light is made for it

 
I've had mine set up as a planted betta community. I love it. It's quiet. Self contained. It's very easy to set up. I love my set up. The only con is the light isn't strong enough for my plants and they don't make a stronger bulb for it, so my swords are dying because of it. Otherwise, it's a great tank. I would definitely recommend it.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: Mon October 26, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Looks Great When New
Cons: A Real PITA To Maintain, and Seems to Collect Algae

 
I have a 12g Eclipse and a 6g Eclipse. Currently both are in use as tanks for one betta and a few platies.

The hoods on these tanks are a real pain to get in and out of for any kind of maintainence. Even dropping food in, you have a fairly small area to work with. To do more than feed, you really have to lift the entire hood off the tank (and watch as the "access lid" falls on the floor each time!).

They also seem prone to algae and even though I've only used acryllic friendly products for cleaning, they are not crystal clear like my glass tanks. The lighting is also not as "pretty".

Basic, glass 10g or 14g kits are WAY nicer, imo, than these Eclipse tanks, and cost less, too.

These were the first aquariums I bought. I would not buy again even at 1/2 the price.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Lab_Rat

Got fry?

Registered: June 2008
Location: Deep, deep South
Posts: 6882
Review Date: Mon October 26, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice look and is compact
Cons: Poor filtration, need a low bioload tank

 
I like the Eclipse system for my 5g betta tank, but for a larger tank the filtration is way too poor for any kind of moderate stocking. Hardly any room for filter media besides the pre-made cartridges which are very expensive. I don't like mine and wouldn't recommend it to anyone for a size over the 5g (betta tank size).

------------------------------
Quote Originally Posted by i_am_511
Lighten up its just the internet its not like someone came in your house and punched a baby in the face.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
CherrySparkles

Member

Registered: December 2009
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 109
Review Date: Wed January 6, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean, totally self-contained, easy to set up/maintain, silent
Cons: Entire lid must be removed to do maintenance on tank

 
I'm using the System 12 as a betta tank (so a very low bioload) and I've found it to be fabulous! I've cycled the tank, and was very pleased that the filter basket was more than large enough to accomodate a bag of bio media and some filter foam for mechanical filtration. The motor runs silently unless you basically press your ear up to the tank.

There is more than enough space in the tank to create a jungle of (in my case silk) plants and the shape is pretty much optimal for viewing the fish, as far as I'm concerned.

Out of the box, the tank was incredibly easy to set up, and everything is enclosed within the tank once running, so it has a very sleek, neat look. The tank is also nice and compact and can be put basically anywhere (provided that it can support ~120 lbs)

The one con is that the entire lid must be removed to do maintenance on the tank. There is a small, hinged door on the top of the tank, but it's mostly positioned over the filter and is best for only minor filter maintenance and for checking on the filter. Other than that, the entire hood (with the lighting assembly inside) must be lifted off to access much of the water's surface and to do maintenance on the tank.

Overall, I love this tank and would recommend it to anyone as a home for a betta. My fishy loves having all the space to live in and I can't imagine him in anything less.

------------------------------
"We weep for a bird's cry, but not for a fish's blood. Blessed are those with a voice." - Mamoru Oshii
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.