Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food












  • Pin It

Poster Info

Saltwater Mafia
Posts: 3,905
Registered: December 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada

 

Tetra Whisper Air Pump
Reviews Views Date of last review
22 7527 Mon January 14, 2013
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $11.00 8.1

 

Description:
The patented dome shape and sound dampening chambers minimize turbulence and produce a smooth quiet stream of air. Wide footprint, rubber feet and suspended pump motor eliminate sound producing vibrations. Thick walls insulate motor noise. Powerful diaphragms provide ample airflow for deep water applications. Each air pump is covered by a manufacturer's limited two-year warranty. Pumps are 115V 60Hz and UL-approved for both fresh and marine water. Uses standard-size aquarium air tubing (not included).
Keywords: Whisper Air Pump tetra

<<
renaairpump.jpg hydor.jpg whisper.jpg

 

Author
Goshawk

Saltwater Mafia

Registered: December 2007
Location: In your mind...
Posts: 226
Review Date: Tue April 29, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $6.99 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Gets the job done.
Cons: None that I can think of...

 
Cheap,easy, and reliable. Great air pump.

------------------------------
40 Gallon Community Tank
30 Gallon Tank
29 Gallon
90 Gallon Reef

I support non-voting citizens.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Red

Senior Member

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 12427
Review Date: Sun November 16, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): cheap and good
Cons:

 
agreed with above cheap and easy quite
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
leggomypleco

Flowerhorn Guru

Registered: December 2008
Location: Indy
Posts: 1682
Review Date: Sun December 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

 
DEPENDABLE

------------------------------
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
gm72

Honored

Registered: March 2007
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 10933
Review Date: Fri December 26, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Noise, price
Cons: Durability

 
I have owned many of these air pumps over the years and have had most of them cease to work within a year or two of purchase. I usually buy larger than the size I actually need to decrease the work load of the pump, but that has not allowed them to demonstrate increased durability. They are relatively inexpensive and quiet, so that is a plus.

------------------------------
8 tanks running now:
1x 220 gallon, 2x55 gallon, 1x40 gallon long, 1x29 gallon, 1x20 gallon long, 1x5.5 gallon, 1x2 gallon
Gouramis, barbs, rasboras, plecos, corys, tetras, fancy guppies, swordtails, ottos, rainbow shark, upside-down catfish, snails, and Max and Sparkles the bettas.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
AABatteries

AC Editor

Registered: December 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3029
Review Date: Sat December 27, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cheap & reliable
Cons:

 
I have one of these from when they first came out, and it is still working great.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
cer

no longer keeping fish

Registered: October 2008
Posts: 1770
Review Date: Sat January 3, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet,cheap,works.
Cons:

 
It has lasted a very long time.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Cameron

Saltwater Wanna-be

Registered: July 2007
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 623
Review Date: Wed April 1, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Looks retro and funky, pumps LOTS of air
Cons: none yet for me, their a little noisy but its expected with a pump

 
Got the 60 for my 55G and it does a good job, actually has to be limited quite a bit for only one airstone. I recommend this as my first air pump, with no problems for me yet.

------------------------------
In my 29 gal:
4 serpae tetras
1 Flame tetras
1 Zebra Danio
1 German Blue Ram

In my 55 gal:
Trigun's 55g Tropical Community!
6 Glo-lite Tetras
4 Emerald Corys
1 Dwarf Gourami
4 Peppered Corys
25 Neon Tetras
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Tamara

Member

Registered: March 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 149
Review Date: Thu April 2, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): rubber feet, comes with an air control valve
Cons: 0

 
works for my 6 gallon home for my corys and betta
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Tamara's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
DrNic

Scientist

Registered: September 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3100
Review Date: Sun May 31, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Dead quiet. LOTS of air
Cons: Can move around

 
Great air pump. The 4 leg design keeps the overall vibration way down which reduces sound a lot. Most of the time I can't even hear it on. The downside however is that because of the legs it can wander around a bit and sometimes tries to 'walk' away.

------------------------------
75G Coldwater Setup (May 2011)
Angelfish Fry Development Project

This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
VoidParadigm

Senior Member

Registered: June 2009
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2371
Review Date: Thu June 25, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Relatively quiet, vibrations at a minimum
Cons: Flimsy feet

 
Great product. Use it in a ten gallon. Only downside is that the feet are not strong enough when it's turned off, allowing the slightest bump to send it flying.

------------------------------
A severe lack of trichogaster.

Just because your Gourami is sick does not mean it is always Iridovirus, DGIV, Gourami Disease, et cetera.
Look at all the other factors in your tank before coming to this conclusion.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Baadboy11
Junior Member

Registered: August 2009
Posts: 2
Review Date: Fri August 7, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Pretty quiet, and futuristic looking!!
Cons: Could be quieter, and likes to run around.

 
Good pump, pumps plenty of air. Sometimes has a tendency to wander around, and if its not firmly on all fours it vibrates pretty hard increasing its noise.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
lobsternoob

Pro Rambler

Registered: January 2009
Posts: 1723
Review Date: Mon January 4, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Typically works great, quiet, cheap
Cons: it can fail, and yes, can tend to "walk" sometimes

 
I had one of these fail on me badly, actually produced some smoke this happened almost immediately though. Tetra actually replaced it with free shipping even since it was a rare defective pump. So that's great customer service, a major plus. I am running four of these right now, so obviously I trust and would reccommend them. Only really for smaller aquariums though, even the one rated for up to 100 gallons really doesn't seem to pump out that much air once you put an airstone at the bottom of your 55+g tank. Funny because some of them rated for smaller tanks actually produce more airflow than I wanted. I think the smaller models are great, but when it comes to larger tanks you would be better off investing a few more bucks in something else. All around good pumps, but I still love my old whisper box pump thats about 20 years old more! and yes, it is quiet, main reason I've stuck with this brand.

------------------------------
No matter how much I learn or know I'm still gonna be a NOOB, but that doesn't mean I'm an idiot!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
xasuma

Member

Registered: January 2010
Location: Wisconsin, Chile
Posts: 524
Review Date: Tue February 16, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet
Cons: none

 
Its a great pump, it gives a lot of bubbles, and its real quiet, more than the other two ones i have. Besdies i really likes its shape.

------------------------------
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Shaunjr_89

Member

Registered: May 2010
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 93
Review Date: Thu May 20, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great pump, quiet, and well built.
Cons: none

 
Have had this pump on my 28g tank now for about 2years with out a problem. Only problem i had was my cat chewed the airhose lol but not the pumps fault. Great product for the coin.

------------------------------
Shaunjr_89
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Trillianne

*insert witty title*

Registered: April 2010
Location: Seattle Side of the Mountains
Posts: 2531
Review Date: Fri June 4, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet and Reliable
Cons: none

 
This has been a wonderfully reliable air pump for me. Can easily power multiple airstones or you can limit it down with a gang valve for lower flow in just one.

So long as you give it a smooth level surface, it will be very quiet. Unlevel surfaces will cause the vibration noise to increase and the pump may vibrate itself off to a new location.

------------------------------
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.