Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food












  • Pin It

Poster Info

Senior Member
Posts: 12,427
Registered: March 2008

 

NutraFin Plant Gro CO2 system
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 22074 Fri November 5, 2010
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $21.00 6.6

 

Description:
Release the natural beauty of your planted aquarium. The CO2 Natural Plant System helps you achieve beautiful, thriving live aquatic plants, and ultimately, a heathier aquarium. This simple to use system releases CO2 into your aquarium for up to 30 days. Employing a natural fermentation process for CO2 eliminates the need for inconvenient pressurized canisters. Easy to clean and restart. Complete system includes Fermentation Canister, a pateneted bubble counter/diffuser and 3 activator-stabilizer tablets. Each tablet set works up to one month.
Keywords: co2 plants

<<
Marina_Easy_Clean_Gravel_Vac.jpg Marina_Alge_Scrubber.jpg

 

Author
Red

Senior Member

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 12427
Review Date: Tue December 9, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $26.99 | Rating: 6 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): good for plants
Cons: a pain to setup and stinks

 
I had no luck with this, and it was a pain to refill. I was such a hassle i just gave up on it and tossed it.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
ILuvMyGoldBarb

Marine Tank Addict

Registered: February 2008
Posts: 10336
Review Date: Sat December 20, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $15.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to use basic setup
Cons: inefficient delivery system

 
This is a good starter kit for the beginner just getting into using CO2 injection. The bubble ladder is not the best method for delivering the CO2 but it does work. If this is used with a diffuser it works much better. Only good for tanks up to 30 gallons, beyond that it does little good.

------------------------------
Considering a Marine Aquarium? A Breakdown of the Components, Live Rock, Cycling a Marine Tank

"The capacity to learn is a gift; The ability to learn is a skill; The WILLINGNESS to learn is a choice." - Unknown
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
DrNic

Scientist

Registered: September 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3100
Review Date: Sun May 31, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good CO2 starter
Cons: A little bulky

 
A good starter CO2 generation unit. A little bulky as it hangs off the tank. I found the ladder works great but others seem to disagree. The unit will only get smelly if you leave the yeast in too long. If you change the sugar/yeast solution regularly there should be no issue. I would suggest getting a check valve for the output to avoid letting yeasty liquid into the tank.

------------------------------
75G Coldwater Setup (May 2011)
Angelfish Fry Development Project

This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
deonild

Member

Registered: June 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 110
Review Date: Thu July 30, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): ladder might be nice with better luck, reactor might be good design for something of it's small caliber, reactor hangs on tank
Cons: bubbles hardly ever get into the diffuser, bubble rate is horrible

 
I am very dissappointed with this product. I didn't want an expensive Co2 system, but I wanted something that worked well. This is rated up to 20 gallons, and I bought it for my 30 gallon to make a small difference. However, I wouldn't even get it for a 20 gallon.

The reactor has some safety function of releasing gas if it builds up to be too much, and it hangs on the back to be out-of-the way, that's nice. The diffuser is nice, in my opinion, however, the way of getting bubbles into the diffuser seems very haphazard.

My big problem with this system is, it says it lasts for 28 days. I have had it running for 10 days. Day 2-4 it was working nicely, a bubble every 2 seconds and 90% getting into the diffuser. However, after day 5 it started to slow, and now at day 10 there's only a bubble every 26 seconds. It's supposed to last 28 days and I doubt 2 bubbles a minute, or less to come, is close at all to the "recommended amount". Also, in the last 5 days, less and less of the less bubbles are getting into the diffuser. At day 10, out of recommended 28, I'm getting a bubble every 26 seconds, and only 10% are getting into diffuser. That's right, 1 bubble every 5 minutes gets into the diffuser.

Some aspects of my tank:
My tank is not at any angle, so that isn't causing bubbles avoiding diffuser.
I did cut airtube and put a cheap check valve in, that might be slowing the bubbles per second somewhat, but I'm still very disappointed.

------------------------------
30 Gal Long: 1 Opaline Gourami, 1 Female Cambodian Crowntail Betta, 10 Red Eye Tetra, a few Pond Snails.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Amonroe
Junior Member

Registered: November 2010
Posts: 5
Review Date: Fri November 5, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Works great for such little costs.
Cons: NONE

 
I don't know what everyone else is talking about but I had this on a 75 gallon and it made noticeable improvements to plant life. The key is to make your own co2 mix with yeast - water - sugar (Google how to) and change it out every week or sooner if you see it slowing down. But be careful and let it off gas OFF the tank for a couple hours on every refill or you will do what I did TWICE and blow a bunch of yeast into the tank. What a mess to clean up. Ha ha... But once you get it down it can add a lot of co2 for a small price. And I think the ladder works great, just make sure it is level and hose is connected right. I love this little thing. By the way, I rarely rate things a 10 but I really think this deserves it.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.