Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food












  • Pin It

Poster Info

Planted FW Junkie
Posts: 3,566
Registered: January 2008
Location: Mackenzie, BC

 

CaribSea Eco-Complete
Reviews Views Date of last review
12 15261 Mon March 17, 2014
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $22.30 7.8

 

Description:
* Contains iron, calcium, magnesium, potassium, sulfur plus over 25 other elements to nourish your aquatic plants.

* Iron rich Eco-Complete eliminates the need for laterite

* Nitrate and carbonate free – will not increase pH or carbonate hardness

* No artificial dyes, paints or chemical coatings

* Natural black substrate encourages the most vibrant coloration in fishes and reduces fish stress

* Spherical grains for optimum diffusion performance

* Supplies Calcium without raising pH

* Lead free

* Contains live heterotrophic bacteria to rapidly convert fish waste into natural food for your aquatic plants

* Creates a natural biological balance which makes cycling a new aquarium faster and safer

* Packed in Liquid Amazon buffered “Black Water” solution for immediate organic water conditioning

* Unsurpassed macro-porosity for healthy roots and bacterial efficiency.
Keywords: substrate

<<
p_159657_FS31731i.jpg tahitian_moon_sand.jpg eco-complete_for_review_Large_.jpg 26154264cc2bdfd34e0ce22ef5cd3810.jpg

 

Author
doug z

Planted FW Junkie

Registered: January 2008
Location: Mackenzie, BC
Posts: 3566
Review Date: Mon April 28, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $30.00 | Rating: 3 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): SuPPOSED to be great!!
Cons: Quality control!

 
This is a great product, IF you get the Eco-complete everyone knows and loves (see 1st picture), and NOT the stuff Carib Sea has allowed to hit the stores lately (see pic of MY eco-complete, 2nd pic)..

If you mistakenly buy a bad batch, call 1-888-461-1113, and speak to Judd..

------------------------------
75g - 20 cardinals : 7 panda cory : 5 Julii cory : 9 zebra danios : 1 CAE : 2 SAE : 2 yo-yos : 1 BN
25g: 5 long-finned zebra danios
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Red

Senior Member

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 12427
Review Date: Sun November 16, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good for plants
Cons: A pain to clean

 
Its ok,a pain to clean sometimes..
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
ILuvMyGoldBarb

Marine Tank Addict

Registered: February 2008
Posts: 10336
Review Date: Mon November 17, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very Natural Looking, Great for Plants
Cons: Can be hard on Cory's Barbels

 
I personally love this substrate both for the natural look and for it's nutrient base for plants. I have used this in 4 different tanks and I highly recommend it to anyone.

------------------------------
Considering a Marine Aquarium? A Breakdown of the Components, Live Rock, Cycling a Marine Tank

"The capacity to learn is a gift; The ability to learn is a skill; The WILLINGNESS to learn is a choice." - Unknown
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Wild Turkey

Forum Flunkie

Registered: March 2008
Location: Annapolis Maryland
Posts: 11464
Review Date: Sun December 7, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Looks great, great for plants.
Cons: Harder on barbels than I thought when buying, thought not nearly as harsh as most gravel.

 
Great substrate, not very messy excellent for plants and takes a long time to loose nutrients. Love the black color as it makes the fish and plants stand out more. This substrate is very natural looking. Highly recommended.

------------------------------

This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
gm72

Honored

Registered: March 2007
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 10933
Review Date: Fri December 26, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $19.99 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Aesthetics, nutrient content
Cons: Price

 
Expensive but potentially worth it. The size of the granules is not consistent, which actually works for you. Pour it into a tank and the smaller particles go to the bottom while the larger ones stay on top. This is a natural setup for planted tanks. The black color allows the plants and fish to "pop." You can also top it with regular gravel to adopt a particular look you are going for. I like the substrate and will continue to use it.

------------------------------
8 tanks running now:
1x 220 gallon, 2x55 gallon, 1x40 gallon long, 1x29 gallon, 1x20 gallon long, 1x5.5 gallon, 1x2 gallon
Gouramis, barbs, rasboras, plecos, corys, tetras, fancy guppies, swordtails, ottos, rainbow shark, upside-down catfish, snails, and Max and Sparkles the bettas.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
AABatteries

AC Editor

Registered: December 2007
Location: USA, Ohio
Posts: 2978
Review Date: Sat December 27, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $19.19 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great for plants
Cons: Can be a bit pricey

 
Got this for my planted aquarium, the plants I took from my old tank seem to be growing faster with this and the better lighting.

------------------------------
55g - 1 oscar and 1 red zebra
30g(planted) - 3 Trilineatus cories, 3 peppered cories, 1 female betta, 2 gold rasboras, and snails.
50g - 4 lethrinops intermedius
46g Hex - 2 black neon tetras, 3 bloodfin tetras, 3 blue tetras, 2 snakeskin gouramis, 3 Agassizi corys, 2 von rio tetras ,and 1 pleco

This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
wolf_eyes

Unoffical Queen of Cories

Registered: October 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1361
Review Date: Sat February 6, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): helps plants grow, nice black color
Cons: price but worth it

 
I use this in all of my planted tanks. It makes the plants grow faster and more colorful from what I have seen. I also love the black color because it complements plants and fish, which is harder to find in other brands. It can get a bit expensive, especially in bigger tanks, but I think it's worth it. In tanks with cories and loaches I tend to have an area of pure sand so that they have an area to dig around in without harming their barbels.

------------------------------
30gL heavily planted: south american community tank
15g mod. planted: nano fish community tank
6g long(custom tank) mod planted: 6 bettas w/ dividers
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit wolf_eyes's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
dnphillips08

Member

Registered: July 2010
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 323
Review Date: Mon August 16, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great for Plants, Looks Good
Cons: Pricey

 
I use this for all of my tanks, I think it looks great and my plants grow great with it. It was a little pricey, but I think it gives you a lot of bang for your buck.

------------------------------
75G Planted Discus Tank- 6 Discus, 5 Neon Tetra, 4 Clown Loach, 3 Akysis Catfish, and 1 BN Pleco
20GH FW Crab Tank- 10 Geosesarma Sp. "Bicolor"
20GH Toad Tank- 4 Firebellied Toads
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
CassieLEO

Sweet Peas Mommy

Registered: November 2010
Location: MA
Posts: 1861
Review Date: Sat February 5, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): is very good for the plants
Cons: Hard to clean

 
The bigger granules make cleaning a little hard with this stuff. Makes clean up harder

------------------------------

Google is your friend. Use it!!!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Fisharefriends27

Senior Member

Registered: January 2011
Posts: 1019
Review Date: Wed August 24, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): No cleaning before it goes in the tank!! Good for plants
Cons: Clouds up the water for awhile at first

 
Works as stated. However it is very cloudy after you put it in for a while.

------------------------------
120 gallon29 gallon
5.5 and 2.5 gallon
The harley man......no not the motorcycle, harlequin rasboras
Angie R.I.P. 10/29/11
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
DKRST

Banned

Registered: October 2013
Location: Moore, SC
Posts: 61
Review Date: Wed October 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $20.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice dark color, easy to plant in
Cons: Mix of very large and small particles

 
A good planting media, but the particle size was variable, with some really large "rocks" mixed in. Not as uniform as I would have liked. It looks good in the tank, but pricey for what you get.

------------------------------
David
Tanks: too darn many, but almost enough....
8 species of fish, 27 species/varieties of plants. I think the plants are winning
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Compass

Keeper of the Crypts

Registered: November 2012
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 3896
Review Date: Mon March 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good color and great for plants
Cons: Particle size. Stem plants seemed to have a hard time staying in place when first planted.

 
I like what I've seen with my plant growth vs. just your average aquarium gravel. A few times my stem plants would pop out of the substrate before they had a chance to root and that became frustrating.

------------------------------
Increasing your biodiversity increases your stability.

You know what this tank needs? ........................ Crypts.
This user is online
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.