Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food












  • Pin It

Poster Info

Senior Member
Posts: 844
Registered: February 2009
Location: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

 

Top Fin Power Filter 10
Reviews Views Date of last review
3 3821 Wed May 20, 2009
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 8.0

 

Description:
A quality power filter is vital to the health of your fish and the appearance of your aquarium. You can count on these Top Fin Power Filters to deliver the balanced mechanical, chemical and biological filtration that will help keep your aquarium clean and beautiful. Designed for maximum efficiency, they're easy to clean and maintain and offer effortless cartridge changes (cartridges sold separately).
Keywords: HOB filter

<<
047431901346B_1_.jpg P50775_1_.jpg filter1.gif Pro_II.jpg
>>

 

Author
Fraoch

Senior Member

Registered: February 2009
Location: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 844
Review Date: Fri March 27, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cheap, fairly reliable, simple construction, large basket
Cons: Other brands may be better quality

 
There really doesn't seem to be anything wrong with this.

It's very simply constructed, there are very few parts. The impeller and rotor is integrated into the siphon tube and drops down into the impeller coil assembly.

The basket is quite large - you can easily cram extra filter material in there.

The cartridges are simple and easy to take apart (to remove carbon, for example).

I haven't had it clog, it doesn't run hot, it's silent. Flow appears to be adequate, it bowls my little guppies over if they wander past the discharge!

It got a little noisy twice when I got a bacteria bloom in the aquarium. I simply lifted the siphon tube and cleaned the gunk off the impeller rotor with a Q-tip. It's been totally silent since.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
remysmom
Junior Member

Registered: March 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario Canada
Posts: 20
Review Date: Thu April 16, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quiet, reliable, good flow and easy to clean
Cons: none in my opinion

 
I'm quite happy with mine (TF20), as a newbie it's easy to clean and easy to regulate the flow. I have used other brand cartridges (Bio-Bag) and they work fine.

------------------------------

Peggy

20 g FW. 3 Tetras (F), 3 Platys (F), 1 Black Balloon Molly (M), 3 B/White Dalmat. Mollies (F) and a 2" Adonis Pleco, 4" Black Ghost Knifefish and 2 Zebra Snails
HOB: Topfin20 and AC20
Aquascape: Net Breeder for Frys (currently), Assorted Silk/Plastic Plants; Wood, stone and 2 Ornaments for hiding.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Fraoch

Senior Member

Registered: February 2009
Location: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 844
Review Date: Wed May 20, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons: Poor performance as filters clog, hard to clean filter cartridges

 
I'm going to have to vote this one down based on some recent bad experience and also after getting an AquaClear 20, which puts this one to shame.

I was trying to keep the filter cartridges clean, but it was a losing battle, I couldn't clear the filters simply by rinsing them in aquarium water. It didn't take long before the reduced filter flow caused the water to pile up behind the restricted filter cartridge, spilling over the intake tube back into the tank. Debris started building up in my gravel, then I lost two fish due to mysterious bacterial infections, plus there was an outbreak of fin rot.

Thankfully I had a Top Fin "BIO 3" filter cartridge - I used the reusable blue sponge portion inside the original filter cartridge, discarding the old activated carbon. I just assembled a new BIO 3 filter cartridge using the old blue sponge and the new floss packet. The tank didn't cycle - obviously the blue sponge contained enough bacteria.

But now the "new" filter cartridge is clogged again, it only took a few weeks, and rinsing is not helping.

Save your money and get an AquaClear. Use this one only as a backup. And make sure you use BIO 3 filter cartridges with this, putting an old filter cartridge behind a new one completely cripples this filter.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.