Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food












  • Pin It

Poster Info

Saltwater Mafia
Posts: 3,905
Registered: December 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada

 

Hikari Tropical Micro Pellets
Reviews Views Date of last review
12 10918 Mon April 30, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $5.00 9.4

 

Description:
If you're looking for an alternative to flake foods, Hikari Micro Pellets are an excellent choice.

Manufactured using a modern Bio-Technology process which aids your tropical fish in maintaining brilliant colors in indoor aquariums year round.

Contains red, green and yellow granules each with different indispensable nutrients your fish require.

Red Granules - Animal origin Granules
Include high quality fish meal and well balanced amino acids offering excellent palatability.

Green Granules - Plant origin Granules
High in plant matter and dietary fiber which helps maintain healthy growth rates.

Yellow Granules - Vitamin & mineral Granules
Helps reduce stress while activating the immune system to reduce the chances of disease.

A semi-floating food, ideal for small mouthed tropical surface and mid-water feeders, that will not cloud your aquarium water.
Keywords: Hikari Tropical Micro Pellets Food

<<
excel.jpg 41G7IyZIpHL_SL500_AA280_.jpg hikarimicropellets.jpg 21tw8C87CGL_AA160_.jpg

 

Author
NickFish

Saltwater Mafia

Registered: December 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3905
Review Date: Mon April 28, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $5.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): all around AMAZING!!!
Cons: .....none that I have found yet

 
This is, in my opinion, THE best pellet food available for small tropical fish. of course, you must still feed occasional freeze-dried or frozen foods, as well as other supllements, as with any food, but this is an amazing staple.
I use it in all of my tanks, and I have found it to be the best. No downsides that I can find yet. The packaging keeps it fresh longer, and it is a pellet so there is no risk of it clogging fish intestines like flake foods may do.

I highly recommend this product.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
AABatteries

AC Editor

Registered: December 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3029
Review Date: Wed November 5, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything
Cons: Little pricey

 
Great product, fish seem to like it more than flakes.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Red

Senior Member

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 12427
Review Date: Tue December 9, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): top notch food
Cons: bit pricey

 
Very good quality food. Worth the money. Fish love it and also is hikari which means high quality.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Gemini

Senior Member

Registered: April 2008
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 1769
Review Date: Sun July 26, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fish love it!
Cons:

 
My GBRs hang out at the top of the tank for feeds, ever since I started feeding this. My tetras chase it all over the tank. The corys seem to enjoy hovering up any that makes it to the gravel too!! 100% recommend this product for all small community fish!!!

------------------------------
Fish are friends, not an expendable entertainment device!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
smaug

outgrew ac

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 11861
Review Date: Sat October 3, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

 
the perfect food for small fish
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Lab_Rat

Got fry?

Registered: June 2008
Location: Deep, deep South
Posts: 6882
Review Date: Mon October 26, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great for small fish
Cons: none that I've seen

 
Great for small fish as an alternative to flake. Hikari is a very trusted brand and I've had nothing but good experiences with their foods.

------------------------------
Quote Originally Posted by i_am_511
Lighten up its just the internet its not like someone came in your house and punched a baby in the face.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
annageckos

Animal Obsessed

Registered: January 2009
Location: NJ/PA, USA
Posts: 2894
Review Date: Mon December 28, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good ingredients, fish like it, does not cloud the water
Cons: costly

 
very small pellets, even my neons and ember tetras can eat this food with no problem. Fish really seem to like this food.

------------------------------
55 planted Community
30 planted

This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
wolf_eyes

Unoffical Queen of Cories

Registered: October 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1361
Review Date: Sat February 6, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): eaten eagerly, won't get stuck in fish's mouth like some bigger pellets
Cons: still too big for baby/micro fish

 
This is a great staple for fish 1 inch and bigger. It is eaten eagerly by all the fish I gave it to and the pygmy cories I have love it. The only problem I have with it is micro rasboras and other fish under an inch still have trouble eating it. If you have any of these fish, it is best to go with a quick sinking flake.

------------------------------
30gL heavily planted: south american community tank
15g mod. planted: nano fish community tank
6g long(custom tank) mod planted: 6 bettas w/ dividers
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit wolf_eyes's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Cliff

Moderator

Registered: January 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 18182
Review Date: Fri July 30, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): My fish LOVE it
Cons: small package size

 
Ive used this product for my fry once they start getting a little bigger. They go nuts over this food, more so than other foods that I have tried. One of the best extra small pellet foods out there

------------------------------
If you take your time to do the research FIRST, you can successfully set-up and keep ANY type of aquarium with ease.
"Not using a quarantine tank is like playing Russian roulette. Nobody wins the game, some people just get to play longer than others." - Anthony Calfo
Fishless Cycle Cycling with Fish http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aquariumforum/showthread.php?t=76398] Marine Aquarium Info [/URL] [URL="http://saltwater.aquaticcommunity.com/"]
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Trillianne

*insert witty title*

Registered: April 2010
Location: Seattle Side of the Mountains
Posts: 2531
Review Date: Sat September 11, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Well accepted by my fish
Cons: finding it in the stores!

 
I got a sample size of these pellets with my sinking wafers for my bottom feeders..... The fish loved it! It did sink a bit faster than the NLS .5mm size which can be good if you have a variety of fish with some top and some mid-feeders.

------------------------------
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Cascade

Member

Registered: April 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 441
Review Date: Thu April 7, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Small size, great quality, very popular with the fish
Cons: Sometimes difficult to find in stock

 
This is hands-down the best fish food I have ever used. I had some picky fish a while back that refused everything until I tried these micro pellets. They are a great size for my tetras, and I love that I can make some float at first and make some sink (by "throwing" them at the surface of the water), which ensures everyone gets a chance to eat.

Comically, my tetras will sometimes spit out the yellow pellets (the "vitamins") and go for the red and green ones first, but eventually they are all eaten before hitting the gravel.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
pjoo1120

Member

Registered: February 2012
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 206
Review Date: Mon April 30, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): High quality food
Cons: Price

 
Great staple for smaller fish. Only problem I had was that the pellets are so small that they were getting stuck underneath my fingernails. A minor annoyance which I fixed by using a salt shaker. Problem solved!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.