Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food












  • Pin It

Poster Info

guru at being an expert
Posts: 6,156
Registered: May 2006
Location: SoCal

 

Tetra Whisper Power Filters
Reviews Views Date of last review
15 17101 Mon August 8, 2011
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $16.66 5.2

 

Description:
Tetras Whisper power filters provide mechanical, biological, and chemical filtration and a small cost. Available in sizes for tanks up to 60 gallons.
Keywords: tetra whisper power filter external hang on back

<<
Biowheel.jpg pPETS-3756646t400.jpg FluvalFX5.jpg hagenaquaclear70.jpg
>>

 

Author
Incredulous_Ed

guru at being an expert

Registered: May 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 6156
Review Date: Mon April 28, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $9.99 | Rating: 6 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): inexpensive, work okay
Cons: sometimes dont work okay

 
They are pretty good. The only model I reccommend is the whisper 5-15 filter. Its great for smaller tanks. Al the other ones suck.

------------------------------
CORRECTED video of my fish. This link works. For sure. Really.

Tanks:
20g long: 4 panda cories, 1 honey gourami, 1 apistogramma borellii, 1 male cacatuoides
20g High: 3 bolivian rams, 12 rasboras
8g hex: empty
5g: empty
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
AABatteries

AC Editor

Registered: December 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3029
Review Date: Wed November 5, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $15.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cheap
Cons: Somewhat noisy

 
Do do well for the low cost, if you can afford to get an AC then get it. I got a Whisper 30 for $8.14 and 2 Whisper 60s for like $15 each, but they were on sale. Normally a Whisper 60 is like $40 or $45. The 30 is normally like $20-25.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Cameron

Saltwater Wanna-be

Registered: July 2007
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 623
Review Date: Wed November 5, 2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cheap, come with some tank kits
Cons: Bigger than AquaClear's, mine became noisy in time. Media order is wrong..

 
I got a Whisper 30 with my 29g tank, and it does ok alone. Mine got pretty noisy, cleaning the impeller helps, but it gets loud fairly quickly. The media, IMO is not right.. It has this finer filter bag w/ carbon or whatever in it, than a courser sponge. So all the thicker gunk gets stuck on the fine bag, and the sponge gets almost nothing on it. Mine is so filled with gunk, even after i scrub it in tank water it sometimes overflows over where the intake is, into the tank.

------------------------------
In my 29 gal:
4 serpae tetras
1 Flame tetras
1 Zebra Danio
1 German Blue Ram

In my 55 gal:
Trigun's 55g Tropical Community!
6 Glo-lite Tetras
4 Emerald Corys
1 Dwarf Gourami
4 Peppered Corys
25 Neon Tetras
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
gourami*girl

Member

Registered: August 2008
Location: Dela-where?
Posts: 399
Review Date: Wed November 12, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $25.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very inexpensive, no problems as of yet
Cons: not much room for extra filter media

 
So far, I have not had problems with mine. I got a Whisper 30 for my 20 gallon tank. It was cheap and so far has been reliable. The only gripe I have had is that there is not much room for extra filter media or other additions (I added peat moss in a mesh bag, but there isn't much room in there.)

------------------------------
20 gallon tank - harlequin rasboras, rummynose tetras, panda corys, one lone pygmy cory that didn't die when the others did.

10 gallon tank - planned planted with tetras and red cherry shrimp?
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Red

Senior Member

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 12427
Review Date: Sun November 16, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): good for small filter
Cons: not good for big

 
the small filters are good big filters are scarey
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Wild Turkey

Forum Flunkie

Registered: March 2008
Location: Annapolis Maryland
Posts: 11464
Review Date: Fri December 5, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cheap, effective, low flow, low noise
Cons: You get what you pay for.

 
I use these purposely on my "long" variety of tanks, due to the low flow rate and cheap cost, as opposed to using one AquaClear or other higher end HOB filter. They are good for the price and get the job done, though if you are looking to max out your filtered GPH, look somewhere else.

------------------------------

This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Corndawg

A.K.A. DJCorndawg

Registered: November 2008
Location: Springfield, Mo
Posts: 329
Review Date: Tue December 9, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cheap, quiet, low flow
Cons: No extra media room

 
I own both a 1-3gal internal, and a 10gal internal. Never had a problem with either one. The 1-3 is perfect for my betta, who dosent like much flow. No problems with either one yet

------------------------------

29gal : 2 Shubunkins
10gal : "Blood" the Betta
10gal : "?????" the Betta
Join The Chatroom!
http://theaquaticlounge.chatango.com

This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Jacko

Party in the USA

Registered: May 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1251
Review Date: Sun December 14, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cheap, easy to clean
Cons: noisy, doesn't get along with sand

 
A pretty good filter, got it with a tank kit. It worked great when I had my larger grade sand but when I switched to super fine silica sand it started wearing down alot faster. Easy to clean and the top makes a perfect place to put my airpump, it won't fit on any of the AC filters I've tried.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
ILuvMyGoldBarb

Marine Tank Addict

Registered: February 2008
Posts: 10336
Review Date: Sat December 27, 2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Moves water. :)
Cons: not reliable

 
Definitely not my favorite filter on the market. It works for moving water but it will not last. I have one of these on my 10gal tank and it has been running for 4 years but only with some help. It needs to be replaced very soon. Save your money and spend the extra for an Aquaclear.

------------------------------
Considering a Marine Aquarium? A Breakdown of the Components, Live Rock, Cycling a Marine Tank

"The capacity to learn is a gift; The ability to learn is a skill; The WILLINGNESS to learn is a choice." - Unknown
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Jeffbdd

Member

Registered: January 2009
Location: omaha
Posts: 53
Review Date: Wed January 21, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

 
I run 2 whisper 60 on my 55, work great with a full tank of fish. Water conditions keep perfect.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Kyle

Senior Member

Registered: May 2008
Location: Ontario, OH
Posts: 834
Review Date: Thu April 2, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet, Easy Filters,
Cons: None At The Moment

 
I bought one of these for my 10g and it has worked great, it is super quiet. I cant even hear it when I'm sitting right next to it. Filters are easy to take out and replace carbon if needed. Flow seems good.

------------------------------
55 Gallon Freshwater
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Shotgun

Member

Registered: July 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 48
Review Date: Thu July 30, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): It's cheap
Cons: Definitely not the best filter out there.

 
I use two 30-60 Whisper in my 63 gallon. They work okay, intake is very poor. IMO Whisper ranks higher than what it should be, my 30-60 should be ranked for 10-30, thats the main reason I have two in my aquarium.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
DewDropPony

Junior Member

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 15
Review Date: Wed March 10, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

 
I've use these filter for years. They break down if you use small grain sand, along with every other PF on the market. What ever size they say the tank should run on, I take off half. If it says it can be placed on a 10gal, I use it for a 5gal or 2.5gal. I LOVE using these filters on my 2.5 gallons. Perfect fit!

Great deal for the average fish buyer, but remember to take off half the gallons the box says it can run on.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
CassieLEO

Sweet Peas Mommy

Registered: November 2010
Location: MA
Posts: 1861
Review Date: Sat February 5, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cheap
Cons: Cheap

 
Everything about this is CHEAP. Not worth what little you pay!

------------------------------

Google is your friend. Use it!!!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
bignellm

Senior Member

Registered: July 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2396
Review Date: Mon August 8, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cheap, Good Mechanical Filter.
Cons: Lack of Bio filter, Lack of decent chemical filtration.

 
I've inherited 2 of these with second hand tanks. 1 Tetra PF10 and a Tetra Second Nature Whisper 2. Of these two the older one works better. The cheap filter replacements tend to bend and lose shape as they age, falling out of slot, and blocking lots of water circulation.

I've replaced both units with 1 AC20 and 1 Fluval C3. Both of these are light years better in filtration and use.

------------------------------
Forum Rules_Pest Snail Eradication_The Fishless Cycle, By Lady Hobbs_Cycling With Fish, By Lady Hobbs_Homemade Hospital Tank_Fish 911
Project “Frankenstein” Hospital Tank

"Knowledge without Wisdom is like wandering through the wilderness without a compass"
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.