Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food





filter2.jpg







  • Pin It

Poster Info

Fishless Cycling Expert
Posts: 2,392
Registered: August 2007
Location: Hinsdale, IL

 

Eheim Eheim Pro 3E Canister Filter
Reviews Views Date of last review
7 12458 Sun May 13, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $325.99 9.5

 

Description:
The new kind of canister-an electronic one! With this Eheim canister filter, you can change the how strong the flow is, if you want a different strength of flow during day/night, if you want the flow rate to change every couple seconds, and it tells you when to clean it! It comes with a coarse sponge layer, a fine sponge layer, and 3 media trays for the smaller version and 4 for the large. You can pick and 3 combonations of media, but 2 layers of EhefiMech and 1 of EheifiSubstrat is recommended. It comes with flexible tubing, hard tubing, a spraybar, instructions on how to put it together (which was incredibly easy) and how to get it started, and of course, the filter.
Keywords: electronic canister filter

<<
P50775_1_.jpg filter1.gif Pro_II.jpg filtration_cutout.png
>>

 

Author
shockshockshad

Fishless Cycling Expert

Registered: August 2007
Location: Hinsdale, IL
Posts: 2392
Review Date: Fri January 2, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $325.99 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very cool flow rate system, fits nicely under my metal stand, cleans the water great
Cons: May suck up small fish, might not fit under a wooden stand, a little loud,\

 
All I can say is this has to be my best purchase i have ever made. For a filter, that is. It just does exactly what i want it to do!-->Clean the water, be able to support a large bioload, and lot be extremely loud and hard to clean. I definatley recomend this to someone with a 75 gallon+ tank (it may not fit under something narrower). So, in conclusion, I give this a 9 (more a 9.5) out of 10.

------------------------------
!~*Shockshockshad*~!
30 gallon
Heavily Planted SE Asian biotope
-2 SAE's, 13 threadfin rainbows, 6 White Cloud Mtn. Minnows and a dwarf gourami

12 gallon
2 bamboo shrimp, couple cherry shrimp, 10 neons, 6 CPD's and 8 spotted rasboras

75 gallon
South American tank
-1 Firemouth , 1 blue acara
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
shockshockshad

Fishless Cycling Expert

Registered: August 2007
Location: Hinsdale, IL
Posts: 2392
Review Date: Fri January 2, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $325.99 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very cool flow rate system, fits nicely under my metal stand, cleans the water great
Cons: May suck up small fish, might not fit under a wooden stand, a little loud,\

 
All I can say is this has to be my best purchase i have ever made. For a filter, that is. It just does exactly what i want it to do!-->Clean the water, be able to support a large bioload, and not be extremely loud and hard to clean. I definatley recomend this to someone with a 75 gallon+ tank (it may not fit under something narrower). So, in conclusion, I give this a 9 (more a 9.5) out of 10.

------------------------------
!~*Shockshockshad*~!
30 gallon
Heavily Planted SE Asian biotope
-2 SAE's, 13 threadfin rainbows, 6 White Cloud Mtn. Minnows and a dwarf gourami

12 gallon
2 bamboo shrimp, couple cherry shrimp, 10 neons, 6 CPD's and 8 spotted rasboras

75 gallon
South American tank
-1 Firemouth , 1 blue acara
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
jono
Member

Registered: September 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 49
Review Date: Sat February 21, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

 
Hi all,

Well today I went out and bought a Ehiem Pro 3e 2078 and I just thought I would give a short review on it.

Well I'll start from the beginning. When I went to pick it up for the LFS we opened it up to see what was inside. It comes with all your standard piping, spray bars and all the other bits to get it going. It did not however come with any filter media. So I just bought the 1 box of Eheim Mech noodles and 2 KG of Matrix substrate.

When I got home I pulled the canister apart. This unit comes with 4 separate cartridges. Noodles on the bottom and them the substrate mixed with a couple of seeded sponges in the rest. There is your normal white filter pad and then the blue foam pad after that. Fitting all the cartridges in was a breeze just fill them and slide them in.

There is a Quick release for the inlet and outlet pipes from the pump head it's self. Select the off position and push the red button and off it comes.

Once everything is plumbed there is a manual priming pump on the top of the unit. Press this a couple of times and and the water makes its way down into the canister. No more tube sucking Fishalicious.

Once the power is connected the pump goes into a self bleeding mode where it basically changes the pumping speed and sometimes switches its self off to let the air escape. Mine had a little troubles bleeding so I just gave the manual priming pump a couple of squeezes and the hey presto away it went.

Setting the different pump speed is easy. Just a push of the button + or - and that's it easy. A nice inbuilt feature of this unit is the Constant flow control. Basically as the filter becomes clogged it increases the flow rate to keep a constant flow. Along with the constant flow monitoring it also has a service indicator. With the press of a button the LED's light up, 1 LED = 1 month.

Next step for me was to set up the 12 HR bio function. Firstly that was one of the reasons the wife let me buy this. I can now have the spray bar at full noise during the day and then when we are both asleep its switches to a nice slow flow which creates minimal noise. Setting it took me a couple of goes but that was mainly due to me getting the 2 cycles mixed up. The only pain for this setting is you have to set it when you want the 12 hours window to change. But then again it only be an inconvenience once or twice.

Another cool little function is the stream control. When this setting is activated it changes the pump out put to full power for 10 seconds and then back to the original setting for 10 seconds thus creating stream like currents in the aquarium.

In conclusion. For $600 AUD this canister does not only supply me with fantastic filtration it also allows me to change the current speeds of the aquarium, have a 12 hour rotation of those speeds, makes cleaning / maintenance easy and lastly it provides me with piece of mind that this canister filter will continue to pump at the same volume as when I 1st put it together.

For all those tech heads out there there is also a Pro 3e USB version which can be connected to a computer to program the pump and its different options.

Tech specs:
Recommended size aquarium: 700L (154 GAL)
Pump output: 1850 L/Hr (407 GAL/Hr)
Power consumption: 10-35 W
Canister volume: 14.5L (3.19 GAL)
Dimmensions: 264X534X264 MM (10.4x21x10.4 INCH)

------------------------------
240 L Planted: 1 BGK, 2 Silver sharks, 1 Sailfin Molly, 2 female German Blue Ram's and 1 Siamese Algae eater

90 L Planted: 20 Neon Tetra's, 10 Glo Light Tetra's, 1 adult Platy and about 50 thousand Platy fry
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Surfdog

Surf's up!

Registered: March 2011
Location: Ottawa, On
Posts: 1146
Review Date: Wed March 30, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Silent, 4 large media baskets, compact, quick disconnect
Cons: Included tube could be longer

 
I bought the 2011 version, the G series rated to 160 Gallon Tanks for my 75 Gallon Marine. It pumps 330 GPH and It is dead silent. The media baskets are huge (4 in mine) with a 5th as a final lid that contains a polishing filter.
Flow is adjustable by a switch in front. To clean, turn off, push a button and the canister is released from the tank. 4 large latches secure top of canister and easily pop up with minimal effort (unlike old multi-clip canisters). All baskets have small handles and are easily raised from canister. The large baskets can accomodate any media combination. When your maintenance is complete, simply return to tank, plug clip (from tank) into canister, open switch, pump twice (built in primer) and canister will fill. Turn on and walk away. I like simple, and this is it. Quality, simplicity, capacity...EHEIM IMO is absolutely the best. You get what you pay for...

------------------------------
Life is tough, it's even tougher if your stupid.

If your not angry, your not paying attention...

150G FWLR (Morays) 75G Fresh (Assrtd) 24G Cube (Reef/Goby) 10G Fresh (Beta)
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
2stpsfwd

Junior Member

Registered: May 2012
Location: Gulf Coast/US
Posts: 20
Review Date: Mon May 7, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy hose disconect no mess
Cons: ordering parts from canada, customs sloooooww.

 
Great filter easy to clean and operate, siphon pump makes starting a snap. I was disapointed with carbon material. I remove some substrate in top tray and put active carbon in nylon bags (2). Cut my own filter pads too sandwich bags between. Use small amounts in bag so they'll lay flat and speard out.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
2stpsfwd

Junior Member

Registered: May 2012
Location: Gulf Coast/US
Posts: 20
Review Date: Mon May 7, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

 
For people having problems with fish being sucked up, Eheim has a pre filter that sets on bottom and has a wide opening with a filter pad that can be removed and cleaned with out removing the entire device. Can be removed with grabber, weighted so it is easy to re-install. Extends time between filter cleaning.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
~firefly~

Evidence-based

Registered: May 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2766
Review Date: Sun May 13, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great control of water flow speed, easy to disconnect and clean
Cons: I didn't find the primer that easy to use to get it going

 
This is my current filter (being used on a 36 gallon tank which I know is obscene) and an investment choice as I'd like something bigger in a few years.

I'm really pleased with the filter. The flow control is excellent. Once installed it is easy to maintain and seems a very solid build when compared to other external filters on the market. It is what you would expect from an Eheim branded product.

I like the feature of the see through perspex canister and the capacity for filtration media is pretty huge.

This product has a nice dual tap stop which pops out in one piece when locked - a slick feature when you're in a hurry to access the canister and accounts for less drips in the bottom of the cabinet (when compared to locking and unscrewing individual intake/output valves).

Overall, a worthy investment.

------------------------------
"Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known." Carl Sagan
~ My 350 Litre Tank Journal ~
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.