Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food



hagenaquaclear70.jpg









  • Pin It

Poster Info

guru at being an expert
Posts: 6,156
Registered: May 2006
Location: SoCal

 

Hagen AquaClear HOB filters
Reviews Views Date of last review
38 33495 Mon March 17, 2014
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $39.32 9.3

 

Description:
AquaClear Hang on back filters provide three way mechanical, biological, and chemical filtration. They are powerful and quite quiet. They also feature a flow control knob, perfect for feeding time.
Keywords: hagen aquaclear filter hob hang on back

<<
pPETS-3756646t400.jpg FluvalFX5.jpg hagenaquaclear70.jpg

 

Author
Incredulous_Ed

guru at being an expert

Registered: May 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 6156
Review Date: Mon April 28, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $28.99 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quiet, powerful
Cons: somewhat hard to set up

 
Works pretty good. Has plenty of space to put extra media. Super quiet.

------------------------------
CORRECTED video of my fish. This link works. For sure. Really.

Tanks:
20g long: 4 panda cories, 1 honey gourami, 1 apistogramma borellii, 1 male cacatuoides
20g High: 3 bolivian rams, 12 rasboras
8g hex: empty
5g: empty
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
NickFish

Saltwater Mafia

Registered: December 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3905
Review Date: Mon April 28, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to use, cheap, flexible, quiet, strong flow.
Cons: difficult to adjust flow rate

 
I use these on all my tanks, they are very flexible and can accomodate a wide variety of filter media. They are not as good as some canisters, but at a fraction of the price they are well worth it, especially if you are on a budget.
The best HOBs out there IME.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
swales

Member

Registered: August 2007
Posts: 161
Review Date: Mon April 28, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Flexible (media), cheap, and durable
Cons: Flow adjustment

 
These are my favorite HOB filters commonly available.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
sandy_n

sandy

Registered: March 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 3161
Review Date: Wed April 30, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet, pushes a lot of water, flexible
Cons: I can't think of any at this oint.

 
I've used the bio wheels before and the AC110 is superior imo. It turns over some 500 and some odd gallons of water each hour. There is enough movement that I don't have any "dead" spots in the water. It is quiet which is good because noisy filters just drive me nuts. The media basket is very flexible as far as what you want to put into it. I've been very pleased with this filter.

------------------------------
You can't play nice with people who don't play by the rules!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
MeganL3985

#1 Steelers Fan!

Registered: June 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4404
Review Date: Wed May 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cleans Very Well, Quiet, & Adjustable
Cons: Setup A Little Confusing At First.....

 
I bought the Aquaclear 50 to replace my BIO-wheel, last year. So far I am very happy with my purchase. I love the adjustablity of the water flow, how quiet it is compared to the BIO-wheel and also the space inside to put extra filter media. I was able to put a phosphate reducing pad inside without compromising the fit of the other filter media. So far I have not had any problems. :)

The only thing that was frustrating was the set up, for the first time. I was used to the simple BIO wheel setup, so it took a bit to understand the different media, their use and how to put it together. After first time its simple.

------------------------------
*Keep Smiling, It Makes People Wonder What Your Up To*

Tanks-
55 Gallon--On Hold, In Storage...
20 Gallon High--Tetra and Cory's
5 Gallon Hex--Guppies (3 Female, 2 Male)
2.5 Gallon Mini Bow--Future ADF Habitat
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
travie

Senior Member

Registered: November 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2294
Review Date: Tue November 11, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Strong flow, lots of media options
Cons: Flow has 2 settings, loud when water level is low

 
The best HOB filter. It creates a strong flow. The internal setup allows for a lot of media options to suit the users needs. The filter can be loud when the water level is low. Provides good filtration on all 3 levels.

------------------------------
Stock the tank you have, not the tank you plan to have. Always have and use patience.
- 29g FW - Community
- 55g SW - Blue Watchman Goby, Royal Gramma, 6-Line Wrasse, 2 Ocellaris Clownfish, and various corals and inverts
For those of you who want a SW tank and never have had one before or just starting out, read this blog entry from my blog on AC, it will give you a place to start.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Demjor19

Senior Member

Registered: October 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 2203
Review Date: Wed November 12, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tons of room for added filter media
Cons: Very fragile filter housing

 
I would recommend the Aquaclear filters over any other HOB filters on the market...and I have used just about all of the major competitors products.

------------------------------
-Jordan
Gar connaisseur

Predatory Tank:
20" Tropical Gar, 18" Florida Gar, 20" Longnose Gar,
17" Ornate Bichir, 25" Silver Arowana, 16" Bowfin, 15" Giant Gourami

16" Male Dovii
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Red

Senior Member

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 12427
Review Date: Sun November 16, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): good filter
Cons: $$$ sometimes noisy

 
Sometimes noisy and a bit expensive all around great filter... And its hold's a lot of media which is great!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
gourami*girl

Member

Registered: August 2008
Location: Dela-where?
Posts: 399
Review Date: Mon December 1, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $29.99 | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lots of room for filter medium, reliable
Cons: a little pricey

 
Best readily available HOB filter! I have a Aquaclear 20 for my 10 gallon tank. Has lots of room for filter medium and includes ceramic beads for biological filtration. Reliable and reasonably quiet, although I think it's a bit louder than my Whisper filter. At only 5-10 dollars more than the Whisper filter, it's worth the extra money.

------------------------------
20 gallon tank - harlequin rasboras, rummynose tetras, panda corys, one lone pygmy cory that didn't die when the others did.

10 gallon tank - planned planted with tetras and red cherry shrimp?
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
doug z

Planted FW Junkie

Registered: January 2008
Location: Mackenzie, BC
Posts: 3566
Review Date: Wed December 3, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy set-up, relatively quiet, not as expensive as a cannister filter.
Cons: not even close to as much media as a cannister. Not for overstocked tanks, unless multiple units used..

 
This is a good option for my QT tank.

The sponge filter was keeping my boy up at night (noise from air pump, bubbling).. :)

------------------------------
75g - 20 cardinals : 7 panda cory : 5 Julii cory : 9 zebra danios : 1 CAE : 2 SAE : 2 yo-yos : 1 BN
25g: 5 long-finned zebra danios
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Wild Turkey

Forum Flunkie

Registered: March 2008
Location: Annapolis Maryland
Posts: 11464
Review Date: Sat December 6, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Readily available, simple design, effective, cheaper than other filter types.
Cons: This filter does not tolerate small amounts of sand or dirt well.

 
As far as Hobs go this is the go-to filter. Good flow rates, simple but effective design and easily changeable and affordable media keep AC customers coming back when they can afford to.

These filters are the pricey-ist of theyre genre, but well worth it IMO.

This filter does not tolerate small amounts of sand or dirt well. They can become noisy easier than most filters and need cleaning often to resolve the issue.

------------------------------

This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Jacko

Party in the USA

Registered: May 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1251
Review Date: Sun December 14, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quiet, sleek and purty
Cons: pricy, doesn't like sand

 
I prefer this HOB to my whisper and tetra brands, it's sleeker than the whisper which means I can get the tank closer to the wall and it doesn't stick out as much, though I can't put things on top of it. It's pretty nifty to look at and only becomes loud when one of my fish kicks up some sand.

I'm running an old AC 200, been working for 20 some odd years and still functions great. Definitly a good filter. Looked at getting a few others but the price dettered me and ended up getting cheaper brands, beginning to regret it now.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Collin1104

Member

Registered: December 2007
Location: florida
Posts: 373
Review Date: Sun December 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

 
I've had my AC110 for 3 years and it still works perfect, on the other hand, both of my bio-wheels broke within the first 6 months and are now very loud due to a damaged impeller housing! the aquaclear is also perfect for putting medicine in a tank because all you have to do is take the carbon bag out, unlike the bio-wheels pads that have the carbon attached (sorry lol that really bothers me)
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
gm72

Honored

Registered: March 2007
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 10933
Review Date: Fri December 26, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Flexibility for media, durability, stability, noise
Cons: None

 
I run these filters on 6 of my 14 tanks. They are noise-free for the most part except when the impellor begins to clog, which is infrequent if you are to use a sponge prefilter on the inlet. Maintenance is a snap, the motor assembly twists off and allows easy access to the impellor. Replacement parts are reasonably priced and easily accessible. Media capacity is outstanding and is as flexible as you have need. I have yet to have one of these filters malfunction over years of constant use.

------------------------------
8 tanks running now:
1x 220 gallon, 2x55 gallon, 1x40 gallon long, 1x29 gallon, 1x20 gallon long, 1x5.5 gallon, 1x2 gallon
Gouramis, barbs, rasboras, plecos, corys, tetras, fancy guppies, swordtails, ottos, rainbow shark, upside-down catfish, snails, and Max and Sparkles the bettas.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat February 21, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lots of room for media, easy to maintain, fairly quiet.
Cons: None.

 
This is, over all, the best hang-on power filter I've ever owned. It's extremely versatile in that you can use any media (or combination of) in it that you want, unlike the cartridge types, which don't have space for anything but the replacement cartridge. It's also very easy to service and fairly quiet, as well, and you can decrease the flow for tanks with fish that don't like strong water currents, without losing filtering capacity, since the filter is designed to recirculate a portion of the water when you cut back the flow output, effectively filtering a portion of the water over again, which equals even cleaner water. I also like the transparent body, which allows you to see when the media needs cleaning. I can't think of any negatives. I highly recommend this filter.
This user is offline
 
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.