Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food



Prime.jpg









  • Pin It

Poster Info

Saltwater Mafia
Posts: 3,905
Registered: December 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada

 

Seachem Prime
Reviews Views Date of last review
15 20460 Mon December 31, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $23.33 8.9

 

Description:
Prime™ is the complete and concentrated conditioner for both fresh and salt water. Prime™ removes chlorine, chloramine and ammonia. Prime™ converts ammonia into a safe, non-toxic form that is readily removed by the tank’s biofilter. Prime™ may be used during tank cycling to alleviate ammonia/nitrite toxicity. Prime™ detoxifies nitrite and nitrate, allowing the biofilter to more efficiently remove them. It will also detoxify any heavy metals found in the tap water at typical concentration levels.Prime™ also promotes the production and regeneration of the natural slime coat. Prime™ is non-acidic and will not impact pH. Prime™ will not overactivate skimmers. Use at start-up and whenever adding or replacing water.
Keywords: Water Conditioner tap seachem prime

<<
21J7h7I-VGL_SL500_AA200_.jpg 41wgv7rldxL_SL500_AA280_.jpg Prime.jpg bio-spira.jpg TAB_178.jpg
>>

 

Author
PUNISHER VETTE

Senior Member

Registered: November 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 2275
Review Date: Thu December 11, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): works
Cons: Smells HORIBBLE and overpriced b/c it's a name brand.

 
Over priced since a seachem brand name but i guess it works just fine.

I gave it an 8 solely because of the smell...., and price.. But you don't really need to smell it and i never noticed it making my tank smell so...

------------------------------
30g Photo Journal
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
leggomypleco

Flowerhorn Guru

Registered: December 2008
Location: Indy
Posts: 1682
Review Date: Sun December 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

 
USE IT EVERY WATER CHANGE

------------------------------
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Stopsignsign
Junior Member

Registered: May 2009
Posts: 2
Review Date: Sun May 24, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $10.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): It works?
Cons: SMELLLLLLLLL, and price/volume you get

 
I can't get over how bad this product smells. I know the reviewer above said he never noticed it affecting his tanks but i have a feeling it does in a little amount.

When i treat my buckets they smell horrible as well, but that's a small container that gets tossed into a large one and neutralized some.

Because it's Seachem you're going to pay double. To be honest i can't see how other brands are much worse then this and would rather spend my money on those and pick up a fish or two in the process.

It's be nice if the top had a flip up dropper for smaller applications. I feel like i waste 1/2 a bottle by overdosing most of the time.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
PUNISHER VETTE

Senior Member

Registered: November 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 2275
Review Date: Thu June 4, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $10.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Works, and removes ammonia which most conditioners don't.
Cons: Smelsl, has phosphates, costs too much

 
I'm revising my review of Prime.

I was at the LFS and a very well known plant guy helpped me decide on which water conditioner to use. It was between Prime and ZIP which i've used both.

The first thing he asked was "Is this for a planted tanks?" I said yes.
"Easy then, the ZIP drops."

He said that Prime eliminates ammonia(which isn't bad) but for most planted tanks it helps to ad nutrients for the plants.
He also said prime contains phosphates. So it could have lead so some algae problems if used too much.

O and it smells horrible. I'm giving it less points off for this as maybe it would help keep little kids from messing with it?

And the price is just poor. You get less and you pay more then other brands. Just not what and aquarium hobbyist usually looks for in a product.

------------------------------
30g Photo Journal
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Lab_Rat

Got fry?

Registered: June 2008
Location: Deep, deep South
Posts: 6882
Review Date: Mon October 26, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Awesome product
Cons: smells bad

 
This is the only dechlorinator I use. It is awesome for chlorine/chloramine/heavy metals, all of which are in my tap (well, chloramine, not chlorine). It doesn't eliminate ammonia like the previous poster said, instead it converts it to the ammonium form, which is less toxic to fish yet can still be utilized by the beneficial bacteria and plants. I use it in my planted tanks with no problems. And with as concentrated as this product is, if used properly it's actually one of the cheaper conditioners on the market.

------------------------------
Quote Originally Posted by i_am_511
Lighten up its just the internet its not like someone came in your house and punched a baby in the face.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Wild Turkey

Forum Flunkie

Registered: March 2008
Location: Annapolis Maryland
Posts: 11464
Review Date: Tue December 22, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Product
Cons:

 
Overall just a great product.

Ionizes ammonia like stress coat+

Claims to "detoxify" nitrite and nitrate but I cant attest to that claim. Its not important imo though

It is actually much cheaper than most other dechlors because it treats more gallons per ml.

------------------------------

This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
bkh99
Junior Member

Registered: January 2010
Posts: 11
Review Date: Mon May 24, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $50.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): cheap
Cons: none

 
Bought it in the 2 liter size for 50.00. This would be enough for 20,000 gallons of water. This product is five times cheaper than any thing else I have seen, and I really cannot understand what people are saying about price (it is five times more concentrated, and the price is just a few bucks more than anything else I have seen).

This product is excellent when cycling a tank. I have just started a new tank, and shortly after dosing with this product, toxins were neutralized (while still remaining available for the growing bacterial colony in the filter, while not harming the fish). You can tell that it works by running tests (so I use it for that purpose, and not just for water changes).
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Cliff

Moderator

Registered: January 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17581
Review Date: Sun August 1, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): It Works, Very concentrated
Cons: Availability

 
I recently switched to prime. I find using a more concentrated formulae like this a lot better than other products. I remove old tank water, add the prim, and fill it up. I like how it converts ammonia if you even have to change water due to a mini cycle.

There’s only store in town that carrys it, so if they run out I have to order it on line

------------------------------
If you take your time to do the research FIRST, you can successfully set-up and keep ANY type of aquarium with ease.
"Not using a quarantine tank is like playing Russian roulette. Nobody wins the game, some people just get to play longer than others." - Anthony Calfo
Fishless Cycle Cycling with Fish http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aquariumforum/showthread.php?t=76398”] Marine Aquarium Info [/URL] [URL="http://saltwater.aquaticcommunity.com/"]
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
rothenb1

Member

Registered: February 2010
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 699
Review Date: Thu August 12, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Concentrated
Cons: Smelly

 
Seachem makes great stuff, and Prime is no exception.

Complete and concentrated conditioner removes chlorine, chloramine, and ammonia. A capful works for 50 gallons.
Claims to detoxify nitrite and nitrate and provides a protective slime coat for your fish, which I don't doubt, but cannot attest to.

Have only lost 3 tetras to parasites since using this declor. Otherwise fish look healthy.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
gadget228

Senior Member

Registered: November 2009
Location: Southern Ohio
Posts: 4559
Review Date: Thu August 12, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Highly concentrated
Cons: Strong sulfur smell

 
Little bit goes a long way, don't notice the smell once it has be added.

------------------------------
.
You're getting old when you get the same sensation from a rocking chair that you once got from a roller coaster.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Old Marine

Senior Member

Registered: January 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1868
Review Date: Sat February 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price per gallon of treatment.
Cons: None

 
I just switced from Pet Solutions brand to Prime. Nothing wrong with Pet Solutions brand, But Prime treats so much more water per bottle. Pet Solutions is one cap for 10 gallons, Prime is one cap for 50 gallons.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
ridgenesss

Member

Registered: March 2012
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL
Posts: 338
Review Date: Wed March 28, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): concentrated, works great
Cons: smelly, pricey

 
This is a staple in my maintenance routine. I use every time i add top off water and every time i do water changes. It does have quite the pungent smell.

------------------------------
40 Gallon Breeder Planted: harlequin rasbora rummynose tetra corydoras cherry barbs

40 Gallon Breeder Reef: In progress!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
daimen123

Member

Registered: June 2012
Location: Sydney australia
Posts: 334
Review Date: Sun June 24, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): everything
Cons:

 
Perfect conditioner everyone should use it

------------------------------
4ft mbuna mangaino and yellows
4ft rainbow tank
4ft planted community
16g nano planted shrimp and neon tetras
10g nano reef
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Tiari

Senior Member

Registered: December 2011
Location: Bridgeport Connecticut
Posts: 782
Review Date: Thu November 15, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Little goes a long way
Cons: none

 
I wouldn't use anything else. Never had such consistently good tanks until I began using this conditioner.

------------------------------
2 10 gallon tanks, 1 20 gallon tank, 1 Fluval Edge, 1 29 gallon tank, and one backyard pond.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Goes to 11!

Guitarmageddon!

Registered: September 2010
Location: Lasalle-Peru
Posts: 6195
Review Date: Mon December 31, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything mentioned above
Cons: The smell - And I like how it smells because it means good stuff is happening to my tank

 
I have NO idea what the people complaining about cost are on about - THAT is a serious math FAIL lol.

It does what it's supposed to do & the only thing More economical is Safe [It's Seachems powdered equivalent of Prime & I am going to check it out btw].

In the meantime.. Love me some Prime.

------------------------------
Gas mileage isn't everything OIIIIIIIO
Lack of planning on your part does not constitute an emergency on my part.
Why pretend there are no stupid questions? Actually, There are many stupid questions: "Should I drink this bleach?" Is just one example.
Having said that, Just because it's a stupid question doesn't mean that it shouldn't be asked. It's better to know.

A warm beer is better than a cold beer. Because nothing is better than a cold beer, and a warm beer is better than nothing.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.