Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food



GLO_T5_HO.jpg









  • Pin It

Poster Info

Moderator
Posts: 18,205
Registered: January 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada

 

Hagen GLO T5 HO
Reviews Views Date of last review
3 7301 Wed January 2, 2013
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $250.00 8.7

 

Description:
It is also possible to place a GLO T5 HO fluorescent bulb much nearer the waterís surface versus a metal halide. Unlike some other high output lighting technologies which generate a lot of heat and can rupture when exposed to water splash, GLOT5 HO is safe and efficient.

Heat generation with T5 HO lighting is minimal when compared to other high output and high intensity lighting systems; superior for consistent aquarium temperatures and less likelihood of requiring expensive water chillers. Mixing light spectrums with different T5 HO bulbs is also aesthetically superior, while providing a better distributed light output across the aquarium versus high output power compact lighting or
metal halide. When different colour temperature and spectrum bulbs are mixed with other high output bulb
technologies, the aquarium exhibits patches of different colours and shades

Features include:
A) Available in single and doubleT5 HO bulb configurations
B) Built in high efficiency parabolic reflector, for maximum light reflection
C) Easy to install Integrated extension brackets to fit a variety of aquarium lengths
D) Compact dimensions allow the use of multiple units for high light applications
E) Integrated suspension tabs (North American Model Only) to suspend above aquarium, suspension kit included
F) Compact dimensions allow the use of multiple units for high light applications
G) Water Resistant Compression-Fit Bulb End Caps for safe, reliable long-term performance
H) Aquarium Mounting Brackets, securely fasten to the aquarium and allow for 4 different vertical positions. Allows light level adjustment and choice of visual presentation

(information taken directly from the manufacture's website)
Keywords: Lighting T5 hagen GLO

<<
Blue_light.jpg tank.jpg GLO_T5_HO.jpg imagerequest_aspx.jpg 1112997543106_215X215.jpg
>>

 

Author
Cliff

Moderator

Registered: January 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 18205
Review Date: Wed April 28, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quality of the light and the blub retaining caps
Cons: Its expensive and there is no on/off switch

 
I bought one of these fixtures because of the reviews I read made this light out to be the best one out there. If itís not, its really close. It has a highly reflective metal backing behind the blubs that increases the intensity of the light. It also comes with many different mounting options to: hang it, have it sit directly over top of the tank, or raised above the tank using the adjustable brackets. Hagen also gives you a free timer with the package.

The only drawbacks are: there is no on/off switch, blubs are not included, and I personally donít like the look of it on my tank. I can put up with that due to the light quality it produces.

I will likely not be getting another one like this is itís a little to expensive for me, but you do get what you pay for.

------------------------------
If you take your time to do the research FIRST, you can successfully set-up and keep ANY type of aquarium with ease.
"Not using a quarantine tank is like playing Russian roulette. Nobody wins the game, some people just get to play longer than others." - Anthony Calfo
Fishless Cycle Cycling with Fish http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aquariumforum/showthread.php?t=76398Ē] Marine Aquarium Info [/URL] [URL="http://saltwater.aquaticcommunity.com/"]
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
bkh99
Junior Member

Registered: January 2010
Posts: 11
Review Date: Mon May 24, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $250.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): high output
Cons: none yet

 
My first experiment in high output bulbs. To start my new 75 gallon I took plant clippings from my 55 (with low output bulbs). the plants look spindly in 55 and the difference with HO light is quite noticeable. Also I have actually seen plants pearling for the first time (the plants do fine under the lower lighting levels of the 55, and they adapt to low light by growing slower and growing more spindly). In the 75 gallon, before I added a vortex C02 reactor, the glass was covered with algae because of the bright bulb, and needed to be cleaned every second day, but the very day I added the vortex reactor the algae was stopped in its tracks. The plants immediately began pearling, and are covered with little bubbles of oxygen (something they did not do without the co2 reactor). So if you are going for HO you need to think about co2. I have also noticed that colorful plants are more colorful under HO lighting, while in the 55 gallon low light setup, the plants are green at the bottom 2/3rds and only colorful at the top 1/3.
I like this experiment in high output lighting, and I especially like the fact that the two bulb setup only uses 108 watts, and produces very little heat (most of the output being in the form of light). A good system.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Goes to 11!

Guitarmageddon!

Registered: September 2010
Location: Lasalle-Peru
Posts: 6195
Review Date: Wed January 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): A bargain is bought used, Solid construction & versitile mounting options
Cons: Can be pricey new

 
I have two of these 4' fixtures but I paid 100$ altogether for them. I have no complaints with how effectively they light the tanks they are on [A 55 & a 90] though as mentioned they are not the most low-profile or attractive lights out there lol. I run them on timers so the lack of on/off is nbd to me.

I would would buy them all day long at the price I paid LOL.

------------------------------
Gas mileage isn't everything OIIIIIIIO
Lack of planning on your part does not constitute an emergency on my part.
Why pretend there are no stupid questions? Actually, There are many stupid questions: "Should I drink this bleach?" Is just one example.
Having said that, Just because it's a stupid question doesn't mean that it shouldn't be asked. It's better to know.

A warm beer is better than a cold beer. Because nothing is better than a cold beer, and a warm beer is better than nothing.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.