Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

» : 7 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review Posted by balt - posted: Sat October 27, 2012 8:02am [ Post a Review
whisper.jpg

Views: 7349

My Whisper air pump has been going nonstop for 3 months without an issue. I understand that placing a piece of cloth beneath the pump makes it even quieter, but I haven't tried that yet. Currently, it is louder than my AC HOB. Based on the Amazon reviews, there may have been a bad batch of these pumps that have weak diaphragms. Once a diaphragm tears, the replacement part must be ordered with a kit of parts that may cost almost as much as a new unit. I will keep my fingers crossed and repost here if I have a problem.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "Whisper Air Pump" by NickFish - posted: Mon April 28, 2008 - Rating: ******** 8.17
Last Review Posted by balt - posted: Sat October 27, 2012 7:46am [ Post a Review
hagenaquaclear70.jpg

Views: 33308

The ability to see the filtration media makes this product line especially great. Since the plastic body is a transparent smokey color it's possible to monitor the condition of the filter media. When I see that the foam is dirty, I simply clean it. Generally, the more room you have for filter media the better, so I picked the largest HOB that didn't look ridiculous on my tank. I ended up with an AC30 on my 10 gallon and mounted it on one side, not the back. I looked at a pair of AC70's for my 55 gallon before I decided to go with an Eheim canister. That tank will not have a background so I wanted to minimize the appearance of equipment. Overall, my AC HOB performs perfectly.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "AquaClear HOB filters" by Incredulous_Ed - posted: Mon April 28, 2008 - Rating: ********* 9.32
Last Review Posted by balt - posted: Sat October 27, 2012 7:24am [ Post a Review
foam-insert-30.jpg

Views: 3334

White seems to be the best color for this type of product. It allows you to easily see when the foam needs cleaning. This comes with the AC HOBs which is how I happen to be using it. At the same time I clean this foam, I dump out all the water from my HOB. There is always some waste sitting below the level of the foam and dumping eliminates it. I expect this foam to last for years.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "AquaClear Foam Insert" by Wild Turkey - posted: Sat December 6, 2008 - Rating: ********* 9.20
Last Review Posted by balt - posted: Sat October 27, 2012 7:15am [ Post a Review
biomax.jpg

Views: 5447

I began using Biomax when I first started up my AC30 three months ago. Since then, I purchased more and added it to the small amount that came with the filter - it is now stuffed quite full of Biomax. The older units certainly darken with age which I assume is due to the growth of the bio load. Be sure to rinse these well prior to first using them. A portion of them get powdered like cereal in shipping. I haven't seen any reason to re-clean or replace them yet, nor do I expect to. My Eheim canister filter came with biofiltration in the form of pea-sized spheres. I suspect that shape will lead to denser packing of the media and less damage from shipping (no edges). Most likely, I will buy some Fluval product next just so I can see all three types in action.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Aquaclear Biomax Insert" by NickFish - posted: Tue April 29, 2008 - Rating: ********* 8.82
Last Review Posted by balt - posted: Fri September 7, 2012 8:30pm [ Post a Review
led.jpg

Views: 3292

This model has rubber feet and is designed to sit on a glass tank top. It lights my 10 gallon (20" long) tank perfectly. I don't recommend it for any tank larger than that. There is no lense over the LED's; they are recessed but could be touched with a finger. On one hand, there is no lense to trap moisture or get scratched. On the other hand, the LED's look easy to damage. I wish the cord came out the end of the product instead of the side.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "LED Light 11"x4"x1"" by balt - posted: Fri September 7, 2012 - Rating: ******* 7.00
Last Review Posted by balt - posted: Fri September 7, 2012 8:09pm [ Post a Review
55G.jpg

Views: 6229

Aqueon tanks are stocked by Petco for their dollar-per-gallon sale. It's a price that's hard to beat, so I'll take a little slop in the silicone in return. I spent about 20 minutes with a razor blade cleaning up the most offensive glops. FYI, the warranty breaks down like this: 90-days for 10 gallons or less, 5-years for 15-55 and lifetime for 56+.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Standard sized glass aquariums" by Cliff - posted: Tue October 12, 2010 - Rating: ********** 9.67
Last Review Posted by balt - posted: Sat September 1, 2012 10:15pm [ Post a Review
air_valve.jpg

Views: 3478

I like that it is clear and has a built-in check valve. The only way it could be better is if the valves were white instead of black.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Air control and check-valve combo" by balt - posted: Sat September 1, 2012 - Rating: ********* 9.00
Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.