Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food



21J7h7I-VGL_SL500_AA200_.jpg









  • Pin It

Poster Info

guru at being an expert
Posts: 6,156
Registered: May 2006
Location: SoCal

 

Kordon Amquel
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 15101 Mon December 31, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $4.35 8.6

 

Description:
Kordon's Amquel instantly makes water safe for fish and invertebrates by instantly removing chlorine, chloramine, and ammonia. Will not harm plants or change pH levels.
Keywords: kordon amqel water conditioner

<<
stability.jpg tetra-easy-balance.jpg 21J7h7I-VGL_SL500_AA200_.jpg 41wgv7rldxL_SL500_AA280_.jpg Prime.jpg
>>

 

Author
Incredulous_Ed

guru at being an expert

Registered: May 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 6156
Review Date: Mon April 28, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2.70 | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): works super well
Cons: pricey

 
Work great. I use it to acclimate my fish by adding Amquel to the bag and then to the tank then releasing the fish right away. Works great everytime.

------------------------------
CORRECTED video of my fish. This link works. For sure. Really.

Tanks:
20g long: 4 panda cories, 1 honey gourami, 1 apistogramma borellii, 1 male cacatuoides
20g High: 3 bolivian rams, 12 rasboras
8g hex: empty
5g: empty
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Fraoch

Senior Member

Registered: February 2009
Location: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 844
Review Date: Tue March 17, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Works well
Cons: Lowers oxygen level, be sure to aerate

 
It works as advertised. In fact I saw stressed fish perk up as soon as it hit the water.

The bottle directions indicate that it will drop oxygen levels "for a few hours in marginal tanks" so make sure to aerate.

Also as indicated on the bottle it will not work with Nessler-based ammonia test kits like that from Hagen. You need to use a salicylate-based ammonia test kit like that from API.

Of course it doesn't replace water changes. Once it "sequesters" the ammonia, nitrite and nitrate, it gets used up and any new ammonia, nitrite or nitrate becomes toxic. And your test kits won't be able to tell you the difference between the de-toxified chemicals and the toxic ones...

It is advertised that it will not affect the bacterial cycle - the converted toxins can still be used by the bacteria. This seemed to be the case for me.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Shaunjr_89

Member

Registered: May 2010
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 93
Review Date: Thu June 17, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $5.99 | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Worked after a close tank crash.
Cons: Price.

 
Went on vacation and my mother over fed my fish and filled the tank with out dechlorinator, used this and only lost one fish.

------------------------------
Shaunjr_89
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
funkman262

Senior Member

Registered: July 2010
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 1136
Review Date: Thu November 11, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Works great
Cons: None

 
I bought a gallon of this a year ago for a pretty good price and I use it whenever running into a mini cycle, when adding additional fish, whenever setting up a new tank or whenever I happen to have any ammonia for some odd reason. I know I can count on this product to save my tank when I need it.

------------------------------
funkman262's 90g Planted Tank Journal
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Goes to 11!

Guitarmageddon!

Registered: September 2010
Location: Lasalle-Peru
Posts: 6195
Review Date: Mon December 31, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): It's effective
Cons: Less economical than Prime

 
It does what it says it does but I switched to Prime because it goes much much farther.

------------------------------
Gas mileage isn't everything OIIIIIIIO
Lack of planning on your part does not constitute an emergency on my part.
Why pretend there are no stupid questions? Actually, There are many stupid questions: "Should I drink this bleach?" Is just one example.
Having said that, Just because it's a stupid question doesn't mean that it shouldn't be asked. It's better to know.

A warm beer is better than a cold beer. Because nothing is better than a cold beer, and a warm beer is better than nothing.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.