Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food



30f1f997f17cbf24852780e312e4acb6.jpg









  • Pin It

Poster Info

guru at being an expert
Posts: 6,156
Registered: May 2006
Location: SoCal

 

Wardley Sinking Shrimp Pellets
Reviews Views Date of last review
13 12599 Thu April 7, 2011
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $4.99 2.5

 

Description:
Nutritious pelleted food featuring shrimp and fortified with vitamin C.
Keywords: wardley fish food catfish shrimp sinking pellets

<<
HIKMARS.jpg 1076.jpg 30f1f997f17cbf24852780e312e4acb6.jpg jmc.jpg
>>

 

Author
Incredulous_Ed

guru at being an expert

Registered: May 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 6156
Review Date: Tue April 29, 2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $4.99 | Rating: 2 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): price
Cons: everything else

 
This food sucks. None of my fish liked it, it clouded the water, and the fish that did eat it lost color. Go with a higher quality food.

------------------------------
CORRECTED video of my fish. This link works. For sure. Really.

Tanks:
20g long: 4 panda cories, 1 honey gourami, 1 apistogramma borellii, 1 male cacatuoides
20g High: 3 bolivian rams, 12 rasboras
8g hex: empty
5g: empty
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
NickFish

Saltwater Mafia

Registered: December 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3905
Review Date: Wed April 30, 2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): cost
Cons: everything besides cost

 
Well, this, like all wardley foods, is absolute junk.

Only one of my cories actually tasted this, he nibbled on it slightly. None of the other coriese would eat it, and eventually I had to switch back to the old foods before they starved. All the cories lost most of their color, and it clouded the water and added some much more nitrates than if I had fed an actual food.

Sometimes I like to go out and buy stuff, just to try it out and see what people are talking about. That is what I did, tried these pellets a few weeks ago. With all my experiments, I have found that all of wardley's foods should not be fed. Ever.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Gemini

Senior Member

Registered: April 2008
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 1769
Review Date: Mon November 24, 2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to break for fry, was popular with my corys
Cons: Has copper so killed my shrimp, clouds the water, very messy food

 
This food was popular with my corys. My clown loaches didn't give it a second look. It messes up the tank as it quickly dissolves and gets into the water column. IF it was the only fish food left it would be ok - otherwise I would probably suggest to find a better substitute.

------------------------------
Fish are friends, not an expendable entertainment device!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Red

Senior Member

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 12427
Review Date: Mon November 24, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): worst food ever
Cons: worst food ever

 
I would not but any wardley products... ZERO quality
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
AABatteries

AC Editor

Registered: December 2007
Location: USA, Ohio
Posts: 2978
Review Date: Sun November 30, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): low price
Cons: none for me

 
I've never had it cloud my water, and my cories have always eaten it.

------------------------------
55g - 1 oscar and 1 red zebra
30g(planted) - 3 Trilineatus cories, 3 peppered cories, 1 female betta, 2 gold rasboras, and snails.
50g - 4 lethrinops intermedius
46g Hex - 2 black neon tetras, 3 bloodfin tetras, 3 blue tetras, 2 snakeskin gouramis, 3 Agassizi corys, 2 von rio tetras ,and 1 pleco

This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
doug z

Planted FW Junkie

Registered: January 2008
Location: Mackenzie, BC
Posts: 3566
Review Date: Wed December 3, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons: You get what you pay for.. Grabage..

 
These things fly apart about as soon as they hit the water, not 1 fish liked it..

Lesson learned.. :(

------------------------------
75g - 20 cardinals : 7 panda cory : 5 Julii cory : 9 zebra danios : 1 CAE : 2 SAE : 2 yo-yos : 1 BN
25g: 5 long-finned zebra danios
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
DrNic

Scientist

Registered: September 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3100
Review Date: Sun May 31, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price
Cons:

 
Medium quality food for bottom dwellers. As long as the food is kept dry in storage it will not cloud the water. All my corries and cats LOVE the stuff.

------------------------------
75G Coldwater Setup (May 2011)
Angelfish Fry Development Project

This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
VoidParadigm

Senior Member

Registered: June 2009
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2371
Review Date: Sat July 18, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cheap, readily available at a variety of stores
Cons: Falls apart and gets stuck under gravel

 
My cories go after the food readily, but anything they don't eat gets stuck under the gravel quickly. As with all Wardley products it is readily available, yet lacking in quality. If you choose this kind of food make sure to offer your fish high quality supplements or live food every now and then.

------------------------------
A severe lack of trichogaster.

Just because your Gourami is sick does not mean it is always Iridovirus, DGIV, Gourami Disease, et cetera.
Look at all the other factors in your tank before coming to this conclusion.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Lab_Rat

Got fry?

Registered: June 2008
Location: Deep, deep South
Posts: 6882
Review Date: Mon October 26, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): the fish would eat it
Cons: is crappy food

 
Bought this before I knew better. The fish would eat it but it makes a total mess in the tank and is loaded with fillers. Threw the rest of it out.

------------------------------
Quote Originally Posted by i_am_511
Lighten up its just the internet its not like someone came in your house and punched a baby in the face.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Wild Turkey

Forum Flunkie

Registered: March 2008
Location: Annapolis Maryland
Posts: 11464
Review Date: Tue December 22, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): None Really
Cons: Poor Quality, average cost

 
Bought this a long long time ago, threw it away. Some will accept it but its not high enough in quality for that to matter imo

------------------------------

This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
annageckos

Animal Obsessed

Registered: January 2009
Location: Langhorne PA, USA
Posts: 2884
Review Date: Mon December 28, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cheap
Cons: cheap ingredients, a lot of fillers

 
This food is filled with mostly fillers. Wheat, soy, corn and yeast. None of these are need or are any good for fish.

------------------------------
55 gallon planted community
30 gallon planted community
10 gallon planted wild type guppies and cherry shrimp
2X5.5
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Shaunjr_89

Member

Registered: May 2010
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 93
Review Date: Thu June 17, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $4.99 | Rating: 2 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cheap
Cons: Clouds water understatement

 
Got these before the Omega one pellets what a mistake used twice then tossed they make your water very cloudy and they break up to fast.

------------------------------
Shaunjr_89
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Cascade

Member

Registered: April 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 441
Review Date: Thu April 7, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Sinks
Cons: Breaks up, unappetizing for fish, hard to fish out once it has "exploded"

 
I dropped a few of these in my tank one time and walked away. I returned a few minutes later and was alarmed by the giant piles of mystery glop on the gravel. Then I figured out that it was the "exploded" shrimp pellets, which were totally untouched by all of my fish (even the normally voracious ones). Yuck. The way they expand and break up makes it difficult to fish them back out again - what a mess.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.