Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food












  • Pin It

Poster Info

Saltwater Mafia
Posts: 3,905
Registered: December 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada

 

Tetra Whisper Air Pump
Reviews Views Date of last review
22 7439 Mon January 14, 2013
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $11.00 8.1

 

Description:
The patented dome shape and sound dampening chambers minimize turbulence and produce a smooth quiet stream of air. Wide footprint, rubber feet and suspended pump motor eliminate sound producing vibrations. Thick walls insulate motor noise. Powerful diaphragms provide ample airflow for deep water applications. Each air pump is covered by a manufacturer's limited two-year warranty. Pumps are 115V 60Hz and UL-approved for both fresh and marine water. Uses standard-size aquarium air tubing (not included).
Keywords: Whisper Air Pump tetra

<<
renaairpump.jpg hydor.jpg whisper.jpg

 

Author
rothenb1

Member

Registered: February 2010
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 699
Review Date: Thu August 12, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet, great output
Cons: None as of now

 
I am running 5 of these right now on various tanks. I am truly pleased with them. I am running a 10 on my 5 gallon betta tank and a 60 on my 55 gallon tank. Both tanks are within 4 feet of my bed and I cannot hear them. I am impressed with the amount of bubbles produced, it creates a lot of surface agitation.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
dnphillips08

Member

Registered: July 2010
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 323
Review Date: Mon August 16, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet, Cheap
Cons: None so far

 
I have this pump on one of my 10G it works great. I have no complaints.

------------------------------
75G Planted Discus Tank- 6 Discus, 5 Neon Tetra, 4 Clown Loach, 3 Akysis Catfish, and 1 BN Pleco
20GH FW Crab Tank- 10 Geosesarma Sp. "Bicolor"
20GH Toad Tank- 4 Firebellied Toads
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
funkman262

Senior Member

Registered: July 2010
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 1136
Review Date: Thu November 11, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Inexpensive, easy to use
Cons: A bit on the noisy side

 
When I first purchased my Tetra 60 nearly a year ago, I used it for aeration in my freshwater tank. After planting the tank and setting up a saltwater tank, I know use it for a DIY protein skimmer that I made and it works wonders. Great pump for the price.

------------------------------
funkman262's 90g Planted Tank Journal
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
jbstc03

Member

Registered: June 2010
Location: Normal, IL
Posts: 106
Review Date: Sun March 13, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $15.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet, Cheap
Cons: No check ball valve

 
The only thing I have against this is that it does not come with anything to keep the water flowing the other way. This is only a $2 fix so by no means an issue. If you are wanting to add something like this to your setup, get it and do not look back!!! (Get a check ball valve from petsmart too so you are safe) I like that it does come with a valve to decrease the amount of airflow going in.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
ridgenesss

Member

Registered: March 2012
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL
Posts: 338
Review Date: Tue March 27, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet, very afforable, tough
Cons: can walk around

 
These air pumps are very good. Almost to good for the price. They are very quiet and won't hesitate to run multiple airstones. The only draw back is that it can tend to "walk around" due to vibration.

------------------------------
40 Gallon Breeder Planted: harlequin rasbora rummynose tetra corydoras cherry barbs

40 Gallon Breeder Reef: In progress!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
balt

Dude

Registered: July 2012
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 257
Review Date: Sat October 27, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Relatively quiet, thoughtful design
Cons: Tough reviews on Amazon

 
My Whisper air pump has been going nonstop for 3 months without an issue. I understand that placing a piece of cloth beneath the pump makes it even quieter, but I haven't tried that yet. Currently, it is louder than my AC HOB. Based on the Amazon reviews, there may have been a bad batch of these pumps that have weak diaphragms. Once a diaphragm tears, the replacement part must be ordered with a kit of parts that may cost almost as much as a new unit. I will keep my fingers crossed and repost here if I have a problem.

------------------------------
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
phatchuck

Member

Registered: November 2012
Location: NYC
Posts: 91
Review Date: Mon January 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very quiet and powerful.
Cons: None so far.

 
Got the 60 for my 55g and it works great for my bubble strip. I even have it all the way on the floor and the hose goes up about 4 1/2 feet to the top of the tank and the pressure is more than adequate. You can barely hear the pump running over the trickle of the water coming off of the water filter. Quality product.

------------------------------


55g African Cichlid tank -
29g Community tank -
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
  Page:  1 · 2 

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.