Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food



31IjQ1VfpKL_SL500_AA200_.jpg









  • Pin It

Poster Info

guru at being an expert
Posts: 6,156
Registered: May 2006
Location: SoCal

 

Tetra TetraMin Flakes
Reviews Views Date of last review
17 10071 Thu July 12, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $6.90 4.1

 

Description:
This is a completely nutritious flake food for all common tropical fish. Each flake is firm and fully digestible which greatly reduces uneaten food, tank waste and increase filtering capacity, contains essential nutrients and added vitamin C which provides optimal care and help promote energetic fish and long life. Does not cloud water.
Keywords: tetra teramin flake fish food cloud

<<
NLSflakefood.jpg nutrafin.jpg 31IjQ1VfpKL_SL500_AA200_.jpg Omegaone.jpg

 

Author
Incredulous_Ed

guru at being an expert

Registered: May 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 6156
Review Date: Mon April 28, 2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $3.79 | Rating: 5 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price is low
Cons: mid quality food

 
It's okay. I fed it for a few years and dont like it so much. It doesnt cloud the water but the flakes go flying everywhere and the fish dont like them so much. I cant reccommend it because I know there are better foods.

------------------------------
CORRECTED video of my fish. This link works. For sure. Really.

Tanks:
20g long: 4 panda cories, 1 honey gourami, 1 apistogramma borellii, 1 male cacatuoides
20g High: 3 bolivian rams, 12 rasboras
8g hex: empty
5g: empty
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
angelcakes

frog freak

Registered: January 2008
Location: crewe,cheshire,uk
Posts: 6193
Review Date: Tue April 29, 2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): price
Cons: to fast at sinking

 
i found the same problem as ed fish dont tend to like this food as they sink fast and the fish have to chase them,no good for top tank dwellers,i agree would not recommend,which is hard to believe with tetra products as they are normally good,

------------------------------
angelcakes (penny)
"The big fish eats the small one."
-- Sephardic saying

chat link
http://theaquaticlounge.chatango.com/
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
MeganL3985

#1 Steelers Fan!

Registered: June 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4404
Review Date: Wed May 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cheaply Priced
Cons: You Get What You Pay For

 
Its okay if you have nothing else or in a pinch, but I recommend something of better quality. My fish didn't seem to really like it too much, it sinks as soon as it hits the water and stinks.

------------------------------
*Keep Smiling, It Makes People Wonder What Your Up To*

Tanks-
55 Gallon--On Hold, In Storage...
20 Gallon High--Tetra and Cory's
5 Gallon Hex--Guppies (3 Female, 2 Male)
2.5 Gallon Mini Bow--Future ADF Habitat
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Red

Senior Member

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 12427
Review Date: Sun November 16, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Its ok and cheap
Cons: Not the best for fish

 
Its ok, not the best but its a decent..
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
gm72

Honored

Registered: March 2007
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 10933
Review Date: Fri December 26, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price
Cons: Nutrition

 
No, just no. The ingredients list is not at all good, not what you want to feed your fish. There are far better options out there. Please consider spending just a few extra cents and get something that will actually give your fish the nutrition they need and deserve.

------------------------------
8 tanks running now:
1x 220 gallon, 2x55 gallon, 1x40 gallon long, 1x29 gallon, 1x20 gallon long, 1x5.5 gallon, 1x2 gallon
Gouramis, barbs, rasboras, plecos, corys, tetras, fancy guppies, swordtails, ottos, rainbow shark, upside-down catfish, snails, and Max and Sparkles the bettas.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
cer

no longer keeping fish

Registered: October 2008
Posts: 1770
Review Date: Sat January 3, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): The fish eat it.
Cons: There is better stuff for the fish.

 
I do not use it much. My fish do not eat it as much as the omega stuff.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
sandy_n

sandy

Registered: March 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 3161
Review Date: Wed January 28, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cheap
Cons: Nutritional value

 
Little nutritional value. Sinks quickly. Fish weren't that interested in it.

------------------------------
You can't play nice with people who don't play by the rules!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Kaz

Resident crazy

Registered: March 2009
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 1483
Review Date: Sat May 30, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cheap; large size; fish eat it
Cons: Cheap; sink ; fish eat it... sometimes

 
You get it for fairly cheap, but it is also fairly cheap In quality

My fish won't eat it unles I crush it up and it goes all over the tank because it gets caught in the filter current.

I notice my fish are rather... unintrested in eating it this leads to it getting caught in the filter flow.

------------------------------
SIX OR MORE MAN TO THE RESCUE!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
DrNic

Scientist

Registered: September 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3100
Review Date: Sun May 31, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cheap
Cons: You get what you pay for

 
A cheap bulk food. Mid to low quality. You pretty much get what you pay for.

------------------------------
75G Coldwater Setup (May 2011)
Angelfish Fry Development Project

This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
smaug

Banned

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 11861
Review Date: Fri October 2, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): messy
Cons:

 
Its messy,feeding time looks like a dandruff parade when the flakes are hit.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Lab_Rat

Got fry?

Registered: June 2008
Location: Deep, deep South
Posts: 6882
Review Date: Mon October 26, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): cheap
Cons: low/medium quality

 
Not a great food, but people still buy it. It is very cheap, but the fish don't have great coloration with it. One of the crappier foods I tried in my early days of fishkeeping

------------------------------
Quote Originally Posted by i_am_511
Lighten up its just the internet its not like someone came in your house and punched a baby in the face.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Scrup

Memento vivere...

Registered: October 2009
Location: Longmont, Co
Posts: 3202
Review Date: Mon January 25, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $10.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): feeds the fish just fine
Cons:

 
Nothing stellar, the fish eat it, they just don't go crazy for it. Has a balanced nutrition, though there are better foods on the market. Makes a good cheap staple.

------------------------------
Who is "General Failure" and why is he reading my hard drive?
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
xasuma

Member

Registered: January 2010
Location: Wisconsin, Chile
Posts: 524
Review Date: Fri February 19, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): You can find it anywhere!
Cons: Fish dont really eat it

 
I have this food and my fish eat some, and then they just spill it out .
After that it just seats on the gravel and its pretty messy,
I cant say i like it, cuz my fish dont so i had a bad experience with it.
I thoguht cuz it is a tetra product would be better and bought a big jar, but it i ended uyp buying different food..

------------------------------
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Shaunjr_89

Member

Registered: May 2010
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 93
Review Date: Thu May 20, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fish like them. cheap.
Cons: Sink to fast.

 
My Fish eat them. They are cheap. They sink fast though which sucks for my top feeders overall better than nothing.

------------------------------
Shaunjr_89
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Cassandra

Member

Registered: November 2008
Location: Twentynine Palms, California
Posts: 433
Review Date: Tue February 1, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): cheap
Cons: sinks fast, fish spit it out

 
This stuff sinks way too fast and ends up littering the bottom of the tank. Fish will eat it if they are very hungry, but most of the time they just spit it out and swarm to the algae wafers and blood worms. You get what you pay for with this stuff.

------------------------------
You can never have too many wheelbarrows.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.