Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food












  • Pin It

Poster Info

Junior Member
Posts: 18
Registered: February 2011

 

SunSun/Perfect HW-404B
Reviews Views Date of last review
3 5049 Thu July 19, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 8.0

 

Description:
My canister filter can today from kool_goods on ebay:

http://cgi.ebay.com/AQUARIUM-CANISTE...em2c5b2a 4aaf

This is the largest filter in this product line and is supposedly is upgraded from the HW-305B model (I think the biggest upgrade is to the priming pump and to the pump according to the seller).

First off the filter itself was packaged up like brick sh!thouse from kool_goods so +1 one for them, I highly recommend this seller. The filter is made in Taiwan as opposed to Made in China (yes I know taiwan is a part of the PRC) which in my experience means a better made product. My first impression was that the filter is absoulutely huge at 19"x12x12. It has 4 media baskets and comes with 4 sponges. I put 3 sponges at the bottom basket for filtering debris and then was able to put 4 liters (!) of seachem matrix and then the last sponge at the top for polishing in the upper 3 baskets. That is enough bio media for a 400 gallon tank, overkill but that is OK.

The filter includes nice long spray bars and intake and two 5 ft pieces of thick (too stiff IMO but free is good) tubing. Setup was easy even though this was my first canister filter. I filled the cannister with tank water, turned on the pump and pumped the priming pump and in about 20 seconds I had it going. I also practiced pulling off the tubing housing and that was a breeze with no water spilled.

The final thing that struck me (my wife too) is that this thing is dead quiet, so much better than my HOB filters. You cannot hear this thing run, my wife thought it was turned off. The filter is rated at 530 wpg but with the spray bars pointed at the back glass current is fine for my fish. I also forgot to mention that there is a 9 watt UV light but that seems like a gimmick as it is too low of power but it can't hurt I suppose.

So at $110 shipped ($15 less for the older model if you are saving money) this seems like a great buy IMO. We will see how it holds up.
Keywords: SunSun Perfect HW-404B HW-304B Canister

<<
Fluval_06_box.jpg Fluval_C4.jpg bio31.jpg tominaga_c3_rapids_power_filter.jpg
>>

 

Author
Surfdog

Surf's up!

Registered: March 2011
Location: Ottawa, On
Posts: 1298
Review Date: Sat March 31, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): silent, powerful built in UV
Cons: Very large

 
I love my 404B, was a great addition to my predator tank. No regrets on this purchase

------------------------------
Life is tough, it's even tougher if your stupid.

If your not angry, your not paying attention...

150G FWLR (Morays) 75G Fresh (Assrtd) 24G Cube (Reef/Goby) 10G Fresh (Beta)
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Corsair813

Member

Registered: June 2012
Location: Buffalo N.Y.
Posts: 98
Review Date: Wed July 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very very Quiet ! Great Flow Rate! Tons and Tons of Media space !!, UV Sterilier...I guess, Purchase price excellent, Has potential to be a good one Free shipping though mine took 12 days
Cons: High energy use, ...Rather Large unit at 19 high by 11 1/2 deep and 11 1/2 wideThe instructions for set up are all but useless

 
I have a fresh water 90 gallon community tank with about 40 fish.
....I just received my HW 404B (Perfect) paid $ 106.00 from Kool Goods on e-bay. included shipping. What a Monster but initially very likeable in appearance and design.
Initial set up took me longer than expected but I wanted to clean it up thoroughly first. The media baskets are very large and at first I wondered what I was going to do with all that space.... Being fairly new to the hobby I loaded the bottom basket with some filter floss (I like to use the floss because it catches most of the dirt and extends the life of the foam pads) and a Blue coarse foam pad., In the second basket I put 3 finer polishing pads, In the Third basket I put two mess bags of charcoal (I made them up) 11 ounces each, and in the fourth basket I filled it up with ceramic rings and bio balls. I'd be happy to get some advice on this, I'd like to experiment a little with the media ....
Anyway, after cleaning and setting up the baskets , setting up the hoses and in/out tubes was a little laborious but not to be unexpected for first time set up. Connecting the hoses on both ends not terrible and the instructions say nothing about how to accomplish this so I guessed on the method. Hope I did it correctly.... no water on the floor this morning so I guess I did it right. Overall the instructions really kinda stink and the priming pump could be a little better. It seemed like I just kept pumping water in and out of the hoses with each pump of the primer. I also made sure I over filled the cylinder so when I put the head on, the water overflowed out of the filter a little. This didn't seem to help the prime at all.
This newer model 404B compared to the 304B was about 12 bucks more and the only difference I can see is a carrying handle on the lid. Ok it is big and bulky and would be hard to carry without it so I guess it was worth it.
After setup and priming I fired this baby up and once all the air flushed out this system is very very quiet. I also like the way the valves disconnect from the main body when its time for cleaning. I could have sworn I read something about controlling the flow rate (rated at 525 gals per hour) before I bought it but I don't see anything. Also the only way to turn the pump on or off is by unplugging the unit. . It looks like it has the makings for a very good filter and The 9v UV is an extra but the jury is out on those things. I have mine turned off. (this does have an on -off switch)
Will keep you all posted with future outcomes after running it a while
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Corsair813

Member

Registered: June 2012
Location: Buffalo N.Y.
Posts: 98
Review Date: Thu July 19, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

 
Update.... after 24 hours I see a noticeable difference in my water clarity. !!!
Nice start !!! So far this filter is doing its job !! I am very pleased with the initial results !!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.