Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food



flourite.jpg









  • Pin It

Poster Info

Senior Member
Posts: 1,136
Registered: July 2010
Location: Tampa, Florida

 

Seachem Flourite Black Sand
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 9041 Thu September 13, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.0

 

Description:
Flourite is a unique gravel specifically designed for the planted aquarium. Essential nutrients are already in the gravel, so no supplements are needed. It can be mixed with other gravel or used alone. For best results at least half of the substrate mixture should be of Flourite. For freshwater use only.
Keywords: Seachem Flourite Black Sand

<<
p-73758-55545-fish-supply.jpg p-12016-42146-fish-food1.jpg

 

Author
funkman262

Senior Member

Registered: July 2010
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 1136
Review Date: Thu November 11, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Love the black color, easy to maintain, provides/holds nutrients
Cons: Price, not locally available

 
I began using this sand when I switched over to a planted tank. I love the black sand because it contrasts well with the green plants and it really helps to make the fish pop. I don't even vacuum the poop off of the sand because it just blends right in and my plants eventually use it as fertilizer. Only complaint is I had to order it online and it could be a bit expensive.

------------------------------
funkman262's 90g Planted Tank Journal
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Cliff

Moderator

Registered: January 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17857
Review Date: Sun November 14, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quality
Cons: none really

 
I found this to be a very good product. Easy to wash, and the plants seem to do better in it. Its not as black as I would like it, but it still looks really good.

------------------------------
If you take your time to do the research FIRST, you can successfully set-up and keep ANY type of aquarium with ease.
"Not using a quarantine tank is like playing Russian roulette. Nobody wins the game, some people just get to play longer than others." - Anthony Calfo
Fishless Cycle Cycling with Fish http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aquariumforum/showthread.php?t=76398] Marine Aquarium Info [/URL] [URL="http://saltwater.aquaticcommunity.com/"]
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
CassieLEO

Sweet Peas Mommy

Registered: November 2010
Location: MA
Posts: 1861
Review Date: Sat February 5, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Extremely good stuff
Cons: Nothing

 
Everything about this product is fabulous. My plants grew like crazy and my corys love rooting around in it.

------------------------------

Google is your friend. Use it!!!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
MandyK

Senior Member

Registered: May 2012
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1721
Review Date: Thu September 13, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great for plants and fish
Cons: Seems to gather a powdery substance on the surface

 
I would recommend this to anyone who is serious about growing plants in their aquarium.

------------------------------
130g: 4 Angelfish, 2 Roseline Sharks, 5 Kuhli Loaches, 1 Otocinslus, 1 Corydora
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit MandyK's homepage! Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.