Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food












  • Pin It

Poster Info

Marine Tank Addict
Posts: 10,336
Registered: February 2008

 

Marine Land Emperor 280 & 400
Reviews Views Date of last review
23 11345 Tue October 23, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $35.00 8.1

 

Description:
The Emperor series of HOB filters are Marineland's top line of Powerfilters. The biggest thing that differentiates these from the Penguin models is the spraybar behind the bio-wheel(s). The Emperor Models also have larger filter pads. Both the 280 and 400 take the same size cartridge which is very convenient. Both models also come with extra media baskets which allow for a variety of different media.
Keywords: HOB, Emperor, Bio-wheel

<<
filtration_cutout.png pro75.gif emperor280_268.jpg Eheim_Classics.jpg
>>

 

Author
ILuvMyGoldBarb

Marine Tank Addict

Registered: February 2008
Posts: 10336
Review Date: Mon December 8, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $40.00 | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Highly efficient biofilter
Cons: not good for planted tanks

 
I love my Emperor 400. It can handle high bioload tanks with ease. Not the quietest filter on the market but that is to be expected from a HOB filter. One of the very best HOB filters for the money.

------------------------------
Considering a Marine Aquarium? A Breakdown of the Components, Live Rock, Cycling a Marine Tank

"The capacity to learn is a gift; The ability to learn is a skill; The WILLINGNESS to learn is a choice." - Unknown
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Red

Senior Member

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 12427
Review Date: Mon December 8, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): cheap great biofilter
Cons:

 
Agreed with above, great for the money. I use it on a 6 tanks..
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
leggomypleco

Flowerhorn Guru

Registered: December 2008
Location: Indy
Posts: 1682
Review Date: Sat December 13, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): cheap
Cons: none

 
good deal and great biofilter

------------------------------
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
AABatteries

AC Editor

Registered: December 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3027
Review Date: Sat December 27, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Efficient
Cons: Ongoing cost

 
These work great, but the price of having to keep buying the bio-wheels is the only downside.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri January 2, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy maintenance, media baskets for different types of media,
Cons: noisy, needs 6" of space behind tank.

 
Great filter, used filter baskets with micron pads cut to size. Had a crystal clear tank. Zero ammonia. It needs 6" of space behind tank. If it was quieter, it would be a 10.
This user is offline
 
sandy_n

sandy

Registered: March 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 3161
Review Date: Wed January 28, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Works well
Cons: Noisy

 
This filter works well although I found it to be a little noisier than I like.

------------------------------
You can't play nice with people who don't play by the rules!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
terrapin24h

Senior Member

Registered: May 2008
Posts: 1388
Review Date: Thu May 28, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): good filtration both bio and physcial good current and water movement
Cons: can get noisy

 
Mine tended to be noisy, but only due to the water fall sounds it made because of the bio wheel. It is a good filter, well built and moves alot of water.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
1fastneonrt

Junior Member

Registered: January 2009
Location: Grafton Ohio
Posts: 23
Review Date: Wed August 19, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to clean, Affordable, Bio Filtration +++++, Last
Cons: A little noisy, Takes up some space behind the tank,

 
This filter would be easy to forget if you didn't look at it. It is very easy to clean with replaceable filter pads that slides in and out the top. The Bio-wheels never need to be touched once the aquarium is up and running. This filter can handle heavily stocked tanks from 45-75 gallons nicely. I have one that has been in operation for the past 14 years. I would have rated it a 10 but the filter does make a slight gurgle noise.

------------------------------
75Gal.Lake Malawi Cichlids
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
AdrienDeLaChicago

Member

Registered: August 2009
Posts: 289
Review Date: Thu September 24, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): I don't know, It's too noisy for me.
Cons: Unacceptably NOISY!!!

 
This filter may do a good job at filtering the water but I live in a small studio apartment and I can hear this filter everywhere in my apartment. It has this faint rattling, humming washer machine sound. It's driving me crazy.

I rode my bike over 5 miles one way to buy this filter from a vendor whom I like to support. I'm taking it back tomorrow. I need it quiet.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
smaug

Banned

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 11861
Review Date: Sat October 3, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): strongly built
Cons: a bit noisy

 
Ive had one of these in constant use for 3 yrs
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Lab_Rat

Got fry?

Registered: June 2008
Location: Deep, deep South
Posts: 6882
Review Date: Mon October 26, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good filtration
Cons: Very noisy, there are better HOBs on the market

 
Very noisy filter. Had the Emperor 400 and it was difficult to prime and start up each time I turned it off. Not much room for media, overall would not buy again and would not recommend.

------------------------------
Quote Originally Posted by i_am_511
Lighten up its just the internet its not like someone came in your house and punched a baby in the face.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Wild Turkey

Forum Flunkie

Registered: March 2008
Location: Annapolis Maryland
Posts: 11464
Review Date: Tue December 22, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Works as advertised
Cons: Noisy

 
Was my nosiest filter by far when I ran it, other than that no problems.

------------------------------

This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Scrup

Memento vivere...

Registered: October 2009
Location: Longmont, Co
Posts: 3202
Review Date: Mon January 25, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): works well, little noise when run properly, ability to customize
Cons: can be picky with water levels and cavitation

 
I have several of these on my tanks, they work great. two have been modified to take custom media, and one I use as a refugium for my goldfish tank. With a low water level, they get very noisy. Anything, including air in the impeller will make a great deal of noise. When the water level is high and the impeller clear, it is almost silent.

------------------------------
Who is "General Failure" and why is he reading my hard drive?
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
jimw/oscar

Member

Registered: March 2010
Location: Ames Iowa U.S.A.
Posts: 363
Review Date: Sun April 4, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): handles bio-load, modifiable for own mechnical media
Cons: can't think of any, don't think it noisy like many seem to

 
I've had a 280 running for many years w/ no problems. I like the inserts I can put anything in (I put floss for mechanical filtration before the bio-wheel.

------------------------------
"In order to punish me for my contempt of authority the authorities have made me an authority myself" - Albert Einstein.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Cermet

Banned

Registered: May 2010
Location: Glen Arm. MD
Posts: 2635
Review Date: Sun May 2, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great bio-filtering, spare parts available, room for peat and a filter cartige!
Cons: Can be noisy if water level falls; way to narrow filter mount - very hard to fit to 55/75 walls

 
Great unit for the price. The bio-wheels are very tough and my units have lasted over five years without a failure. They sell new impiler drive shafts so the unit should last a long time. Units prime quickly but you must keep tank nearly full. Once air gets in, need to turn unit off and bleed a few seconds, then unit gets quite quickly.

The spill way/filter body could have a wider seperation.

------------------------------
Knowledge is fun(damental)

A 75 gal with eight Discus, fake plants, and a lot of wood also with sand substrate. Clean up crew is down to just two Sterba's Corys. Filters: continuous new water flow; canister w/UV, in-tank algae scrubber!! Finally, junked the nitrate removal unit from hell.

For Fishless cycling:http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aqua...ead.php?t=5640
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.