Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food



047431901346B_1_.jpg









  • Pin It

Poster Info

Banned
Posts: 11,861
Registered: October 2007

 

marineland hot magnum
Reviews Views Date of last review
7 10775 Wed October 23, 2013
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $45.00 6.3

 

Description:
"Sleek and silent as a jungle cat, the HOT Magnum is a compact canister filter of ferocious efficiency and sheer performance power. It's lightweight enough to hang directly on the back of your aquarium, yet it does the heavy work of two complete filtration systems. And it's simple to set up, easy to maintain, and readily portable. The HOT Magnum is actually two filters in one--perfect for everyday mechanical/chemical filtration and quick-clean water polishing. Its powerful self-starting pump silently directs a certified 250 gallons per hour through the advanced dual-flow core and sealed media--delivering total contact, total filtration, without bypass. HOT Magnum installs in minutes--a feature which makes it ideal for multiple aquarium water polishing. Snap lock, leak-proof connectors eliminate the need for hoses and tubes. HOT Mangums U/L listed synchronous motor and epoxy-encapsulated electrical components are your assurance of safe operation. Superior design and highest quality materials ensure unit strength, silent durability and trouble-free performance."
Keywords: canister hob

<<
p-73758-55545-fish-supply.jpg p-12016-42146-fish-food1.jpg

 

Author
smaug

Banned

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 11861
Review Date: Sat October 3, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $50.00 | Rating: 4 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): It works great as a pollisher
Cons: noisy,too big for a hob.

 
Quiet as a cat!?What?This things is very noisy.It did work great as an occasional water pollisher if I used the paper pleated filter cart.The basket also contains lots of room for carbon to use for med removal.No way would I want one of these in constant use.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
dragoonwoman

Rev War History Lady

Registered: September 2009
Location: Colchester, CT
Posts: 770
Review Date: Fri October 16, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Powerful, solid construction
Cons: Noisy at times, inside basket hard to re-assemble

 
I've had this filter for 7 months. For the most part it does its job, and does it well. It has become noisy on occasion, mostly from trapped air. Turning the unit off then back on will sometimes clear the air out, sometimes I need to take the cover off and shake the media container inside.

I don't like the inside basket, as it is very difficult for me to get it back together again after cleaning. That is the biggest fault I have with this unit.

It is very powerful, and the output can blow the fish around in the tank unless you point the output diffuser toward the tank wall. I put a DIY spray bar on it which helped a lot.

------------------------------
Dragoon Woman
46 bowfront: Planted, Angelfish, Rasboras, Cories, Tetras, Otos
25g: Planted, cherry shrimp, otos
5g: Planted, Betta
4g: Planted, betta
5 horses, 7 cats, all rescued animals
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
paulmac
Junior Member

Registered: January 2010
Posts: 5
Review Date: Tue February 23, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet, powerful, water flow control
Cons: Hard to clean

 
Pros - powerful, quiet, adjustable water return in both direction and volume.

Cons - as with any other canister filter a little difficult to change media.

Overall this has been agreat filter, and probably over kill for my 27gallon hex. Changing the filter as is somewhat a pain, but due to the volume it holds not something you need to do often.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
jimw/oscar

Member

Registered: March 2010
Location: Ames Iowa U.S.A.
Posts: 363
Review Date: Sun April 4, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): moves a lot of water through my media
Cons: it is a tad difficult to clean but not the worst I've seen.

 
I used to keep carbon in it back when I used to use it but now I just have bio-media in it and I put a pre-filter sponge over the intake.

I don't think it's too loud.

------------------------------
"In order to punish me for my contempt of authority the authorities have made me an authority myself" - Albert Einstein.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
fishguy66

Member

Registered: March 2011
Posts: 246
Review Date: Wed March 16, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Can be used w/different types of media;good flow rate
Cons: Difficult to fill up basket w/ carbon

 
I have had a HOT magnum as my carbon filter on my 180 for about 10 years; the only small compliant I have is that it is difficult(& messy) when you put fresh carbon into the basket. I do find it to be a reliable filter & the only canister I will use.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
musket3
Junior Member

Registered: January 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 2
Review Date: Sat March 17, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): filters water
Cons: takes up too much space, hard to clean- too many parts

 
Started to get noisy, too many parts to assemble. Aquaclear and Eheim are much better.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
DKRST

Banned

Registered: October 2013
Location: Moore, SC
Posts: 61
Review Date: Wed October 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $40.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy service, great flow rate, compact, quiet
Cons: Gravel washing "pro" feature not great, short intake tube

 
Bought this as a discontinued item and love it! I have the "pro" model with bio wheel and gravel washing adapter. Not too much suction on the gravel washing (connector restricts the intake opening too much). Love the ability to add biomedia or us the micron filter. Excellent flow rate and a great filter to add onto any tank as an additional filter system. Only complaint is the intake tube is fairly short and not optimal for deeper tanks. Does tend to add small air bubbles to the tank water due to the biowheel and other outflow being so vigorous, but it certainly oxygenates the tank! Super quiet.

------------------------------
David
Tanks: too darn many, but almost enough....
8 species of fish, 27 species/varieties of plants. I think the plants are winning
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.