Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food












  • Pin It

Poster Info

Member
Posts: 109
Registered: December 2009
Location: British Columbia

 

Hikari Betta Bio-Gold
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 5867 Sat February 5, 2011
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 5.0

 

Description:
Betta Bio-Gold has been developed after considerable research into the nutritional requirements of bettas. A formulation utilizing Bio-Technology promotes excellent coloration while meeting 100% of their nutritional needs. Don't be fooled by freeze dried foods with a betta label, give your bettas food made especially for them, Betta Bio-Gold!

Floating Pellet:
- Allows easy monitoring of amount eaten
- Helps eliminate over-feeding
- Reduces water quality problems
- More economical
- Will not cloud the water

Expect Natural, Brilliant Colors
- Rich in natural color enhancers
- Reduces color fading
- Bio-Technology provides superior color enhancement

Contains Stabilized Vitamin C
- Promotes resistance to stress
- Promotes resistance to infectious disease
- Promotes a long, healthy life

Ingredients: Fish meal, wheat flour, soybean meal, gluten meal, krill meal, wheat-germ meal, cuttle fish oil, astaxanthin, brewers dried yeast, enzyme, garlic, monosodium glutamate, vitamins and minerals including stabilized vitamin C.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein: 38% min.
Crude Fat: 4% min.
Crude Fiber: 3% max.
Moisture: 10% max.
Phosphorus: 0.7% min.
Crude Ash: 12% max.

(Source: www.HikariUSA.com)
Keywords: Betta Bio-Gold

<<
p-73758-55545-fish-supply.jpg p-12016-42146-fish-food1.jpg

 

Author
CherrySparkles

Member

Registered: December 2009
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 109
Review Date: Wed January 6, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Portioned, betta seems to like it, contains vitamins
Cons: Contains filler, contains MSG, causes constipation,

 
I had fed my betta this food for a few months, but when I read the ingredient label and saw that MSG was added to these pellets, I was horrified. MSG has no nutritional value whatsoever and is added to human foods simply to enhance flavour, normally in foods that are not good for you. Beyond that, you can Google "MSG" to find out the other negative effects it can have.

These pellets also contain a lot of filler, with the second ingredient in them even being whole wheat flour. Betta are strict carnivores in the wild, eating insects and zooplankton. Where they could naturally encounter bread is just beyond me, and whole wheat flour has no place in their diet.

As these pellets are dry (10% moisture max) they need to be soaked in tank water for 5 to 10 minutes before feeding to bettas in order to prevent them from swelling once ingested by the betta. Note the size of the pellet before and after soaking - they swell a huge amount, at least doubling in size, from what I can see. Having this happen inside the fish is not good for them at all, and can easily cause constipation in a fish that is already prone to it. It should be noted that this same problem will be encountered with freeze dried foods, which also need to be rehydrated prior to feeding.

As a final note, of the pellets that are available, these are among the best, but they are still lacking a lot in terms of optimum nutrition for bettas. Since researching what goes into pellet food, I've been feeding my betta a variety of frozen foods, alternating between 5 different kinds. It's your choice to make, but I was incredibly disturbed when I looked into the ingredients of pellets.

------------------------------
"We weep for a bird's cry, but not for a fish's blood. Blessed are those with a voice." - Mamoru Oshii
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Shaunjr_89

Member

Registered: May 2010
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 93
Review Date: Thu May 20, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price.
Cons: My Wifes Betta's color kinda faded.

 
Wife's Betta's colors didnt last so would not recommend.

------------------------------
Shaunjr_89
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
leggomypleco

Flowerhorn Guru

Registered: December 2008
Location: Indy
Posts: 1682
Review Date: Mon September 20, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): bettas love it
Cons: fouls water easy

 
I have a picky fish and this is the only food she will accept it provides intense color to the fish.

------------------------------
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
CassieLEO

Sweet Peas Mommy

Registered: November 2010
Location: MA
Posts: 1861
Review Date: Sat February 5, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Its a Hikari brand which is good
Cons: My oscar doesnt like them

 
These pellets seem good for their price, but if you look at the ingredients, theres a lot of chemical names in it. My fish doesnt like them one bit.

------------------------------

Google is your friend. Use it!!!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.