Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food












  • Pin It

Poster Info

Planted FW Junkie
Posts: 3,566
Registered: January 2008
Location: Mackenzie, BC

 

CaribSea Eco-Complete
Reviews Views Date of last review
12 14541 Mon March 17, 2014
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $22.30 7.8

 

Description:
* Contains iron, calcium, magnesium, potassium, sulfur plus over 25 other elements to nourish your aquatic plants.

* Iron rich Eco-Complete eliminates the need for laterite

* Nitrate and carbonate free – will not increase pH or carbonate hardness

* No artificial dyes, paints or chemical coatings

* Natural black substrate encourages the most vibrant coloration in fishes and reduces fish stress

* Spherical grains for optimum diffusion performance

* Supplies Calcium without raising pH

* Lead free

* Contains live heterotrophic bacteria to rapidly convert fish waste into natural food for your aquatic plants

* Creates a natural biological balance which makes cycling a new aquarium faster and safer

* Packed in Liquid Amazon buffered “Black Water” solution for immediate organic water conditioning

* Unsurpassed macro-porosity for healthy roots and bacterial efficiency.
Keywords: substrate

<<
p-73758-55545-fish-supply.jpg p-12016-42146-fish-food1.jpg

 

Author
doug z

Planted FW Junkie

Registered: January 2008
Location: Mackenzie, BC
Posts: 3566
Review Date: Mon April 28, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $30.00 | Rating: 3 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): SuPPOSED to be great!!
Cons: Quality control!

 
This is a great product, IF you get the Eco-complete everyone knows and loves (see 1st picture), and NOT the stuff Carib Sea has allowed to hit the stores lately (see pic of MY eco-complete, 2nd pic)..

If you mistakenly buy a bad batch, call 1-888-461-1113, and speak to Judd..

------------------------------
75g - 20 cardinals : 7 panda cory : 5 Julii cory : 9 zebra danios : 1 CAE : 2 SAE : 2 yo-yos : 1 BN
25g: 5 long-finned zebra danios
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Red

Senior Member

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 12426
Review Date: Sun November 16, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good for plants
Cons: A pain to clean

 
Its ok,a pain to clean sometimes..
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
ILuvMyGoldBarb

Marine Tank Addict

Registered: February 2008
Posts: 10336
Review Date: Mon November 17, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very Natural Looking, Great for Plants
Cons: Can be hard on Cory's Barbels

 
I personally love this substrate both for the natural look and for it's nutrient base for plants. I have used this in 4 different tanks and I highly recommend it to anyone.

------------------------------
Considering a Marine Aquarium? A Breakdown of the Components, Live Rock, Cycling a Marine Tank

"The capacity to learn is a gift; The ability to learn is a skill; The WILLINGNESS to learn is a choice." - Unknown
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Wild Turkey

Forum Flunkie

Registered: March 2008
Location: Annapolis Maryland
Posts: 11464
Review Date: Sun December 7, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Looks great, great for plants.
Cons: Harder on barbels than I thought when buying, thought not nearly as harsh as most gravel.

 
Great substrate, not very messy excellent for plants and takes a long time to loose nutrients. Love the black color as it makes the fish and plants stand out more. This substrate is very natural looking. Highly recommended.

------------------------------

This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
gm72

Honored

Registered: March 2007
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 10933
Review Date: Fri December 26, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $19.99 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Aesthetics, nutrient content
Cons: Price

 
Expensive but potentially worth it. The size of the granules is not consistent, which actually works for you. Pour it into a tank and the smaller particles go to the bottom while the larger ones stay on top. This is a natural setup for planted tanks. The black color allows the plants and fish to "pop." You can also top it with regular gravel to adopt a particular look you are going for. I like the substrate and will continue to use it.

------------------------------
8 tanks running now:
1x 220 gallon, 2x55 gallon, 1x40 gallon long, 1x29 gallon, 1x20 gallon long, 1x5.5 gallon, 1x2 gallon
Gouramis, barbs, rasboras, plecos, corys, tetras, fancy guppies, swordtails, ottos, rainbow shark, upside-down catfish, snails, and Max and Sparkles the bettas.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
AABatteries

AC Editor

Registered: December 2007
Location: USA, Ohio
Posts: 2978
Review Date: Sat December 27, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $19.19 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great for plants
Cons: Can be a bit pricey

 
Got this for my planted aquarium, the plants I took from my old tank seem to be growing faster with this and the better lighting.

------------------------------
55g - 1 oscar and 1 red zebra
30g(planted) - 3 Trilineatus cories, 3 peppered cories, 1 female betta, 2 gold rasboras, and snails.
50g - 4 lethrinops intermedius
46g Hex - 2 black neon tetras, 3 bloodfin tetras, 3 blue tetras, 2 snakeskin gouramis, 3 Agassizi corys, 2 von rio tetras ,and 1 pleco

This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
wolf_eyes

Unoffical Queen of Cories

Registered: October 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1361
Review Date: Sat February 6, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): helps plants grow, nice black color
Cons: price but worth it

 
I use this in all of my planted tanks. It makes the plants grow faster and more colorful from what I have seen. I also love the black color because it complements plants and fish, which is harder to find in other brands. It can get a bit expensive, especially in bigger tanks, but I think it's worth it. In tanks with cories and loaches I tend to have an area of pure sand so that they have an area to dig around in without harming their barbels.

------------------------------
30gL heavily planted: south american community tank
15g mod. planted: nano fish community tank
6g long(custom tank) mod planted: 6 bettas w/ dividers
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit wolf_eyes's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
dnphillips08

Member

Registered: July 2010
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 323
Review Date: Mon August 16, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great for Plants, Looks Good
Cons: Pricey

 
I use this for all of my tanks, I think it looks great and my plants grow great with it. It was a little pricey, but I think it gives you a lot of bang for your buck.

------------------------------
75G Planted Discus Tank- 6 Discus, 5 Neon Tetra, 4 Clown Loach, 3 Akysis Catfish, and 1 BN Pleco
20GH FW Crab Tank- 10 Geosesarma Sp. "Bicolor"
20GH Toad Tank- 4 Firebellied Toads
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
CassieLEO

Sweet Peas Mommy

Registered: November 2010
Location: MA
Posts: 1861
Review Date: Sat February 5, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): is very good for the plants
Cons: Hard to clean

 
The bigger granules make cleaning a little hard with this stuff. Makes clean up harder

------------------------------

Google is your friend. Use it!!!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Fisharefriends27

Senior Member

Registered: January 2011
Posts: 1019
Review Date: Wed August 24, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): No cleaning before it goes in the tank!! Good for plants
Cons: Clouds up the water for awhile at first

 
Works as stated. However it is very cloudy after you put it in for a while.

------------------------------
120 gallon29 gallon
5.5 and 2.5 gallon
The harley man......no not the motorcycle, harlequin rasboras
Angie R.I.P. 10/29/11
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
DKRST

Banned

Registered: October 2013
Location: Moore, SC
Posts: 61
Review Date: Wed October 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $20.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice dark color, easy to plant in
Cons: Mix of very large and small particles

 
A good planting media, but the particle size was variable, with some really large "rocks" mixed in. Not as uniform as I would have liked. It looks good in the tank, but pricey for what you get.

------------------------------
David
Tanks: too darn many, but almost enough....
8 species of fish, 27 species/varieties of plants. I think the plants are winning
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Compass

Member

Registered: November 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 190
Review Date: Mon March 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good color and great for plants
Cons: Particle size. Stem plants seemed to have a hard time staying in place when first planted.

 
I like what I've seen with my plant growth vs. just your average aquarium gravel. A few times my stem plants would pop out of the substrate before they had a chance to root and that became frustrating.

------------------------------
Increasing your biodiversity increases your stability.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.