Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food












  • Pin It

Poster Info

Senior Member
Posts: 2,708
Registered: December 2007
Location: Michigan

 

AquaClear Powerhead
Reviews Views Date of last review
9 3780 Mon July 28, 2014
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 6.4

 

Description:
Aquarium powerhead/pump used to increase flow. Comes in models 20, 30, 50, 70, and 110.
Keywords: powerhead pump water mover

<<

 

Author
Halelorf

Senior Member

Registered: December 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2708
Review Date: Mon April 28, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cheap, reliable, reverse flow.
Cons: bulky, can produce extra heat in the tank

 
Very good powerhead. I use a Aquaclear 70 model to mix water for my saltwater reef tank. A Hydor Koralia is a better choice however these are still good powerheads. The reverse flow feature is a very nice plus.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
NickFish

Saltwater Mafia

Registered: December 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3905
Review Date: Wed April 30, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): cheap, versatile
Cons: too much heat, especially from larger models

 
Not the best powerhead, but not junk either.

The larger models produce to much heat to be used safely I think, but some of the small models are ok, especially on a budget. Also, pretty large for it's flow rate.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
wbzorker

Member

Registered: March 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 66
Review Date: Fri May 2, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to clean media and filter, lots of space in box
Cons: None noticed

 
Easy to install, clean and maintain. Lots of room for extra media like polishing floss or ph buffering agents like peat or crushed coral. Simple to use and I would suggest this filter for any newbie. I like to have 3 to 4 times the suggested filtration for my tanks and the AQ filter box sizes and shapes allow me to do that easily.

------------------------------
Wendy :-)

This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
ILuvMyGoldBarb

Marine Tank Addict

Registered: February 2008
Posts: 10336
Review Date: Wed November 5, 2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Moves a lot of water
Cons: poorly designed intake strainer, poorly designed impeller shaft.

 
The design of the intake strainer on this absolutely terrible. If you use this powerhead in a tank without the prefilter attachment installed you run a very high risk of loosing livestock. The impeller design is not very good either. There is a plastic piece that acts as a cog to keep the magnetic drum and the blades spinning together, this cog wears out before the rest of the impeller does and makes the powerhead very noisey. I use it in my mixing/top-off tank as that is the only safe place for it. Big thumbs down for this Hagen product.

------------------------------
Considering a Marine Aquarium? A Breakdown of the Components, Live Rock, Cycling a Marine Tank

"The capacity to learn is a gift; The ability to learn is a skill; The WILLINGNESS to learn is a choice." - Unknown
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
gm72

Honored

Registered: March 2007
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 10933
Review Date: Fri December 26, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Low noise, good flow
Cons: None yet

 
I am using the AC70 powerhead with the quickfilter attachment for added mechanical filtration in my 220 gallon freshwater tank. Dead quiet. Great flow. Good options to turn down the flow and to even reverse the flow if needed. It is a little larger than the competition but in my application that hardly matters. The quickfilter attachment will be reviewed separately.

------------------------------
8 tanks running now:
1x 220 gallon, 2x55 gallon, 1x40 gallon long, 1x29 gallon, 1x20 gallon long, 1x5.5 gallon, 1x2 gallon
Gouramis, barbs, rasboras, plecos, corys, tetras, fancy guppies, swordtails, ottos, rainbow shark, upside-down catfish, snails, and Max and Sparkles the bettas.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
JasonJ514
Junior Member

Registered: March 2010
Posts: 2
Review Date: Tue March 30, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quiet, easy to set up, easy to clean, lots of room for extra media packs
Cons: lets some water by without being filtered on full flow if the tray is not installed perfectly

 
I have an aquaclear 50 on my 29 gallon swordtail tank, it keeps the water fairly clear with minimal noise and current output. The flow features are cool, but I hardly notice a difference between full flow and minimal flow. Still not bad for the price, but I will be researching other brands.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
CassieLEO

Sweet Peas Mommy

Registered: November 2010
Location: MA
Posts: 1861
Review Date: Wed January 19, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Is good while working
Cons: Not so good when it breaks after 2 weeks!!!

 
Ive had two of these and two of them have broken in a matter of weeks. I lose impeller blades, and sometimes the just stop. They also clog very easy!

------------------------------

Google is your friend. Use it!!!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
ridgenesss

Member

Registered: March 2012
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL
Posts: 338
Review Date: Tue March 27, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Average pricing, dependable brand
Cons: bulky, access heat, flimsy brackets

 
These aquaclear model powerheads are pretty good for entry level setups. Larger models can cause excess heat. They do pump out a decent amount of flow but it doesn't take much to clog the impeller, especially in planted tanks. The venturi is pretty adjustable and comes in handy. They are a bit bulky but i would recommend then for low tech tanks that need added flow and added oxygen.

------------------------------
40 Gallon Breeder Planted: harlequin rasbora rummynose tetra corydoras cherry barbs

40 Gallon Breeder Reef: In progress!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Compass

Keeper of the Crypts

Registered: November 2012
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 3911
Review Date: Mon July 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Versatile and moves a lot of water
Cons: Flimsy HOB equipment. Minimal adjust-ability.

 
I run two AC50s in my river tank using a manifold system. They work very well to push a lot of water. Because this tank is cold water in a cool area of the house, any heat put off by the pumps is nominal. The attachment to hang this powerhead off the side of the tank is very flimsy and probably only usable if attached to a UGF to prop it up. Advertised as adjustable flow rate. Really it only has two settings. High and not so high.

------------------------------
Increasing your biodiversity increases your stability.

You know what this tank needs? ........................ Crypts.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.