Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food



filtration_cutout.png









  • Pin It

Poster Info

Flowerhorn Guru
Posts: 1,682
Registered: December 2008
Location: Indy

 

whisper whisper ex
Reviews Views Date of last review
3 6746 Mon March 29, 2010
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 8.0

 

Description:
Unlike other filters, the Whisper® EX contains multiple layers of progressively denser floss to remove even the smallest particles from the water. The carbon inside eliminates odors, discoloration and, most importantly, harmful toxins. Finally, the BioScrubber® removes ammonia and nitrites that are deadly to your fish.
Keywords: whisper

<<
filter1.gif Pro_II.jpg filtration_cutout.png pro75.gif emperor280_268.jpg
>>

 

Author
jaysee


Registered: February 2009
Location: Brigantine, NJ
Posts: 3584
Review Date: Sat May 30, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Seperate biological filter, self priming, cartridge bag is nice, intake tube extenders, can operate at low water levels
Cons: Shape makes using custom media more difficult, high potential for problems

 
Nice filter. I have the EX30 and EX45 on 20G and 29G tanks respectively. I dump out the carbon and put a couple biomaxx bags in instead. For the high potential for problems - the motor is inside the tank and the intake tube connects to a U joint that dumps the water into the media compartment. The connection for the intake to the U joint is this crude rubber connecter - half around one side and the other half around the other. Should that connection come loose, the motor will continue to pump water which ends up everywhere BUT in the filter. Happened to me once when playing with the filter.

------------------------------
125 - BGK, pictus cats, silver dollars, kissing gouramis, palmas bichir, delhezi bichir
125 - Red severum, bolivian rams, Turquoise rainbows, irian red rainbows, loaches (angelicus, zebra, kuhli and horseface), plecos (BN, RL and clown), denison barbs, pearl gouramis
90 - Congo tetras, african knife, elephant nose, spotted ctenopoma, upside down cats

QTs - 29, 20H, 20L, 10
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
deonild

Member

Registered: June 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 110
Review Date: Thu July 9, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet, Great water flow, Easy to replace media
Cons: Not for still water aquariums

 
This is my first filter, so I don't have any other experiences to compare to. However, I am very satisfied with it. As they advertise, the water flow is very well designed. I have the Whisper EX 45 on a 30 gallon long and if I put it on the side of the tank it's pretty much rapids throughout. When on the back, to one side, half the tank is calmer. This filter has a timer you replace along with new media and activate telling you how long till the carbon needs to be replaced, which is very handy. The Bioscrubber which is separate from the carbon filter stays in and keeps the bacteria. If you like a peaceful and subtle waterfall sound just drop the water level an inch - there is no water movement sound when water is filled at 1 inch from lip. Has intake downspout extenders for 12" high, 16-18", and taller aquariums for optimum water flow. Also, it looks nice, sleek and up-to-date, all black.

------------------------------
30 Gal Long: 1 Opaline Gourami, 1 Female Cambodian Crowntail Betta, 10 Red Eye Tetra, a few Pond Snails.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
paulmac
Junior Member

Registered: January 2010
Posts: 5
Review Date: Mon March 29, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet, self starting, filter replacement gauge, quick chang of filter media.
Cons: Mine leaked - see below

 
I like this filter, unfortunatly I received a defective unit. After hooking it up, I noticed the water level in the tank had dropped. I topped it off, it dropped again. Turned out the unit had a pin hole in the bottom of the part that hangs outside the tank. I was able to repair the leak by basically re-melting the plastic. This was only temporary as I contacted Tetra via e-mail and they are sending a replacement filter. Lesson learned before installing anything like this fill with water and check for leaks.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.