Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food



hagenaquaclear70.jpg









  • Pin It

Poster Info

guru at being an expert
Posts: 6,156
Registered: May 2006
Location: SoCal

 

Hagen AquaClear HOB filters
Reviews Views Date of last review
38 33465 Mon March 17, 2014
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $39.32 9.3

 

Description:
AquaClear Hang on back filters provide three way mechanical, biological, and chemical filtration. They are powerful and quite quiet. They also feature a flow control knob, perfect for feeding time.
Keywords: hagen aquaclear filter hob hang on back

<<
pPETS-3756646t400.jpg FluvalFX5.jpg hagenaquaclear70.jpg

 

Author
ridgenesss

Member

Registered: March 2012
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL
Posts: 338
Review Date: Wed March 28, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Affordable
Cons: clogs easily

 
This was my very first filter i ever purchased. I used the aquaclear 50 model on my 20gal high and was very pleased. It primes very easily, media is easily changed and it provides crystal clear water. I like the fact that you can add whatever media you want and the media basket removes easily. The one drawback is that when linking multiple intake tubes together for taller tanks, debris can get trapped where the two tubes meet.

------------------------------
40 Gallon Breeder Planted: harlequin rasbora rummynose tetra corydoras cherry barbs

40 Gallon Breeder Reef: In progress!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
PhillipOrigami

Through a glass onion

Registered: March 2012
Location: Central California
Posts: 1125
Review Date: Wed April 4, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Ingenious design, easy to use, reliable, works perfect, convenient
Cons: Give me 25 years and I won't think of one...

 
Great filter. Has a versatile basket for media, and is super convenient with ingenious design. 10/10.

------------------------------
Its Phillip, not Origami.
Join the 10+ club

Clicky!
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=184368
^Read
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Fishman2012

Junior Member

Registered: May 2012
Posts: 10
Review Date: Mon May 28, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quiet, cheap, easy to maintain
Cons: none

 
great product, been using it for 5 years and it still works fine. Allows you to mix up filtration media to your requirements.
highly recommend this product
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
daimen123

Member

Registered: June 2012
Location: Sydney australia
Posts: 334
Review Date: Sun June 24, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): massive media space
Cons: a bit hard to set up

 
Good hob filter probably the best on the market I have the ac110 and it it great

------------------------------
4ft mbuna mangaino and yellows
4ft rainbow tank
4ft planted community
16g nano planted shrimp and neon tetras
10g nano reef
This user is online
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
MandyK

Senior Member

Registered: May 2012
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1732
Review Date: Thu September 13, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet most of the time, easy to access and clean, does the job!
Cons: A little bit big for a HOB, but is necessary I suppose.

 
I love this HOB! The only thing that I would change if I could would be the width, but this makes it easy to access so it evens out. Really does the job!

------------------------------
130g: 4 Angelfish, 2 Roseline Sharks, 2 Conga Tetras, 5 Kuhli Loaches, 1 Otocinslus, 1 Corydora
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit MandyK's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
balt

Dude

Registered: July 2012
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 257
Review Date: Sat October 27, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet, easy to monitor, flexible filter media
Cons: None

 
The ability to see the filtration media makes this product line especially great. Since the plastic body is a transparent smokey color it's possible to monitor the condition of the filter media. When I see that the foam is dirty, I simply clean it. Generally, the more room you have for filter media the better, so I picked the largest HOB that didn't look ridiculous on my tank. I ended up with an AC30 on my 10 gallon and mounted it on one side, not the back. I looked at a pair of AC70's for my 55 gallon before I decided to go with an Eheim canister. That tank will not have a background so I wanted to minimize the appearance of equipment. Overall, my AC HOB performs perfectly.

------------------------------
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
pRED

Member

Registered: March 2013
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 512
Review Date: Fri January 31, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $79.95 | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Flow
Cons: Downtubes color

 
Prolly the best HOB on the market. My AC50 is super quiet, but recent purchase of AC110 is noticeably louder from motor
area. I do not like the color of downtubes but heh the flow is awesome.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Compass

Keeper of the Crypts

Registered: November 2012
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4172
Review Date: Mon March 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): More room than most HOBs for media. Quiet.
Cons: None

 
Great for smaller tanks if you are not wanting to invest in a canister filter.

------------------------------
Increasing your biodiversity increases your stability.

You know what this tank needs? ........................ Crypts.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.