Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food












  • Pin It

Poster Info

Marine Tank Addict
Posts: 10,336
Registered: February 2008

 

Marine Land Emperor 280 & 400
Reviews Views Date of last review
23 11407 Tue October 23, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $35.00 8.1

 

Description:
The Emperor series of HOB filters are Marineland's top line of Powerfilters. The biggest thing that differentiates these from the Penguin models is the spraybar behind the bio-wheel(s). The Emperor Models also have larger filter pads. Both the 280 and 400 take the same size cartridge which is very convenient. Both models also come with extra media baskets which allow for a variety of different media.
Keywords: HOB, Emperor, Bio-wheel

<<
filtration_cutout.png pro75.gif emperor280_268.jpg Eheim_Classics.jpg
>>

 

Author
Shaunjr_89

Member

Registered: May 2010
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 93
Review Date: Thu June 10, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to setup.
Cons: Loud as all hell.

 
Very loud even when the tank is full so i would have to pass on recommending it. Marinelands Penguin is very quality.

------------------------------
Shaunjr_89
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
SwordTaleLair

Member

Registered: October 2010
Location: midwest
Posts: 182
Review Date: Sun October 10, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): large media area, customizable filtration plus biowheel with adjustable speed via spraybars
Cons: noise level

 
I got this filter as part of a 75 gallon aquarium stand kit. The filter runs great, the spray bars are really a benefit in a couple of ways. 1. they are adjustable in that you can change the amount of water that sprays on the biowheels which causes the wheel to turn faster. 2. the spray bars keep the biowheels moving, and when laden with bacteria, are less suceptible to stopping as with other biowheels which depend on the flow past the filter for movement. The negative aspect of these is that when the filter gets clogged, the biowheel in turn slows possibly causing the wheel to stop altogether. The spray bars bypass the filtration and are fed by a second stage on the impeller assembly - one impeller, two blade assemblies separated by a plastic housing. The possibility of these holes clogging exists because the water does not pass through the filter media before being pushed back to the tank. However the ports in the bars are large enough that clogging should be of very minimal issue.

After a day and a half, I found my filter rather noisy and rattling. I disassembled the impeller housing and found the rubber bushings attached to the impeller had misshapen, possibly as a factory defect. I also found the white plastic bearing inside the rubber bushings to be molded out of round. I swapped positions of the rubber bushings and found this really made the filter much much more quiet. It may not be a permanent solution, and may be able to contact marineland for a replacement under warranty.

------------------------------
75 gallon 5x Oreochromis nilotica, 1 Shubunkin, 2 comets, crawfish [from the local creek]
1 - 30 gallon quarantine tank
1 - 150 gallon Nilotica breeder tank
2 - 100 Nilotica grow out tanks
3 - 75 gallon Nilotica tanks
3 - 10 gallon Nilotica fry nursery tanks
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
funkman262

Senior Member

Registered: July 2010
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 1136
Review Date: Wed November 10, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great filtration, space for additional customizable cartridge
Cons: NOISY, maintenance

 
I own both the 280 and the 400 and I wish I had just sprung for a canister filter. Sure, these filters are pretty effective, but don't expect to get much peace and quiet in the same room as the fish tank.

------------------------------
funkman262's 90g Planted Tank Journal
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
fishguy66

Member

Registered: March 2011
Posts: 246
Review Date: Wed March 16, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Best hang-on type filter on the market(in my opinion)
Cons: None

 
Have used these w/ great success over the years;HIGHLY recommend them
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
oscarkid36

Member

Registered: December 2011
Location: smithfield pa
Posts: 229
Review Date: Sat December 10, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): works good
Cons: noisy

 
it works good cleans tank but is noisy and hard to start

------------------------------
get-r-dun
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Old Marine

Senior Member

Registered: January 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1868
Review Date: Tue February 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $29.99 | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Dependable, easy to Maintain.
Cons: none i can see.

 
I have two of these on my Mbuna tank and they work just fine.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
imaloko
Junior Member

Registered: May 2012
Posts: 1
Review Date: Mon May 28, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Product
Cons: Bit of noise not too bad

 
I have 2 Emporer 400's on a 55 Gallon Tank my water is crystal clear and I love the fact I can cascade water
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
jeffs99dime

More Cowbell!

Registered: October 2006
Location: NEW JERSEY
Posts: 16937
Review Date: Tue October 23, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very durable, long lasting efficient filter, reasonably priced. Can handle large bioload
Cons: a little noisy. It's an HOB. I like canisters better

 
I had the 400 on my 55 gallon SA tank and it performed wonderfully. Stood up to the heavy bioload I had. Cleared water right up upon start up.

------------------------------
> > > >
NEW MEMBERS LOOK HERE:
http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/Trop...ners_Guide.pdf
http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aqua...ead.php?t=5640
http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aqua...ead.php?t=3441
My Tank Channel:
https://www.youtube.com/user/jeffs99...ew=0&flow=grid
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit jeffs99dime's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
  Page:  1 · 2 

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.