Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food












  • Pin It

Poster Info

Senior Member
Posts: 2,708
Registered: December 2007
Location: Michigan

 

Rena Filstar Canister Filter
Reviews Views Date of last review
16 16578 Sat October 27, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $127.25 9.1

 

Description:
Reliable canister filter. Comes in models XP1, XP2, XP3, AND XP4.
Keywords: filstar canister filter

<<
Eheim_Classics.jpg Biowheel.jpg pPETS-3756646t400.jpg FluvalFX5.jpg
>>

 

Author
Halelorf

Senior Member

Registered: December 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2708
Review Date: Mon April 28, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quiet, low cost, large capacity for media, comes with extra plumbing parts
Cons: Can sometimes be a pain to get the siphon primed if you do maintanence.

 
Very affordable and great canister filters. Very quiet and provides great filtration.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Red

Senior Member

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 12427
Review Date: Sun November 16, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very good
Cons:

 
pretty good worth every penny and trustworthy
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
LORENZO

Member

Registered: November 2008
Location: nl canada
Posts: 635
Review Date: Tue December 16, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quiet excellent filtration good media capacity
Cons: self priming about 90% of the time.

 
Not overly expensive. Very quiet and easy to clean! Water flow is superb. IF power outage will start up on its own.

------------------------------
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
smaug

Banned

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 11861
Review Date: Fri October 2, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

 
nothing better.Ive had an xp-2 in cont operation for over 4 yrs now.They aint cheap anymore though.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Lab_Rat

Got fry?

Registered: June 2008
Location: Deep, deep South
Posts: 6882
Review Date: Mon October 26, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet, high turnover, lots of room for media
Cons: XP4 does not prime well (too tall, poor design)

 
Absolutely love the Rena Filstar canisters. I am currently running a XP2 on my 29g, a XP3 on my 55g, and a XP4 on the 75g. Plenty of room for tons of media, I primarily load them full of floss and biomedia. Also have a valve to vary the flow, plus the option of a spray bar or just the nozzle. I modify my spray bars by taking the end cap off. Very easy to prime (except the XP4), would highly recommend (esp the XP3, love it!)

------------------------------
Quote Originally Posted by i_am_511
Lighten up its just the internet its not like someone came in your house and punched a baby in the face.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
debbie51975

Member

Registered: December 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 232
Review Date: Mon December 21, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Had mine 2 years, no major problems. Never shut down.
Cons: Had to replace the rubber seal once.

 
Worth it. Only problem I'm having is, I've had a hard time finding a local store that sells the Rena brand, so I make alot of my own charcoal packs etc, or I get another brand. If I want Rena, I drive about 30 minutes.

------------------------------
Fish Hugger~
It's an addiction...deal with it!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
ILuvMyGoldBarb

Marine Tank Addict

Registered: February 2008
Posts: 10336
Review Date: Tue December 29, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $110.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great capacity for biomedia, quiet
Cons: not much biomedia included

 
Just received my XP3 today and I am quite pleased. Very easy to prime and extremely quiet. I love the versatility of this filter and the numerous options that are included with it. I was quite disappointed with the amount of biomedia that was included. There was a total of maybe 7 of the "stars" in the bag. I loaded all the other chambers with Ehfisubstrat instead. I wouldn't give it a full 10 simply because I have nothing but Eheims to compare it to, and I still find them to be better. But definitely a 9/10.

------------------------------
Considering a Marine Aquarium? A Breakdown of the Components, Live Rock, Cycling a Marine Tank

"The capacity to learn is a gift; The ability to learn is a skill; The WILLINGNESS to learn is a choice." - Unknown
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
dragoonwoman

Rev War History Lady

Registered: September 2009
Location: Colchester, CT
Posts: 770
Review Date: Tue March 9, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy shut off and detach of hoses, large capacity, total flexibility of media used, almost silent operation, simple setup, easy to clean
Cons: none

 
The Rena xp2 is the first large canister filter I've owned, and I would certainly consider buying another of this brand. I agree that the packet of "stars" that comes with it to be a joke, and also the dumb things FLOAT so they tend to go all over when I open the canister for cleaning. I replaced them all with Fluval ceramic bio-rings, which sink and stay where I put them.

Otherwise this is a great filter so far, and has lots of power. Mine has been in operation for about 4 months now (which isn't very long, I agree), but it has proved an excellent filter in that time. The only problems I've had with it were user-induced!!

------------------------------
Dragoon Woman
46 bowfront: Planted, Angelfish, Rasboras, Cories, Tetras, Otos
25g: Planted, cherry shrimp, otos
5g: Planted, Betta
4g: Planted, betta
5 horses, 7 cats, all rescued animals
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Cliff

Moderator

Registered: January 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17736
Review Date: Thu July 29, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Too Many to list
Cons: The hose clamps

 
They have really good flow rate and large media capacity. I really like the spray bar that comes with the filter. The filter is easy to assemble and easy to maintain. Very quite filter as well. I would recommend this filter.

The only thing I did not like about the filter is the hose clamps that come with it, but they did work

------------------------------
If you take your time to do the research FIRST, you can successfully set-up and keep ANY type of aquarium with ease.
"Not using a quarantine tank is like playing Russian roulette. Nobody wins the game, some people just get to play longer than others." - Anthony Calfo
Fishless Cycle Cycling with Fish http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aquariumforum/showthread.php?t=76398”] Marine Aquarium Info [/URL] [URL="http://saltwater.aquaticcommunity.com/"]
This user is online
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
rothenb1

Member

Registered: February 2010
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 699
Review Date: Thu August 12, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to shut off/turn on, loads of room for media
Cons: None as of now

 
I use an XP3 on my 125 gallon. Very quiet and simple filtration system. Was completely seeded within a week on my 90 gal and went through zero mini cycle when hooked up to the 125. I love that you can pull the lever to turn it on and off during water changes, rather than unplug it. I will be adding an XP2 to the 125 as I am quite pleased with the product.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
CassieLEO

Sweet Peas Mommy

Registered: November 2010
Location: MA
Posts: 1861
Review Date: Thu December 2, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Love the filter baskets and how you can customize everything
Cons: The priming took a long time, and for me at least, if its plugged in, and I lift the lever, water pours EVERYWHERE. I lost 5 inches of water out of my 55 gallon tank in a matter of minutes. But, it was user error, just be careful!!!!

 
All in all its a very good filter. My water is crystal clear, with no floaties or anything.

------------------------------

Google is your friend. Use it!!!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Cassandra

Member

Registered: November 2008
Location: Twentynine Palms, California
Posts: 433
Review Date: Tue February 1, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy setup, large media baskets, super quiet
Cons: doesn't come with very much filter media

 
I bought the XP3 for my new 60 gallon tank after many recommendations and positive reviews from people on this website. I have always used HOB filters so I was intimidated about setting up this--my first--canister filter. I dont know what I was so afraid of. I watched (lol!) as my husband who knows nothing about anything aquarium-related set this thing up and it looked so easy. I am very happy with this purchase and although they are kind of expensive, shop around! I found mine for $159 online but didn't want to wait for it to be delivered and Petsmart price-matched for me. I bought this along with the Rena Air 300 pump which I also reviewed. I highly recommend this filter.

------------------------------
You can never have too many wheelbarrows.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
carl87gt

Junior Member

Registered: December 2011
Location: Maryland Heights, MO
Posts: 6
Review Date: Thu January 5, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $150.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet, inexpensive, easy to clean, lots of media options
Cons: Media is expensive

 
I have an XP3 on my 75 gallon and love it. Easy to prime, easy to clean. Media pads are expensive but I often buy the bulk roll and cut my own to save a few bucks. Does a great job keeping the tank clean.

------------------------------
"Hard things take time to do. Impossible things take a little longer" Percy Cerutty
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
bignellm

Senior Member

Registered: July 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2396
Review Date: Sun March 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): No Primer Pump, Easy Set up, Easy Prime, No Mouth Priming
Cons: Blue tint to intake tube

 
So far loving this filter. Quiet, easy, and tons of capacity.

------------------------------
Forum Rules_Pest Snail Eradication_The Fishless Cycle, By Lady Hobbs_Cycling With Fish, By Lady Hobbs_Homemade Hospital Tank_Fish 911
Project “Frankenstein” Hospital Tank

"Knowledge without Wisdom is like wandering through the wilderness without a compass"
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Old Marine

Senior Member

Registered: January 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1868
Review Date: Sun July 1, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $131.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to use, Easy to set up,
Cons: None

 
I have a rena Xp-3 and just love it. I have never had a problem with it yet and it filters my Mbuna tank Great!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.