Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food



magfloat.jpg









  • Pin It

Poster Info

Senior Member
Posts: 12,427
Registered: March 2008

 

Mag Float
Reviews Views Date of last review
10 22466 Mon April 30, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $10.00 8.7

 

Description:
A revolutionary magnetic aquarium cleaner designed to float. Because it floats, the Mag-Float can easily be guided around corners without sinking and the cleaning brush remains free of sand or gravel which keeps your aquarium from being scratched. Strong magnets allow the Mag-Float to easily clean algae.
Keywords: mag float algae cleaner

<<
Marina_Easy_Clean_Gravel_Vac.jpg Marina_Alge_Scrubber.jpg

 

Author
Red

Senior Member

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 12427
Review Date: Tue December 9, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): works great
Cons: $$

 
Works great. But these things are so dang expensive for some reason. but awesome for tanks..
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
ILuvMyGoldBarb

Marine Tank Addict

Registered: February 2008
Posts: 10336
Review Date: Sat December 20, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very convenient
Cons: Expensive

 
Wonderful product for cleaning the inside of a tank. The magnet could stand to be a bit stronger, but still an excellent tool. These come in very handy in a marine tank where algae cleaning is a regular task. I leave my large Magfloat in my reef tank all the time.

------------------------------
Considering a Marine Aquarium? A Breakdown of the Components, Live Rock, Cycling a Marine Tank

"The capacity to learn is a gift; The ability to learn is a skill; The WILLINGNESS to learn is a choice." - Unknown
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
leggomypleco

Flowerhorn Guru

Registered: December 2008
Location: Indy
Posts: 1682
Review Date: Sun December 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

 
A MUST HAVE

------------------------------
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
DrNic

Scientist

Registered: September 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3100
Review Date: Sun May 31, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Works well
Cons: Expensive and can damage silicon seals

 
They work well for removing algae. They are rather expensive however. They can also damage the silicon seal on the tanks if used too close to the edge.

------------------------------
75G Coldwater Setup (May 2011)
Angelfish Fry Development Project

This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Lab_Rat

Got fry?

Registered: June 2008
Location: Deep, deep South
Posts: 6882
Review Date: Mon October 26, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Works great
Cons: price

 
Works super well, a bit expensive but will last a long time.

------------------------------
Quote Originally Posted by i_am_511
Lighten up its just the internet its not like someone came in your house and punched a baby in the face.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
wolf_eyes

Unoffical Queen of Cories

Registered: October 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1361
Review Date: Sat February 6, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): work well, don't have to get hands wet
Cons: can scratch glass if not careful

 
I didn't want to buy one of these because of the price at first but after getting knot algae in my tank, I finally broke down and bought one. I honestly have to say that I am very happy I did. It makes cleaning algae out of my tanks easy and quick. I don't have to get my whole arm wet to clean the tank. I still find it freaks the fish out, but not as bad as my whole hand being in the tank. A word of advise though, make sure there are no grains of sand attached to the magnet every time. I have a few scratches on my glass because of very small pieces that got caught in it. Other than that, this is well worth the price and will last you a very long time.

------------------------------
30gL heavily planted: south american community tank
15g mod. planted: nano fish community tank
6g long(custom tank) mod planted: 6 bettas w/ dividers
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit wolf_eyes's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
gadget228

Senior Member

Registered: November 2009
Location: Southern Ohio
Posts: 4590
Review Date: Thu August 12, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Works great, easy to switch between tank panels
Cons: Little pricey

 
Easy to use, to switch from the side glass to the front just drag it toward the front and pull the outer magnet away from the glass. Place the outer magnet on the front glass and the inner magnet will reattach itself.

------------------------------
.
You're getting old when you get the same sensation from a rocking chair that you once got from a roller coaster.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
funkman262

Senior Member

Registered: July 2010
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 1136
Review Date: Thu November 11, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Works great
Cons: None

 
It might be a tad bit pricey but it's really a one-time investment. It's so easy to use and if they detach, it'll just float to the top so you don't need to reach in to retrieve it. I love also being able to go from one glass to the next without needing to moving it from inside the tank. Highly recommend.

------------------------------
funkman262's 90g Planted Tank Journal
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Cliff

Moderator

Registered: January 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17991
Review Date: Wed March 23, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Works well
Cons: none really

 
I started using one of these a few weeks ago in my reef tank

Seams to work really well if you go over the same spot twice. But then again, coraline is hard to clean off

------------------------------
If you take your time to do the research FIRST, you can successfully set-up and keep ANY type of aquarium with ease.
"Not using a quarantine tank is like playing Russian roulette. Nobody wins the game, some people just get to play longer than others." - Anthony Calfo
Fishless Cycle Cycling with Fish http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aquariumforum/showthread.php?t=76398] Marine Aquarium Info [/URL] [URL="http://saltwater.aquaticcommunity.com/"]
This user is online
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
pjoo1120

Member

Registered: February 2012
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 206
Review Date: Mon April 30, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $10.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Works well, simple yet effective
Cons: Expensive, bad fit/finish

 
Product works great at scrubbing tank walls. Fun to use in a way and stays in the water so you can use it whenever you find a patch of growth. However, it is pricy... $10 for essentially two magnets and some fabric. Probably could have DIY'd one for less, but whatever. But to top it off, the one I got had fit and finish issue, the scrubbing side wasn't installed on center, so there's a little bit of overhang. Not enough to return it, but annoying given the price paid.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.