Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food












  • Pin It

Poster Info

Saltwater Mafia
Posts: 3,905
Registered: December 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada

 

Hagen Aquaclear Biomax Insert
Reviews Views Date of last review
11 5580 Sat February 8, 2014
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $2.50 8.7

 

Description:
Highly porous ceramic rings provide maximum surface area for beneficial bacterial growth. Helps produce and maintain an active and healthy biological filtration system.
Keywords: Hagen aquaclear filter media biomax insert

biomax.jpg

 

Author
travie

Senior Member

Registered: November 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2294
Review Date: Tue November 11, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Ease of use
Cons: None

 
Provides excellent biological filtration. Great to have more then one in a filter especially if you plan to setup a new tank, because it is super easy to move one over to a new tank to provide a very quick cycle. They never need replaced, and do not require a lot of cleaning if any.

------------------------------
Stock the tank you have, not the tank you plan to have. Always have and use patience.
- 29g FW - Community
- 55g SW - Blue Watchman Goby, Royal Gramma, 6-Line Wrasse, 2 Ocellaris Clownfish, and various corals and inverts
For those of you who want a SW tank and never have had one before or just starting out, read this blog entry from my blog on AC, it will give you a place to start.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Red

Senior Member

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 12427
Review Date: Sun November 16, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): good media
Cons:

 
very very good have it in both of my aquaclears :)
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
doug z

Planted FW Junkie

Registered: January 2008
Location: Mackenzie, BC
Posts: 3566
Review Date: Wed December 3, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): price is right..
Cons: pretty crumbly..

 
Cheap, and works good enough, I guess.. But you get what you pay for, they say, so I wouldn't mind paying more for sturdier, more re-usable stuff like Efi-substrat..

------------------------------
75g - 20 cardinals : 7 panda cory : 5 Julii cory : 9 zebra danios : 1 CAE : 2 SAE : 2 yo-yos : 1 BN
25g: 5 long-finned zebra danios
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
leggomypleco

Flowerhorn Guru

Registered: December 2008
Location: Indy
Posts: 1682
Review Date: Sun December 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

 
WORKS

------------------------------
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
sandy_n

sandy

Registered: March 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 3161
Review Date: Wed January 28, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Works well, easy to use, affordable
Cons:

 
Works very well and is also very easy to clean.

------------------------------
You can't play nice with people who don't play by the rules!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
AABatteries

AC Editor

Registered: December 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3029
Review Date: Mon March 23, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2.50 | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Low cost, cost effective
Cons: Good, but not the best

 
Works great for me. I run it in my Whisper filter.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Cliff

Moderator

Registered: January 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 18184
Review Date: Mon May 10, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to use, good quality
Cons:

 
I started using this in one of my AC50s about two months ago.

Easy to use and to clean

------------------------------
If you take your time to do the research FIRST, you can successfully set-up and keep ANY type of aquarium with ease.
"Not using a quarantine tank is like playing Russian roulette. Nobody wins the game, some people just get to play longer than others." - Anthony Calfo
Fishless Cycle Cycling with Fish http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aquariumforum/showthread.php?t=76398] Marine Aquarium Info [/URL] [URL="http://saltwater.aquaticcommunity.com/"]
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
CassieLEO

Sweet Peas Mommy

Registered: November 2010
Location: MA
Posts: 1861
Review Date: Sat February 5, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great amount of beneficial bacteria
Cons: They break easy

 
They do a very good job of keeping beneficial bacteria going. They do break easy so be careful, they are glass...

------------------------------

Google is your friend. Use it!!!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
MandyK

Senior Member

Registered: May 2012
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1742
Review Date: Thu September 13, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Affordable, easy to use, does the job well.
Cons: A little powdery before wet.

 
Love these! An easy way to increase bioload capacity.

------------------------------
130g: 4 Angelfish, 2 Roseline Sharks, 12 Conga Tetras, 5 Kuhli Loaches, 1 Otocinslus, 1 Corydora
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit MandyK's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
balt

Dude

Registered: July 2012
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 257
Review Date: Sat October 27, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Simple and effective
Cons: Brittle and powdery upon receiving

 
I began using Biomax when I first started up my AC30 three months ago. Since then, I purchased more and added it to the small amount that came with the filter - it is now stuffed quite full of Biomax. The older units certainly darken with age which I assume is due to the growth of the bio load. Be sure to rinse these well prior to first using them. A portion of them get powdered like cereal in shipping. I haven't seen any reason to re-clean or replace them yet, nor do I expect to. My Eheim canister filter came with biofiltration in the form of pea-sized spheres. I suspect that shape will lead to denser packing of the media and less damage from shipping (no edges). Most likely, I will buy some Fluval product next just so I can see all three types in action.

------------------------------
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
pRED

Member

Registered: March 2013
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 512
Review Date: Sat February 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): small, work
Cons: brittle

 
I mix these with Fluval Bio-max rings in smaller hob's. Since they are smaller, they will help fill voids when using with bigger media rings.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.