Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food












  • Pin It

Poster Info

Flowerhorn Guru
Posts: 1,682
Registered: December 2008
Location: Indy

 

coralife skimmer
Reviews Views Date of last review
3 5721 Tue May 27, 2014
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $119.50 8.7

 

Description:
Features

Dual Application System: Hang-on Tank Mount or Sump Hook-up
Easy-twist Collection Cup
Water-level Adjustment Dial
Bubble-production Diffuser
High-grade Acrylic Construction with Custom Components
Patented Needle-wheel System with Aspirating Venturi
Includes Needle-Wheel Water Pump with Air Inlet Silencer
Keywords: skimmer

<<
p-73758-55545-fish-supply.jpg p-12016-42146-fish-food1.jpg

 

Author
labnjab

Senior Member

Registered: July 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 4509
Review Date: Fri January 2, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Works great
Cons: A little noisy, tempermental at water changes

 
I have the one rated for a 65 gallon in the sump for our reef and love it. I've also used it as a HOB before I set up the sump and it is equally as great. Once broken in, it removes plenty of stuff from the water. It does occasionally go on the fritz at water changes and is slightly noisy, but overall for the price its a great skimmer

------------------------------

29 gallon-planted community

20 long frag tank
75 gal-planted goldfish

75 gallon mixed reef with 20 gallon sump





This user is online
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Strider199

Go Seahawks

Registered: December 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2762
Review Date: Wed February 20, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $139.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): The cost was very reasonable, no micro bubbles.
Cons: Haven't come across any yet.

 
This is my first skimmer so I do not have alot of experience with such products. After reading about noise, micro bubbles, and cost I was a bit worried that a skimmer of this price would not be suitable. My sump (I only run this in a sump), does not let any micro bubbles into the main tank, the noise isn't a factor. This skimmer is fairly quiet. My tank is in the living room, not one family member has spoken of any noise issues coming from the tank. I went through the break in period and then adjusted it as per instructions. The skimmer pulls out the junk well. The cup is easy to remove and drain. So far I am happy with this purchase.

------------------------------
Warning; Bulldog Pleco guarding my Sons tank now..

Please remember; every keystroke has a consequence.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
AquariGod
Junior Member

Registered: April 2014
Posts: 21
Review Date: Tue May 27, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $100.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Pulls skim out rapidly based on settings, fits in sump nicely, sturdy, reliable AFTER break-in period, no microbubbles, quiet.
Cons: can be finnicky if your water level isn't always consistent, instructions were crap but easy enough to build without them.

 
Pretty decent skimmer, exactly what you would expect. it works well, and it's not noisy unless your water level is too low. Otherwise, it does it's job, and it does it well.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.