Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food



405.jpg

405_2_.jpg








  • Pin It

Poster Info

Moderator
Posts: 17,399
Registered: January 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada

 

Hagen Fluval Fluval 405 Canister filter
Reviews Views Date of last review
9 16011 Sun May 13, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 8.1

 

Description:
The Fluval 405 External Canister Filter provides complete, multi-stage filtration for aquariums up to 400 Liters (100 U.S. gallons). The modular design allows for quick and easy maintenance while flexible filter media chambers permit maximum versatility for basic to custom filter media configurations. Fluval 405 external canister filters offer quick, trouble-free maintenance features. These include instant priming, lift-lock clamps that securely lock the cover in place and an Aqua-Stop feature that stops the water flow without the need to disconnect hoses. Backed by a 3-year guarantee.
- Black / Silver
- UL approved
- 110 V, 60 Hz
- Filter media included:
-- 2 x Foam
-- 4 x Carbon (70 g)
-- 4 x Glass Biomax (200 g)
- 2 part Lock clamp
- Ribbed hosing
Capacity Engineered: Flow Rates, Filter Areas & Power for the 405:
Aquarium capacity - U.S.Gal/Liters = 100 / 400
Pump out-put, US gal/liters per hour per hour = 340 / 1300.
Mechanical area, Sq. Yds./mm2 = 63,583 / 76,300.
Biological volume = U.S. Qt./Liters = 4.42 / 4.2
Filter volume = U.S. Qt./Liters = 8.94 / 8.5
Filter circulation U.S. Gal./Liters per hour = 225 / 850 (with supplied media)
Max water column height – ft. / meters = 6.7 / 2.05

(information taken directly from the manufacture's website)
Keywords: Hagen Fluval 405 Canister Filter

<<
p-73758-55545-fish-supply.jpg p-12016-42146-fish-food1.jpg

 

Author
Cliff

Moderator

Registered: January 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17399
Review Date: Wed May 12, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): media Capasity & flow rate
Cons: Clamps

 
I really like this filter. It has a lot of filter media capacity and requires very little maintenance. Theirs is only two things that I would change on this filter if I could. 1) I would make the clamps that hold the top motor assembly on to the canister easier to use. These things are hard to open and close, but you won’t have to use them often. And 2) Hagen overstates the recommend flow rate and aquarium size related for this filter (at least in my opinion ). If you were to reduce these in ˝ you would have a good fit. I would not use this on a tank larger than 65 gallons.

It would be a excellent filter for any tank 40 to 65 gallons in size.

------------------------------
If you take your time to do the research FIRST, you can successfully set-up and keep ANY type of aquarium with ease.
"Not using a quarantine tank is like playing Russian roulette. Nobody wins the game, some people just get to play longer than others." - Anthony Calfo
Fishless Cycle Cycling with Fish http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aquariumforum/showthread.php?t=76398”] Marine Aquarium Info [/URL] [URL="http://saltwater.aquaticcommunity.com/"]
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
FishGirl-Seattle

What stop sign?

Registered: May 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 600
Review Date: Sun May 23, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Reliable, well made, quiet, and plenty of room for a wide range of filter media.
Cons: Hoses are not very flexible and it's hard to connect other hoses to them.

 
I've been using Fluvals for years and had two of the 405's filtering a hundred gallon tank. They did a great job but I had to rig a spray bar to the outflow to get the current down. The outflow nozzle that comes with the filter didn't allow for any spray adjustment, all you can do is adjust the flow rate at the cannister. And while I was never thrilled with the hoses (would prefer a filter that worked with standard clear tubing), the filter itself was a real work horse and very quiet too. I've had one of the earlier models running almost continuously for about 5 years and have never had a problem with it. The 05 series is easier to prime and easier to open and close than the earlier versions. It also has an easy flow shut off that allows you to disconnect without losing your siphon - handy when it is time to clean your media. If you are looking for a reliable filter that will perform quietly for years on end without a hiccup this will do it.

------------------------------
Why do people always scream when I'm driving?
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
bkh99
Junior Member

Registered: January 2010
Posts: 11
Review Date: Mon May 24, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): solid
Cons: hard to prime

 
i find the older 304 to be real scary to prime. Will it work will it start up again
I like the Rena on my other tank much better
I panic every time it is time to service that 304
I also find that these Fluval filters are powerful, and just having a 304 on a 75 gallon tank produces a borderline overly powerful current in the tank ... I agree that this filter could use a spray bar to deal with that powerful jet of water problem ... I can't imagine using the 400 series model on a 75 gallon, because even that 300 series seems like a bit much.

I think this is a good performing filter and it seems very solid and probably would run for years and years (I got it second hand when I bought a tank from someone). But that priming thing is always scary
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Trillianne

*insert witty title*

Registered: April 2010
Location: Seattle Side of the Mountains
Posts: 2512
Review Date: Tue March 22, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Reliable, quiet, lots of media room
Cons: gunk buildup in hoses

 
Upgraded to the 405 when we bought a 65G tank and its been very solid and reliable. If you take the time to get the air out of the filter when you set it up and after cleaning its very quiet. There is quite a bit of media room, so adding additional media is simple and easy.

Hoses are a bit stiff and are ribbed, which after cleaning the filter and restarting you will see a significant amount of gunk buildup come from your hoses if you do not clean them as well.

------------------------------
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
sheila.lack
Junior Member

Registered: April 2011
Posts: 1
Review Date: Mon April 11, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good filter system
Cons: Dread cleaning it as it leaks everywhere.

 
It is a good filter very powerfull, but it leaks water everywhere as the lid does not seem to seal properly. My carpet has been soaked three times now and I dread having to clean it. Although the seal is very good the lid does not seem to seal properly and it leaks water all the time. Any ideas anybody.
How long can the fish be safe without the filter working?
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Fisharefriends27

Senior Member

Registered: January 2011
Posts: 1019
Review Date: Wed August 24, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Media customization
Cons: Cheaply made feel primer thing

 
The primer pump seems cheap but it's just me.
There are a lot of media customization, I run the main sponges polyfiber all the rest biomedia

------------------------------
120 gallon29 gallon
5.5 and 2.5 gallon
The harley man......no not the motorcycle, harlequin rasboras
Angie R.I.P. 10/29/11
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
junkers12

Member

Registered: January 2012
Location: Lethbridge
Posts: 215
Review Date: Thu February 9, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Large housing and may baskets for different media
Cons: A little bulky

 
I have had this filter with my new Fluval designer aquarium which is a 90 gallon corner tank. It is a little nosier than my 205 on my other Fluval tank. It keeps the water clear and the flow is exellent. The hoses are a little stiff but not horribly stiff. It is easy to clean. I used to have hang on back filters and after having Fluval canisters I would never go back. Great filter for a decent price. I don't know about the primer I have a drilled bottom on my tank so priming has never been an issue.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
ridgenesss

Member

Registered: March 2012
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL
Posts: 338
Review Date: Tue March 27, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quiet, great flow,
Cons: tricky to setup, messy to disconnect hose

 
My good friend of my let me borrow this filter before purchasing a canister of my own. I love the fact that the media is so customizable and how quiet the unit it. Installation can be a bit confusing at first but otherwise not to bad. One of the major drawbacks is that the quick release valve for the in and out hose closes the flow as it unlocks it causing a bit of water to leak if you dont do it fast enough.

------------------------------
40 Gallon Breeder Planted: harlequin rasbora rummynose tetra corydoras cherry barbs

40 Gallon Breeder Reef: In progress!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
~firefly~

Evidence-based

Registered: May 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2775
Review Date: Sun May 13, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to set-up and maintain
Cons: Probably best to take their capcity recommendations with a pinch of salt

 
I've used this on a 500 litre tank in combination with a few other filters. I was overall very pleased with the filter as it was a budget choice but performed adequately. The adjustable flow is good, although perhaps not as strong as they promise.

Overall it was very easy to maintain and did not require a lot of cleaning out or adjusting which is good as the clips to open the thing can be tricky. At times I thought they might break, but luckily they did not. The capacity for filter media is good and I liked the sectioned cages/boxes.

------------------------------
"Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known." Carl Sagan
~ My 350 Litre Tank Journal ~
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.