Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food












  • Pin It

Poster Info

Memento vivere...
Posts: 3,202
Registered: October 2009
Location: Longmont, Co

 

ViaAqua 300W Titanium tube heater
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 9463 Tue November 30, 2010
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $33.50 9.0

 

Description:
Reliable titanium heaters rated for use in freshwater or saltwater aquariums. ViaAqua Titanium Heaters incorporate the best technology and electrical components to ensure safe and reliable use. The heating element is manufactured of pure titanium that will not crack like conventional glass heaters. Electronic remote thermostat allows convenient and easy temperature adjustments without getting your hands wet. Temperature-sensing probe monitors aquarium water for consistent aquarium temperatures. ViaAqua Titanium Tube Heaters have a temperature range between 69F and 93F and include suction cups and a mounting clip for convenient installation.
Keywords: Heater titanium shatterproof

<<
p-73758-55545-fish-supply.jpg p-12016-42146-fish-food1.jpg

 

Author
Scrup

Memento vivere...

Registered: October 2009
Location: Longmont, Co
Posts: 3202
Review Date: Fri January 22, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $35.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): great heating, wont shatter, temp control is accurate
Cons: none

 
One 300W heater keeps my 225G at a constant 79F. Has a sensor probe that can be placed away from the heater, helping to make sure the temp is even around the tank, and not just around the heater. the titanium heats up all over, not just the bottom, so it is actually not too hot to touch, even while running (still pretty hot, but not scalding), and best of all, being solid titanium, it wont shatter. The temp monitor is always spot on with what I set it to, never any difference between what the heater is set to and the thermometer.

------------------------------
Who is "General Failure" and why is he reading my hard drive?
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Cermet

Banned

Registered: May 2010
Location: Glen Arm. MD
Posts: 2635
Review Date: Sun May 2, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $32.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very easy to adjust
Cons: Bare metal heater

 
I owned the steel ones and really liked them but owning older Discus (use salt) was a diaster - the steel rotted away.

When they came out with Ti, I ordered seven units (300 watts each.) I really like the remote temp sensor that that allows better temp control. The tank wiring to the unit is very heavy and will last. The control box hangs well outside the tank and can be wall mounted - very nice. All in a unit that costs no more than the dangerous glass heaters that can never be set without removing.

Again, owning Discus, it is criticasl that any heater unit can get above 90 (treatment for sick fish) and these can. If the heater case had a cover, this would be a +10.


------------------------------
Knowledge is fun(damental)

A 75 gal with eight Discus, fake plants, and a lot of wood also with sand substrate. Clean up crew is down to just two Sterba's Corys. Filters: continuous new water flow; canister w/UV, in-tank algae scrubber!! Finally, junked the nitrate removal unit from hell.

For Fishless cycling:http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aqua...ead.php?t=5640
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Cliff

Moderator

Registered: January 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17882
Review Date: Sun November 21, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): external controler and senser
Cons: short power cord

 
Started using two 300w models this weekend. I love the sperate controller ans senser. Also, these tow heaters keep a very contant temp in my 130 gallon saltwater set-up

------------------------------
If you take your time to do the research FIRST, you can successfully set-up and keep ANY type of aquarium with ease.
"Not using a quarantine tank is like playing Russian roulette. Nobody wins the game, some people just get to play longer than others." - Anthony Calfo
Fishless Cycle Cycling with Fish http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aquariumforum/showthread.php?t=76398] Marine Aquarium Info [/URL] [URL="http://saltwater.aquaticcommunity.com/"]
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
lobsternoob

Pro Rambler

Registered: January 2009
Posts: 1723
Review Date: Tue November 30, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great temp control reliable, nice all around system
Cons: SS ones can be a little gaudy, a bit bulky

 
I own mainly the stainless steel models, but I have 2 titaniums also. Very nice heaters IME reliable, accurate, and all around well made. I love the thermostat sensors. These are really nice heaters. The one flaw is that one out of every few is not calibrated quite right and the temp setting on the dial doesn't match the actual temp it heats too. If you rely on the number on the heater dial tho IMO you have to be a bit dumb or something. Using a thermometer isn't that hard, just place the thermometer next to the thermostat sensor and figure out your setting that way. I own at least 12 of these heaters in varying wattages and both SS and titanium and have yet to have a problem with any single one other than what I mentioned above. The stainless ones could also make great weapons if someone breaks into your home while you are doing a WC. LOL.

------------------------------
No matter how much I learn or know I'm still gonna be a NOOB, but that doesn't mean I'm an idiot!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.