Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food












  • Pin It

Poster Info

Saltwater Mafia
Posts: 3,905
Registered: December 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada

 

Hagen Aquaclear Biomax Insert
Reviews Views Date of last review
11 5839 Sat February 8, 2014
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $2.50 8.7

 

Description:
Highly porous ceramic rings provide maximum surface area for beneficial bacterial growth. Helps produce and maintain an active and healthy biological filtration system.
Keywords: Hagen aquaclear filter media biomax insert

<<
foam-insert-30.jpg efi_substrat.jpg biomax.jpg

 

Author
travie

Senior Member

Registered: November 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2294
Review Date: Tue November 11, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Ease of use
Cons: None

 
Provides excellent biological filtration. Great to have more then one in a filter especially if you plan to setup a new tank, because it is super easy to move one over to a new tank to provide a very quick cycle. They never need replaced, and do not require a lot of cleaning if any.

------------------------------
Stock the tank you have, not the tank you plan to have. Always have and use patience.
- 29g FW - Community
- 55g SW - Blue Watchman Goby, Royal Gramma, 6-Line Wrasse, 2 Ocellaris Clownfish, and various corals and inverts
For those of you who want a SW tank and never have had one before or just starting out, read this blog entry from my blog on AC, it will give you a place to start.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Red

Senior Member

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 12427
Review Date: Sun November 16, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): good media
Cons:

 
very very good have it in both of my aquaclears :)
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
doug z

Planted FW Junkie

Registered: January 2008
Location: Mackenzie, BC
Posts: 3566
Review Date: Wed December 3, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): price is right..
Cons: pretty crumbly..

 
Cheap, and works good enough, I guess.. But you get what you pay for, they say, so I wouldn't mind paying more for sturdier, more re-usable stuff like Efi-substrat..

------------------------------
75g - 20 cardinals : 7 panda cory : 5 Julii cory : 9 zebra danios : 1 CAE : 2 SAE : 2 yo-yos : 1 BN
25g: 5 long-finned zebra danios
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
leggomypleco

Flowerhorn Guru

Registered: December 2008
Location: Indy
Posts: 1682
Review Date: Sun December 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

 
WORKS

------------------------------
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
sandy_n

sandy

Registered: March 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 3161
Review Date: Wed January 28, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Works well, easy to use, affordable
Cons:

 
Works very well and is also very easy to clean.

------------------------------
You can't play nice with people who don't play by the rules!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
AABatteries

AC Editor

Registered: December 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3029
Review Date: Mon March 23, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2.50 | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Low cost, cost effective
Cons: Good, but not the best

 
Works great for me. I run it in my Whisper filter.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Cliff

Moderator

Registered: January 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 19363
Review Date: Mon May 10, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to use, good quality
Cons:

 
I started using this in one of my AC50s about two months ago.

Easy to use and to clean

------------------------------
If you take your time to do the research FIRST, you can successfully set-up and keep ANY type of aquarium with ease.
"Not using a quarantine tank is like playing Russian roulette. Nobody wins the game, some people just get to play longer than others." - Anthony Calfo
Fishless Cycle Cycling with Fish http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aquariumforum/showthread.php?t=76398] Marine Aquarium Info [/URL] [URL="http://saltwater.aquaticcommunity.com/"]
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
CassieLEO

Sweet Peas Mommy

Registered: November 2010
Location: MA
Posts: 1861
Review Date: Sat February 5, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great amount of beneficial bacteria
Cons: They break easy

 
They do a very good job of keeping beneficial bacteria going. They do break easy so be careful, they are glass...

------------------------------

Google is your friend. Use it!!!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
MandyK

Senior Member

Registered: May 2012
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1742
Review Date: Thu September 13, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Affordable, easy to use, does the job well.
Cons: A little powdery before wet.

 
Love these! An easy way to increase bioload capacity.

------------------------------
130g: 4 Angelfish, 2 Roseline Sharks, 12 Conga Tetras, 5 Kuhli Loaches, 1 Otocinslus, 1 Corydora
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit MandyK's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
balt

Dude

Registered: July 2012
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 257
Review Date: Sat October 27, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Simple and effective
Cons: Brittle and powdery upon receiving

 
I began using Biomax when I first started up my AC30 three months ago. Since then, I purchased more and added it to the small amount that came with the filter - it is now stuffed quite full of Biomax. The older units certainly darken with age which I assume is due to the growth of the bio load. Be sure to rinse these well prior to first using them. A portion of them get powdered like cereal in shipping. I haven't seen any reason to re-clean or replace them yet, nor do I expect to. My Eheim canister filter came with biofiltration in the form of pea-sized spheres. I suspect that shape will lead to denser packing of the media and less damage from shipping (no edges). Most likely, I will buy some Fluval product next just so I can see all three types in action.

------------------------------
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
pRED

Member

Registered: March 2013
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 691
Review Date: Sat February 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): small, work
Cons: brittle

 
I mix these with Fluval Bio-max rings in smaller hob's. Since they are smaller, they will help fill voids when using with bigger media rings.

------------------------------
Ricky
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.