Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food












  • Pin It

Poster Info

Senior Member
Posts: 2,396
Registered: July 2011
Location: Michigan

 

Hagen Fluval 06 Series
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 6786 Mon September 15, 2014
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $125.00 8.6

 

Description:
The Fluval 06 series of aquarium canister filters takes aquarium filtration to the next level. The 06 Series filters offer several state of the art features to ensure reliable operation and trouble free maintenance. The Fluval 06 line has improved filter performance and water quality for both fresh and saltwater aquariums. The system is designed for an easier set-up and start-up. These Fluval canister filters are made for aquariums ranging in size from 25-100 gallons, each backed by a three year warranty.

Features include a complete set of mechanical, chemical & biological filter media, an instant prime system that ensures a quick start-up, single motion lift-lock canister clamps, a clog proof intake strainer, a dual layer pre-filter foam screen, a user manual and quick start guide. Everything you need to get your Fluval 06 Filter going is supplied making installation easy for even the first time aquarium owner, while delivering performance that will satisfy the most advanced aquarium hobbyist.

What’s New in the Fluval 06 Filter Canisters?

Re-Engineered Priming System
This powerful primer plunger functions in unison with the secondary check valve resulting in drawing water to the filter even when the water surface is as much as 12” below the aquarium rim.

Redesigned Aquastop

Levers for better grip, strength and durability. Fluval’s AquaStop valve offers unparallel convenience and ease of use. It creates an air and watertight seal that allows you to disconnect hosing without breaking the vacuum that keeps air out of the line.

Lift Lock Clamps

The lift lock canister clamps have been redesigned to provide additional strength and less tensile flexing. The handles seat into the sides of canister for increased ergonomics and security. Fluval Lift locks canister clamps not only secure the filter head to the canister itself but also provides a convenient lever action that easily opens the filter without mess for your regular maintenance and changing of media.

Other new features

Increased Hydraulic performance
Less frequent maintenance
Increased water filtration performance
Cleaner water
Redesigned impeller cover
Less prone to breakage while cleaning
Hose lock nuts for improved security
Grip hose fittings

Product Description

The refined Fluval 06 series of aquarium canister filters features a new, more powerful motor and adds extra conveniences to the powerful and flexible Fluval filtration line. Each Fluval Multi-Stage 06 Series Filter adds even more user-friendly features with a re-engineered, efficient priming system to ensure aquarium filtration is even easier to set-up, customize and maintain. Each filter holds 35-50% more volume than round canisters of similar size, and with an increased Hydraulic performance there is no need for frequent maintenance. The advanced motor technology of the Fluval 06 Series results in improved performance, quiet operation and an easier start-up. The Fluval 406 is suitable for aquariums up to 100 gallons.

As retrieved from on Jan. 26, 2012:
http://www.amazon.com/Hagen-A217-Flu...p_ob_title_pet
Keywords: Fluval Canister Filter 06 Series

<<
p_17061_12701.jpg Fluval_06_box.jpg Fluval_C4.jpg
>>

 

Author
patinthehat

Member

Registered: February 2012
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 221
Review Date: Fri March 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very Quiet, Good Flow
Cons: Can be hard to latch if you don't have it seated just right

 
Back in January i purchased 2 206's for my 50g long. Setting them up was quite easy. the instructions are great. the only issue is snapping the lid on the first time. if it isnt seated properly and you snap it down, it bends part of the plastic. I haven't had any leaks and the quick disconnects work wonderfully. The media is easy to get to and change. These things are so quiet i had to stick my hand in front of the nozzle to see if it was shooting water out. they have a really strong flow and the flow is adjustable. all in all a great canister filter and a great buy! i bought my 205's for about $85. caught them on sale on dr fosters website.

------------------------------
Link to my Journal: patinthehat's 50g journey
50g-11 neon tetras, 749 billion pond snails, 3 Bristlenose Plecos, Red Cherry Shrimp, and assassin snails on the way!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
ridgenesss

Member

Registered: March 2012
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL
Posts: 338
Review Date: Tue March 27, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very quiet, amzing flow and interchangeable media
Cons: assembly can be confusing.

 
About a month ago I purchased the 306 for my planted 40 gallon breeder. I am amazed at the amount of flow this thing puts out and how quiet it is. It has a great amount of flow and boy does it do it's job. I love how the three media baskets can be setup however you please with whatever media you like. The only drawback is that the installation can be a bit confusing. Luckily iv'e used these filters before.

------------------------------
40 Gallon Breeder Planted: harlequin rasbora rummynose tetra corydoras cherry barbs

40 Gallon Breeder Reef: In progress!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
spuddly0014

Junior Member

Registered: June 2012
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 16
Review Date: Thu June 28, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Flow, Quiet, Setup
Cons: Latch, Hoses

 
Works great. When I bought the unit it put it together in a frenzy because I was excited. Started to prime it and got probably 2 gallons on the ground. While reading the instructions I put the gasket in the wrong spot. The spots are close together and I feel easily mistaken for one another.

My mistake but hopefully I save some one a little cleanup.

All in all I am happy with the machine.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Darkangels

Junior Member

Registered: June 2013
Location: stevensville,mi
Posts: 1
Review Date: Fri July 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): flow,media options,quiet
Cons: no spraybar

 
i bought the 406 about 5 months ago. So far is performing flawless. I run it and a marineland c-220 canister on a 60 gallon. The tank is always crystal clear. The only is i wish it came with a spray bar. In the end i made i own spray bar. over all very nice filter would def recommend buying one as i will be gitting another for my 55 gallon soon.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
dragoonwoman

Rev War History Lady

Registered: September 2009
Location: Colchester, CT
Posts: 771
Review Date: Mon September 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $125.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): great output, plenty of internal media space
Cons: no spraybar, hard to latch hose connection

 
Have a 206 model which was working great, until it suddenly developed a leak. Can't figure out where it's coming from - have opened and closed the filter several times, cleaned the gasket around the top, changed media - no luck in stopping the drip. Changed back to my old Rena Filstar XP1 to keep my tank going.

------------------------------
Dragoon Woman
46 bowfront: Planted, Angelfish, Rasboras, Cories, Tetras, Otos
25g: Planted, cherry shrimp, otos
5g: Planted, Betta
4g: Planted, betta
5 horses, 7 cats, all rescued animals
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.