Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food



img3039863med.jpg









  • Pin It

Poster Info

Forum Flunkie
Posts: 11,464
Registered: March 2008
Location: Annapolis Maryland

 

Fluval Bio-Max Rings
Reviews Views Date of last review
9 10891 Sat February 8, 2014
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $15.00 8.4

 

Description:
Suitable for both fresh and marine aquariums. When used in the middle filter module, fluval biomax is the ideal host material for large populations of beneficial bacteria. The ring size and shape provide an excellent strainer for large particulate wastes when used in the first (lowest) media module. There is still powerful biological activity when employed in the lower chamber.
Keywords: fluval bio-max bio max rings ceramic filter media bacteria

<<
P49787_1_.jpg JB7363_99.jpg img3039863med.jpg img3039493med.jpg img3039495med.jpg
>>

 

Author
Red

Senior Member

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 12427
Review Date: Sun January 25, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): works great for bio,
Cons:

 
Very good, have used this stuff not in a fluval.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Wild Turkey

Forum Flunkie

Registered: March 2008
Location: Annapolis Maryland
Posts: 11464
Review Date: Tue December 22, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $15.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Works
Cons: Expensive

 
Good product but too expensive and probably not needed for most applications.

------------------------------

This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Cliff

Moderator

Registered: January 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17399
Review Date: Wed April 28, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Works really good
Cons: a little nigher priced

 
About 4 months ago I switched my cannister filter to nothing but the sponges (which were already in there) and fluval biomax rings. This stuff has made a difference in the stability of my water quality. I used a different branch in my past tanks but still ran into mini cycles when adding meds

A little easier to clean than the other brand I had used

------------------------------
If you take your time to do the research FIRST, you can successfully set-up and keep ANY type of aquarium with ease.
"Not using a quarantine tank is like playing Russian roulette. Nobody wins the game, some people just get to play longer than others." - Anthony Calfo
Fishless Cycle Cycling with Fish http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aquariumforum/showthread.php?t=76398] Marine Aquarium Info [/URL] [URL="http://saltwater.aquaticcommunity.com/"]
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
funkman262

Senior Member

Registered: July 2010
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 1136
Review Date: Wed November 10, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Works great
Cons: None

 
This is the only biomedia I've ever tried but it's worked in all of my tanks. It might be a little expensive but once you buy it there's no additional costs because it doesn't need to (nor should it be) replaced.

------------------------------
funkman262's 90g Planted Tank Journal
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
CassieLEO

Sweet Peas Mommy

Registered: November 2010
Location: MA
Posts: 1861
Review Date: Wed January 19, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very good Biological filtration
Cons: They are breakable

 
I broke many of these trying ot get them fit in my Rena...

------------------------------

Google is your friend. Use it!!!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
junkers12

Member

Registered: January 2012
Location: Lethbridge
Posts: 215
Review Date: Thu February 9, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): It is very porous
Cons:

 
I am currently employing this in both my fluval canister filters and this is very good for the good bacteria. It has alot of surface area for the bacteria to latch onto. All I do to clean this media is rinse it in aquarium water. I have the Biomax that came with my fluval 205 still running 2 and a half years and no problems. Great product.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
ridgenesss

Member

Registered: March 2012
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL
Posts: 338
Review Date: Tue March 27, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Works great
Cons: expensive, delicate

 
These ceramic bio media rings contain plenty of surface area for BB. They only drawback is the price, and they can be broken easily so care must be taken. I use these constantly in my fluval 306 canister.

------------------------------
40 Gallon Breeder Planted: harlequin rasbora rummynose tetra corydoras cherry barbs

40 Gallon Breeder Reef: In progress!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
sensi_cichlid
Junior Member

Registered: November 2012
Posts: 2
Review Date: Tue November 13, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): lasts forever,easy cleaning,super porous
Cons: expensive

 
I use this in my AquaTop CF-300 canister and it works perfect for my 55 African cichlid tank
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
pRED

Member

Registered: March 2013
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 381
Review Date: Sat February 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): works well
Cons: bulky

 
I use these in all my HOB's. They work well for the larger ones, but bulky for the smaller ones. (I wish they had smaller rings) I use them mixed with smaller rings from other manufacturer. Very good bio media.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.